logo
Wrong email address or username
Wrong email address or username
Incorrect verification code
Dreams and Shadows - C. Robert Cargill
Dreams and Shadows
by: (author)
3.20 125
Screenwriter and acclaimed film critic C. Robert Cargill makes his fiction debut with Dreams and Shadows, taking beloved fantasy tropes, giving them a twist, and turning out a wonderful, witty, and wry take on clash between the fairy world and our own.Something is missing from Ewan and Colby’s... show more
Screenwriter and acclaimed film critic C. Robert Cargill makes his fiction debut with Dreams and Shadows, taking beloved fantasy tropes, giving them a twist, and turning out a wonderful, witty, and wry take on clash between the fairy world and our own.Something is missing from Ewan and Colby’s lives. Residing in the corners of their memories is their time in Limestone Kingdom, a realm filled with magic and mystery, a world where only some may travel amongst the menagerie of mystical souls and sinister demons.Cargill offers well-crafted characters and an absorbing, intricate plot that will appeal to fans of Neil Gaiman and Lev Grossman. Dreams and Shadows pulls you into an extraordinary universe of darkness that exposes the magic and monsters in our world, and in ourselves.
show less
Format: hardcover
ISBN: 9780062190420 (0062190423)
Publisher: Harper Voyager
Pages no: 448
Edition language: English
Series: Dreams & Shadows (#1)
Bookstores:
Community Reviews
In a network of lines that enlace
In a network of lines that enlace rated it
2.5 Good plot, but not my type of story
I am torn about this novel. I liked the idea behind it; the folklore plot is always a favourite of mine. This is a dark twist on the often overdone plot line. There’s a lot of the violence and nasty side of the fae, which is often glanced over in well-known stories. I don’t think there are actually ...
Tellulah Darling
Tellulah Darling rated it
3.0 Wish I'd connected more with Dreams
I'm trying to figure out why this book didn't rank higher than 3 stars for me. The premise of these two boys whose friendship in the fairy kingdom changes both their adult lives was great. The mythology is interesting and the writing is good. Despite all that, and really being sucked into it at time...
Jasmyn's Reviews
Jasmyn's Reviews rated it
3.0 Dreams and Shadows (Dreams and Shadows #1) by C. Robert Cargill
While this story begins with the tale of two boys - this is definitely an novel geared towards adults. The first part of the story tells the history of Ewan, Knocks, and Colby. It all begins in the fairy courts - and eventually it seems to end there as well. The story is full of new legends and lore...
Yzabel
Yzabel rated it
2.0 Dreams and Shadows
I quite enjoyed the darker aspects of the book—gruesome in parts, tragic in others, and not the happy-ever-after kind of story. Fairies aren't all glittery stuff, and I always like it when I get to see that side of theirs.On the downside, I couldn't connect with the characters. They didn't strike me...
Nocturnal Book Reviews
Nocturnal Book Reviews rated it
5.0 Dreams and Shadows
It's an extremely beautiful, strange, terrifying and addictive read. I have a feeling that the author managed to grasp the essence of old fairy tales and distill it into this story.I would call it a contemporary fantasy, because it's not what we're used to seeing in our urban fantasy, and it describ...
Other editions (11)
Books by C. Robert Cargill
On shelves
Share this Book
Need help?