logo
Wrong email address or username
Wrong email address or username
Incorrect verification code
Muse - Mary Novik
Muse
by: (author)
Richly engaging historical adventure in the vein of The Winter Palace and The Malice of Fortune. Muse is the story of the charismatic woman who was the inspiration behind Petrarch's sublime love poetry. Solange Le Blanc begins life in the tempestuous streets of 14th century Avignon, a city of men... show more
Richly engaging historical adventure in the vein of The Winter Palace and The Malice of Fortune. Muse is the story of the charismatic woman who was the inspiration behind Petrarch's sublime love poetry. Solange Le Blanc begins life in the tempestuous streets of 14th century Avignon, a city of men dominated by the Pope and his palace. When her mother, a harlot, dies in childbirth, Solange is raised by Benedictines who believe she has the gift of clairvoyance. Trained as a scribe, but troubled by disturbing visions and tempted by a more carnal life, she escapes to Avignon, where she becomes entangled in a love triangle with the poet Petrarch, becoming not only his muse but also his lover. Later, when her gift for prophecy catches the Pope's ear, Solange becomes Pope Clement VI's mistress and confidante in the most celebrated court in Europe. When the plague kills a third of Avignon's population, Solange is accused of sorcery and is forced once again to reinvent herself and fight against a final, mortal conspiracy. Muse is a sweeping historical epic that magically evokes the Renaissance, capturing a time and place caught between the shadows of the past and the promise of a new cultural awakening.
show less
Format: paperback
ISBN: 9780385668217 (038566821X)
Publisher: Doubleday Canada
Pages no: 321
Edition language: English
Bookstores:
Other editions (2)
Books by Mary Novik
On shelves
Share this Book
Need help?