logo
Wrong email address or username
Wrong email address or username
Incorrect verification code
How We Disappeared - Jing-Jing Lee
How We Disappeared
by: (author)
4.00 10
A mesmerizing novel of World War II Singapore, “a story about memory, trauma, and ultimately love” (New York Times)—for fans of Pachinko and We Were the Lucky Ones Singapore, 1942. As Japanese troops sweep down Malaysia and into Singapore, a village is ransacked, leaving only two survivors and... show more
A mesmerizing novel of World War II Singapore, “a story about memory, trauma, and ultimately love” (New York Times)—for fans of Pachinko and We Were the Lucky Ones

Singapore, 1942. As Japanese troops sweep down Malaysia and into Singapore, a village is ransacked, leaving only two survivors and one tiny child.

In a neighboring village, seventeen-year-old Wang Di is strapped into the back of a troop carrier and shipped off to a Japanese military brothel where she is forced into sexual slavery as a “comfort woman.” After sixty years of silence, what she saw and experienced still haunts her.

In the year 2000, twelve-year-old Kevin is sitting beside his ailing grandmother when he overhears a mumbled confession. He sets out to discover the truth, wherever it might lead, setting in motion a chain of events he never could have foreseen.

Weaving together two time lines and two very big secrets, this stunning debut opens a window on a little-known period of history, revealing the strength and bravery shown by numerous women in the face of terrible cruelty. Drawing in part on her family’s experiences, Jing-Jing Lee has crafted a profoundly moving, unforgettable novel about human resilience, the bonds of family and the courage it takes to confront the past.
show less
Format: hardcover
ISBN: 9781335953759 (1335953752)
Publisher: Hanover Square Press
Pages no: 352
Edition language: English
Bookstores:
Community Reviews
100 Pages A Day...Stephanie's Book Reviews
100 Pages A Day...Stephanie's Book Reviews rated it
4.0 How We Disappeared
As World War II rages on, the people of Singapore believe that they are relatively safe on their tiny island with few resources, especially with British Troops around. However, the Japanese invade with force. Deadly air raids leave few survivors. Other villages are raided and young women are take...
Books by Jing-Jing Lee
On shelves
Share this Book
Need help?