logo
Wrong email address or username
Wrong email address or username
Incorrect verification code
Kick It Till It Breaks - Ira Robbins
Kick It Till It Breaks
by: (author)
3.40 25
What do radicals, religion, race, riots, restaurants and Rufus Thomas all have in common? According to this provocative first novel by veteran music journalist Ira Robbins, they are all defining elements of the 1960s. At times dishearteningly bleak, Kick It Till It Breaks is rich with offbeat... show more
What do radicals, religion, race, riots, restaurants and Rufus Thomas all have in common? According to this provocative first novel by veteran music journalist Ira Robbins, they are all defining elements of the 1960s. At times dishearteningly bleak, Kick It Till It Breaks is rich with offbeat characters vividly drawn against a tableau of antiwar violence. Unlike most stories of the time, the author - who nonetheless claims a high regard for its political and cultural achievements - is unsparing in his depiction of dedicated idealists failing to uphold their ideals. The author uses slang, dialect and timely pop culture touchstones to bring the Viet Nam era to life in such disparate locales as Memphis, London, Los Angeles, Washington D.C., San Francisco, Chicago and New York. Fans of Putney Swope, The Young Ones and A Confederacy of Dunces will likely recognize a harmony of tone and perspective with those darkly humorous works.
show less
Format: paperback
ISBN: 9780984253913 (0984253912)
Publisher: Trouser Press, LLC
Pages no: 364
Edition language: English
Bookstores:
Books by Ira Robbins
On shelves
Share this Book
Need help?