logo
Wrong email address or username
Wrong email address or username
Incorrect verification code
Gracefully Insane: The Rise and Fall of America's Premier Mental Hospital - Alex Beam
Gracefully Insane: The Rise and Fall of America's Premier Mental Hospital
by: (author)
An entertaining and poignant social histroy of McLean Hospital-temporary home to many of the troubled genuises of our age-and of the evolution of the treatment of mental illness from the early 19th centruy to today. . Its landscaped ground, chosen by Frederick Law Olmsted and dotted with Tudor... show more
An entertaining and poignant social histroy of McLean Hospital-temporary home to many of the troubled genuises of our age-and of the evolution of the treatment of mental illness from the early 19th centruy to today. . Its landscaped ground, chosen by Frederick Law Olmsted and dotted with Tudor mansions, could belong to a New England prep school. There are no fences, no guards, no locked gates. But McLean Hospital is a mental institution-one of the most famous, most elite, and once most luxurious in America. McLean "alumni" include Olmsted himself, Robert Lowell, Sylvia Plath, James Taylor and Ray Charles, as well as (more secretly) other notables from among the rich and famous. In its "golden age," McLean provided as genteel an environment for the treatment of mental illness as one could imagine. But the golden age is over, and a downsized, downscale McLean-despite its affiliation with Harvard University-is struggling to stay afloat. Gracefully Insane, by Boston Globe columnist Alex Beam, is a fascinating and emotional biography of McLean Hospital from its founding in 1817 through today. It is filled with stories about patients and doctors: the Ralph Waldo Emerson protg whose brilliance disappeared along with his madness; Anne Sexton's poetry seminar, and many more. The story of McLean is also the story of the hopes and failures of psychology and psychotherapy; of the evolution of attitudes about mental illness, of approaches to treatment, and of the economic pressures that are making McLean-and other institutions like it-relics of a bygone age. This is a compelling and often oddly poignant reading for fans of books like Plath's The Bell Jar and Susanna Kaysen's Girl, Interrupted (both inspired by their author's stays at McLean) and for anyone interested in the history of medicine or psychotherapy, or the social history of New England.
show less
Format: hardcover
ISBN: 9781891620751 (1891620754)
Publisher: PublicAffairs
Pages no: 273
Edition language: English
Bookstores:
Community Reviews
Osho
Osho rated it
This rather superficial book can't decide whether it's a history of McLean Hospital outside Boston, or celebrity dish about famous people who have been McLean patients, or a critique of psychiatry. It doesn't quite manage to be any of these, so it comes off as fairly meanspirited and catty. Adding t...
Other editions (4)
Books by Alex Beam
On shelves
Share this Book
Need help?