logo
Wrong email address or username
Wrong email address or username
Incorrect verification code
Erewhon - Peter Mudford, Samuel Butler
Erewhon
by: (author) (author)
3.30 25
Written in the tradition of Jonathan Swift's Gulliver's Travels, English novelist, essayist, and iconoclast Samuel Butler (1835-1902) describes an imaginary visit to a topsy-turvy country called Erewhon (an anagram of "nowhere"), where it is a punishable offense to be physically ill, but where... show more
Written in the tradition of Jonathan Swift's Gulliver's Travels, English novelist, essayist, and iconoclast Samuel Butler (1835-1902) describes an imaginary visit to a topsy-turvy country called Erewhon (an anagram of "nowhere"), where it is a punishable offense to be physically ill, but where criminality and immorality are looked kindly upon as treatable diseases. The English church is pilloried in the system of "Musical Banks," whose currency nobody believes in but everyone pretends to value. Universities teach courses on how to say nothing at great length, and all machines have been banned for fear that they will develop through evolution and enslave the citizens.
show less
Format: Textbook
ISBN: 9780140430578 (0140430571)
ASIN: 9780140430578
Publisher: Penguin
Pages no: 272
Edition language: English
Bookstores:
On shelves
Share this Book
Need help?