logo
Wrong email address or username
Wrong email address or username
Incorrect verification code
Restoration Heights - Wil Medearis
Restoration Heights
by: (author)
4.50 5
A debut novel about a young artist, a missing woman, and the tendrils of wealth and power that link the art scene in Brooklyn to Manhattan’s elite, for fans of Jonathan Lethem and Richard Price Reddick, a young, white artist, lives in Bedford-Stuyvesant, a historically black Brooklyn... show more
A debut novel about a young artist, a missing woman, and the tendrils of wealth and power that link the art scene in Brooklyn to Manhattan’s elite, for fans of Jonathan Lethem and Richard Price

Reddick, a young, white artist, lives in Bedford-Stuyvesant, a historically black Brooklyn neighborhood besieged by gentrification. He makes rent as an art handler, hanging expensive works for Manhattan’s one percent, and spends his free time playing basketball at the local Y rather than putting energy into his stagnating career. He is also the last person to see Hannah before she disappears.

When Hannah’s fiancé, scion to an old-money Upper East Side family, refuses to call the police, Reddick sets out to learn for himself what happened to her. The search gives him a sense of purpose, pulling him through a dramatic cross section of the city he never knew existed. The truth of Hannah’s fate is buried at the heart of a many-layered mystery that, in its unraveling, shakes Reddick’s convictions and lays bare the complicated machinations of money and power that connect the magisterial town houses of the Upper East Side to the unassuming brownstones of Bed-Stuy.

Restoration Heights is both a page-turning mystery and an in-depth study of the psychological fallout and deep racial tensions that result from economic inequality and unrestricted urban development. In lyrical, addictive prose, Wil Medearis asks the question: In a city that prides itself on its diversity and inclusivity, who has the final say over the future? Is it long-standing residents, recent transplants or whoever happens to have the most money? Timely, thought-provoking and sweeping in vision, Restoration Heights is an exhilarating new entry in the canon of great Brooklyn novels.
show less
Format: hardcover
ISBN: 9781335218728
Publisher: Hanover Square Press
Pages no: 336
Edition language: English
Bookstores:
Community Reviews
A Man With An Agenda
A Man With An Agenda rated it
4.5 Restoration Heights by Wil Meaderis
The noir detective novel, if not resurrected, is complimented by Wil Medearis' debut novel 'Restoration Heights'. Reddick is an artist with a day job in Brooklyn as an art handler, until an encounter with a girl changes everything. Hannah is the fiancée to the heir of a powerful family, but they do...
Books by Wil Medearis
On shelves
Share this Book
Need help?