logo
Wrong email address or username
Wrong email address or username
Incorrect verification code
Confessions of Marie Antoinette - Juliet Grey
Confessions of Marie Antoinette
by: (author)
4.13 20
A novel for fans of Philippa Gregory and Michelle Moran, Confessions of Marie Antoinette blends rich historical detail with searing drama, bringing to life the first years of the French Revolution and the final days of the legendary French queen.   Versailles, 1789. As the burgeoning rebellion... show more
A novel for fans of Philippa Gregory and Michelle Moran, Confessions of Marie Antoinette blends rich historical detail with searing drama, bringing to life the first years of the French Revolution and the final days of the legendary French queen.   Versailles, 1789. As the burgeoning rebellion reaches the palace gates, Marie Antoinette finds her privileged and peaceful life swiftly upended by violence. Once her loyal subjects, the people of France now seek to overthrow the crown, placing the heirs of the Bourbon dynasty in mortal peril.   Displaced to the Tuileries Palace in Paris, the royal family is propelled into the heart of the Revolution. There, despite a few staunch allies, they are surrounded by cunning spies and vicious enemies. Yet despite the political and personal threats against her, Marie Antoinette remains, above all, a devoted wife and mother, standing steadfastly by her husband, Louis XVI, and protecting their young son and daughter. And though the queen secretly attempts to arrange her family’s rescue from the clutches of the rebels, she finds that they can neither outrun the dangers encircling them nor escape their shocking fate.   Praise for Juliet Grey   “Full of sumptuous and well-researched details.”—Philadelphia Examiner (five stars), on Becoming Marie Antoinette   “Filled with the pageantry of the times and provides a glimpse of a lavish and intrigue-filled period in history.”—Fredericksburg Free Lance–Star, on Days of Splendor, Days of Sorrow   Look for special features inside. Join the Random House Reader’s Circle for author chats and more.
show less
Format: paperback
ISBN: 9780345523907 (0345523903)
ASIN: 345523903
Publisher: Ballantine Books
Pages no: 445
Edition language: English
Series: Marie Antoinette (#3)
Bookstores:
Community Reviews
Sorry kids, no feet.
Sorry kids, no feet. rated it
4.0 Confessions of Marie Antoinette
Here is the novel I waited two books to read. I held out hope and I was not disappointed. This was a gut wrenching, tissue grabbing, emotional wreck of a novel. Warning to the reader, unless I think it's absolutely necessary, I will not be using spoilers in my review as I think it's pretty common kn...
Sharon E. Cathcart
Sharon E. Cathcart rated it
4.0 Sympathetic Look at a Controversial Figure
"Confessions of Marie Antoinette" is the third novel in a series. It begins with the French royal family being forcibly removed from the Palace of Versailles, and covers the remaining three years of Marie Antoinette's life. The book is well-researched (in an unusual move for a novelist, author Jul...
Other editions (3)
Books by Juliet Grey
On shelves
Share this Book
Need help?