logo
Wrong email address or username
Wrong email address or username
Incorrect verification code
Borderlands - Brian McGilloway
Borderlands
by: (author)
3.00 10
The snow ceased as the assistant state pathologist arrived, black medical bag in hand. I stood by the river as she worked, and watched the sun exploding low over the horizon.          In the tradition of Ian Rankin and Ken Bruen comes a new voice in Irish crime fiction.          Winter 2002. The... show more
The snow ceased as the assistant state pathologist arrived, black medical bag in hand. I stood by the river as she worked, and watched the sun exploding low over the horizon.          In the tradition of Ian Rankin and Ken Bruen comes a new voice in Irish crime fiction.          Winter 2002. The corpse of local teenager Angela Cashell is found on the Tyrone-Donegal border, between the North and South of Ireland, in an area known as the Borderlands. Garda Inspector Benedict Devlin heads the investigation. The only clues are a gold ring placed on the girl’s finger and an old photograph, left where she died. While Devlin searches for the girl’s killer, her father has his own ideas about who is responsible—and his own ideas about how to make them pay. Meanwhile, Devlin becomes reacquainted with an old flame eager to rekindle their affair. Then another teenager is murdered, and Devlin unearths a link between the recent killings and the disappearance of a prostitute twenty-five years earlier—a case in which he fears one of his own colleagues is implicated. As a thickening snow storm blurs the border between North and South, Devlin finds the distinction between right and wrong, vengeance and justice, and even police officer and criminal becoming equally unclear.A dazzling and highly lyrical debut crime novel, Borderlands marks the beginning of a compelling new series featuring Inspector Benedict Devlin.
show less
Format: hardcover
ISBN: 9780312384067 (0312384068)
Publisher: Minotaur Books
Pages no: 240
Edition language: English
Series: Inspector Devlin (#1)
Bookstores:
Community Reviews
sandin954
sandin954 rated it
Debut book featuring an Irish Garda detective who lives and works by the border of Northern Ireland.
Other editions (13)
Books by Brian McGilloway
On shelves
Share this Book
Need help?