logo
Wrong email address or username
Wrong email address or username
Incorrect verification code
Haints Stay - Colin Winnette
Haints Stay
by: (author)
3.00 10
"Funny, brutal and haunting, Haints Stay takes the traditional Western, turns it inside out, eviscerates it, skins it, and then wears it as a duster. This is the kind of book that would make Zane Grey not only roll over in his grave but rise undead from the ground with both barrels... show more
"Funny, brutal and haunting, Haints Stay takes the traditional Western, turns it inside out, eviscerates it, skins it, and then wears it as a duster. This is the kind of book that would make Zane Grey not only roll over in his grave but rise undead from the ground with both barrels blazing."—Brian Evenson"I loved it. Loved it! Haints Stay had me from the very first line—the visceral ante upped and crescendoing nearly every page. Humor, gore, that wonderful unsettling feel you get when you're reading a book that excites you and kind of scares you as well? Yes, please."—Lindsay Hunter"Brooke and Sugar are killers. Bird is the boy who mysteriously woke beside them while between towns. For miles, there is only desert and wilderness, and along the fringes, people.The story follows the middling bounty hunters after they've been chased from town, and Bird, each in pursuit of their own sense of belonging and justice. It features gunfights, cannibalism, barroom piano, a transgender birth, a wagon train, a stampede, and the tenuous rise of the West's first one-armed gunslinger.Haints Stay is a new acid western in the tradition of Rudolph Wurlitzer, Kelly Reichardt's Meek's Cutoff, and Jim Jarmusch's Dead Man: meaning it is brutal, surreal, and possesses an unsettling humor.Colin Winnette is the author of Revelation, Animal Collection, and Fondly—which was listed among Salon's Best Books of 2013. He is an associate editor of PANK Magazine, and conducts a regular interview series for the Believer's "Logger." His writing has appeared on BuzzFeed, Electric Literature, and in the Believer.
show less
Format: Paperback
ISBN: 9781937512323 (1937512320)
ASIN: 1937512320
Publisher: Two Dollar Radio
Pages no: 212
Edition language: English
Category:
Western
Bookstores:
Community Reviews
Claire loves to read!
Claire loves to read! rated it
3.0 Review: Haints Stay by Colin Winnette
Publisher: No Exit Press (24 March 2016) ISBN-13: 978-1843448341 Source: Real Readers Rating: 3* Synopsis: Brooke and Sugar are contract killers without a contract. Bird is the 13-year-old who appears in their camp one night, with no memory and palms as smooth as stones. Driven from town aft...
Books by Colin Winnette
On shelves
Share this Book
Need help?