logo
Wrong email address or username
Wrong email address or username
Incorrect verification code
Code of the Street: Decency, Violence, and the Moral Life of the Inner City - Elijah Anderson
Code of the Street: Decency, Violence, and the Moral Life of the Inner City
by: (author)
3.40 25
Unsparing and important. . . . An informative, clearheaded and sobering book.—Jonathan Yardley, Washington Post (1999 Critic's Choice)Inner-city black America is often stereotyped as a place of random violence; in fact, violence in the inner... show more
Unsparing and important. . . . An informative, clearheaded and sobering book.—Jonathan Yardley, Washington Post (1999 Critic's Choice)Inner-city black America is often stereotyped as a place of random violence; in fact, violence in the inner city is regulated through an informal but well-known code of the street. How you dress, talk, and behave can have life-or-death consequences, with young people particularly at risk. The most powerful force counteracting this code and its reign of terror is the strong, loving, decent family, and we meet many heroic figures in the course of this narrative. Unfortunately, the culture of the street thrives and often defeats decency because it controls public spaces, so that individuals with higher, better aspirations are often entangled in the code and its self-destructive behaviors. Writing in the tradition of Jane Jacobs and William Julius Wilson, the author delineates the true workings of city streets. His most interesting characters are not the bullies and dealers, but the decent folks, young and old, who through entrepreneurship and creative self-help strategies are forging a viable alternative, an escape from the code of the street. Winner of the Komarovsky Book Award, this incisive book examines the code as a response to the lack of jobs that pay a living wage, to the stigma of race, to rampant drug use, to alienation and lack of hope. An individual's safety and sense of worth are determined by the respect he commands in public—a deference frequently based on an implied threat of violence. Unfortunately, even those with higher aspirations can often become entangled in the code's self-destructive behaviors.
show less
Format: paperback
ISBN: 9780393320787 (0393320782)
ASIN: 393320782
Publisher: W. W. Norton & Company
Pages no: 352
Edition language: English
Bookstores:
Community Reviews
Chris' Fish Place
Chris' Fish Place rated it
3.5
In fairness, I should note that I read this book over a decade after it had been published. This aside, it is a book that clearly influenced such work as HBO’s The Wire (best series ever). That said, I have to wonder why more attention or study wasn’t given to the women. In many ways, this is a bo...
Covered In Rust
Covered In Rust rated it
3.0 Code of the Street by Elijah Anderson
This is an interesting sociological study on certain areas of Philadelphia. While it doesn't cover the same information repeatedly, it does leave something to be desired in the way its set up. The most interesting parts were the stories from interviews conducted for research but the subject, while o...
Other editions (5)
Books by Elijah Anderson
On shelves
Share this Book
Need help?