logo
Wrong email address or username
Wrong email address or username
Incorrect verification code
12.21 - Dustin Thomason
12.21
by: (author)
3.23 130
From the co-author of the two-million copy mega-bestseller The Rule of Four comes a riveting thriller with a brilliant premise based on the 2012 apocalypse phenomenon—perfect for readers of Steve Berry, Preston and Child, and Dan Brown.   For decades, December 21, 2012, has been a touchstone for... show more
From the co-author of the two-million copy mega-bestseller The Rule of Four comes a riveting thriller with a brilliant premise based on the 2012 apocalypse phenomenon—perfect for readers of Steve Berry, Preston and Child, and Dan Brown.   For decades, December 21, 2012, has been a touchstone for doomsayers worldwide. It is the date, they claim, when the ancient Maya calendar predicts the world will end.   In Los Angeles, two weeks before, all is calm. Dr. Gabriel Stanton takes his usual morning bike ride, drops off the dog with his ex-wife, and heads to the lab where he studies incurable prion diseases for the CDC. His first phone call is from a hospital resident who has an urgent case she thinks he needs to see. Meanwhile, Chel Manu, a Guatemalan American researcher at the Getty Museum, is interrupted by a desperate, unwelcome visitor from the black market antiquities trade who thrusts a duffel bag into her hands.   By the end of the day, Stanton, the foremost expert on some of the rarest infections in the world, is grappling with a patient whose every symptom confounds and terrifies him. And Chel, the brightest young star in the field of Maya studies, has possession of an illegal artifact that has miraculously survived the centuries intact: a priceless codex from a lost city of her ancestors. This extraordinary record, written in secret by a royal scribe, seems to hold the answer to her life’s work and to one of history’s great riddles: why the Maya kingdoms vanished overnight. Suddenly it seems that our own civilization might suffer this same fate.   With only days remaining until December 21, 2012, Stanton and Chel must join forces before time runs out.   Advance praise for 12.21  “Dustin Thomason, M.D., will invariably be compared to Michael Crichton, M.D., and 12.21 will be favorably compared to The Andromeda Strain. Both authors have written first-rate medical thrillers, the kind of fact-based fiction that is very scary but also very entertaining. Thomason knows his stuff, and it shows on every page. I truly could not put this book down.”—Nelson DeMille“The most exciting novel of its kind since the days of Michael Crichton, 12.21 takes us from the frontiers of modern neuroscience to the riddles of ancient Maya texts, with nothing less than the future of our civilization at stake.”—Vince Flynn“A fast-moving tale . . . Thomason displays an impressive depth of knowledge of both science and the ancient Mayan way of life. Along the way, he skillfully ramps up the action, one notch at a time. A winning book.”—Kirkus Reviews“Fascinating, terrifying for its potential realism. I loved how tightly everything fit together. I had to keep reading.”—Taylor Stevens, New York Times bestselling author of The Informationist“Fast, suspenseful . . . Michael Crichton fans will find a lot to like.”—Publishers Weekly
show less
Format: hardcover
ISBN: 9780385341400 (0385341407)
ASIN: 385341407
Publisher: The Dial Press
Pages no: 336
Edition language: English
Bookstores:
Community Reviews
Reading is my ESCAPE from Reality!
Reading is my ESCAPE from Reality! rated it
2.5 12/21 Review
A man named Gutierrez brings an old Mayan artifact to Dr. Chel Manu. It is obviously stolen and she knows she should report it. But this artifact is like nothing she (or anyone else) has ever seen. Meanwhile, a prion disease has appeared (think mad cow) and the doctors are desperately searching for ...
Noctuary's auditory hallucinations
Noctuary's auditory hallucinations rated it
3.5 It's the end of the world as we know it...
And apparently I can't sleep. Because you know..the prions. It's always about the prions. Let me start by saying this. I have insomnia. And this is the third book in months I've picked up about sleeping issues. These prions are serious business, man. Just pick up Charlie Huston's Sleepless for a goo...
macaruchi
macaruchi rated it
Very entertaining, the pacing was just right.
Lectus
Lectus rated it
1.0 12.21
I thought it would like The Mayan Testament kind of book but it has nothing to do with the end of the world although Thomason ties the Mayans to the medical search for a cure to a disease. So nope, it didn't hold my interest and I dropped it.
Ageless Pages Reviews
Ageless Pages Reviews rated it
2.0 12.21
That was so dull. Drawn-out. Full of flat characters and improbable situations. I am not impressed. I was not engaged, nor entertained. This was a big miss for me. I read the first 250, skimmed the rest - and it wasn't worth any of that (minimal) effort.
Other editions (11)
Books by Dustin Thomason
On shelves
Share this Book
Need help?