logo
Wrong email address or username
Wrong email address or username
Incorrect verification code
In the Valley of the Sun: A Novel - Andy Davidson
In the Valley of the Sun: A Novel
by: (author)
4.50 10
A finalist for the 2017 Bram Stoker Award for Superior Achievement in a First Novel. An addictive Western literary horror for fans of Joe Hill, Cormac McCarthy, and Anne Rice. One night in 1980, a man becomes a monster. Haunted by his past, Travis Stillwell spends his nights searching out... show more
A finalist for the 2017 Bram Stoker Award for Superior Achievement in a First Novel.

An addictive Western literary horror for fans of Joe Hill, Cormac McCarthy, and Anne Rice.

One night in 1980, a man becomes a monster.

Haunted by his past, Travis Stillwell spends his nights searching out women in West Texas honky-tonks. What he does with them doesn’t make him proud, just quiets the demons for a little while. But after Travis crosses paths one night with a mysterious pale-skinned girl, he wakes weak and bloodied in his cabover camper the next morning—with no sign of a girl, no memory of the night before.

When motel-owner Annabelle Gaskin offers the cowboy a few odd jobs to pay his board, he takes her up on the offer. By day, he mends the old motel, insinuating himself into the lives of Annabelle and her ten-year-old son. By night, in the cave of his camper, he fights an unspeakable hunger. Before long, Annabelle and her boy come to realize that Travis is not what he seems.

Half a state away, a grizzled Texas Ranger is hunting Travis for his past misdeeds, but what he finds will lead him to a revelation far more monstrous. A man of the law, he’ll have to decide how far into the darkness he’ll go for the sake of justice.

When these lives converge on a dusty autumn night, an old evil will find new life—and new blood.
show less
Format: paperback
ISBN: 1510742840
Publisher: Skyhorse
Pages no: 384
Edition language: English
Category:
Horror
Bookstores:
Community Reviews
Char's Horror Corner
Char's Horror Corner rated it
4.5 IN THE VALLEY OF THE SUN by Andy Davidson
Rarely do I find myself struggling to find the words I want to say about a book, but today I am. Know why? Because IN THE VALLEY OF THE SUN was so beautifully written, powerful, surprising and engaging.. Oh! Apparently, I CAN find the words if I try hard enough! In this dark tale set during 1980, ...
Books by Andy Davidson
On shelves
Share this Book
Need help?