logo
Wrong email address or username
Wrong email address or username
Incorrect verification code
Exposed - Kimberly Marcus
Exposed
by: (author)
3.25 20
In the dim light of the darkroom/I'm alone, but not for long.As white turns to gray, Kate is with me.background of the dance studio blurred,so the focus is all on her--legs extended in a perfect soaring split.The straight line to my squiggle, my forever-best friend.Sixteen-year-old Liz is... show more
In the dim light of the darkroom/I'm alone, but not for long.As white turns to gray, Kate is with me.background of the dance studio blurred,so the focus is all on her--legs extended in a perfect soaring split.The straight line to my squiggle, my forever-best friend.Sixteen-year-old Liz is Photogirl—sharp, focused, and confident in what she sees through her camera lens, confident that she and Kate will be best friends forever. But everything changes in one blurry night. Suddenly, Kate is avoiding her and people are looking the other way she passes in the halls. As the aftershocks from a startling accusation rip through Liz's world, everything she thought she knew about photography, family, friendship, and herself shifts out of focus. What happens when the picture you see no longer makes sense? Told in breathtaking, searingly raw free verse, Kimberly Marcus's unforgettable debut will appeal to fans of Ellen Hopkins and Laurie Halse Anderson.
show less
Format: paperback
ISBN: 9780375865916 (0375865918)
Publisher: Ember
Pages no: 272
Edition language: English
Bookstores:
Community Reviews
Robert Zimmermann
Robert Zimmermann rated it
4.0 Review: Exposed, by Kimberly Marcus
I’m always looking out for more novels in verse to read. Ever since I read my first, I can’t get enough. I found Exposed through a random Goodreads search, and I’m glad I came across it. I’ll be looking forward to reading more from the author in the future. I thought the way the author chose to in...
Word Spelunking
Word Spelunking rated it
0.0
Kimberly Marcus' Exposed is a breathtaking and heart-achingly honest glimpse into the life of 16 year old Liz, as a painful accusation rips into everything and everyone she thought she knew. Told in electric and stunning verse, this story devastated me in the most beautiful way.I don't want to spoil...
Carnival Of Souls
Carnival Of Souls rated it
2.0 Exposed
i felt that this book was okay, there was nothing the particularly set it apart from any other book about rape except that is was written in free verse. i felt like this book could have been so much better if it was longer and had different point of views, it could have been intense and angsty and r...
NLSobon
NLSobon rated it
"Exposed" is a story about Liz - photogirl - and her best friend, Kate. During their Saturday Night Slumber, Liz and Kate get into an argument which results in Liz retreating to her bedroom, leaving Kate behind on the couch. Alone. When she wakes up the next morning to find Kate gone, she assumes sh...
Burning Impossibly Bright
Burning Impossibly Bright rated it
5.0 Exposed
Wow...just seriously, wow! I'm really starting to love poetic verse, it's simple, yet compellingly beautiful. And this story, this story blew me away. Poor Kate, and poor Liz. This book definitely covers a serious topic, and it makes you realize just how hard it is to know the truth in a situation.....
Other editions (6)
Books by Kimberly Marcus
On shelves
Share this Book
Need help?