logo
Wrong email address or username
Wrong email address or username
Incorrect verification code
back to top
Search tags: Anthony-Bourdain
Load new posts () and activity
Like Reblog Comment
show activity (+)
review 2016-07-02 03:53
MEDIUM RAW by Anthony Bourdain
Medium Raw: A Bloody Valentine to the World of Food and the People Who Cook - Anthony Bourdain
 

He tells of what is happening in high end restaurants now as well as the television end of it. It was interesting when I knew who he was talking about when he talks of Food Network people. Not as interesting as he talks about chefs in high end restaurants. He does say what is happening to the high end restaurant now that the economy is not as good as it was. He also explains why the chefs open additional restaurants and what money is spent on when you go to a restaurant. Fascinating look at the food industry.

 

Like Reblog Comment
review 2016-01-09 02:08
Comics Clearance #3
The Dharma Punks - Anthony Sang,Dylan Horrocks
Get Jiro: Blood and Sushi - Anthony Bourdain,Joel Rose,Ale Garza
Trick 'r Treat: Days of the Dead - Michael Dougherty
Oyster War - Ben Towle,Ben Towle
Bandette Volume 2 Stealers Keepers! - Paul Tobin,Coleen Coover

Working on it!

 

The Dharma Punks - When the heart of a group of friends splits the rest are left to pick up the pieces.  For Chopstick this means getting deep into a nihilistic brand of Buddhism, refusing to care about the material world (or anyone in it).  Funny to read this after I recently finished, 10% Happier...a book looking at how meditation changed Dan Harris' life for the better.  This is a punk coming-of-age story, exploring religion, identity and morality.

 

Get Jiro; Blood & Sushi - Before Jiro came stateside he had a few bones to settle with his Yakuza family.  Jiro's dad is the head of a large Yakuza family, but, unlike his father or his older brother, he has no taste for bullying and senseless violence.  He keeps his true passion a secret, crafting sushi.  However, soon his apprenticeship to a master sushi chef is found out and a bloody family feud ensues.  Over-the-top, entertaining, a fast-paced action story, though I have to say I enjoyed the zanier first volume a bit more.

 

Trick 'R Treat; Days of the Dead - In the fashion of Bradbury's Halloween Tree story, this comic book explores the history behind the best holiday of the year, a holiday where friends come together, neighbors take part in true generosity and people are encouraged to participate in creative activities, costume play and exploration.  Anyway.  I love Halloween and though I didn't love all of these Halloween history vignettes, the end was worth the wait.

 

Oyster War - A very strange tale, based somewhat on true events, but with plenty of just weird bits to keep me entertained.  I loved the main character and his determination to put an end to the damaging activities of the oyster pirates.  Hilarious and definitely something different.  For fans of Far Arden or A Crab Story.

 

Bandette; Stealers Keepers -  Bandette is back!  I missed her!  I wanted a candy bar so much after reading this lovely comic book.  I'd highly recommend it for fans of the movie Amelie or classic heist films.  Bandette has a lot of the quirkiness of Amelie in her and in the back of the book the authors explain some of their influences (including the movie).  There is also an illustrated novella at the end that adds even more depth to this fun world.

Like Reblog Comment
show activity (+)
review 2015-03-23 16:06
Bourdain tells it like it is
Kitchen Confidential: Adventures in the Culinary Underbelly - Anthony Bourdain

Bullet Review:

Very interesting and startlingly honest - though if Bourdain is anything like this book shows, I doubt I would want to meet him in person and have a beer.

Read more
Like Reblog Comment
show activity (+)
text 2015-03-20 16:16
Reading progress update: I've read 70%.
Kitchen Confidential: Adventures in the Culinary Underbelly - Anthony Bourdain

Listening to the audiobook has GREATLY helped my progress! ZOOMING through this!

Like Reblog Comment
show activity (+)
text 2015-03-19 19:37
Reading progress update: I've read 38%.
Kitchen Confidential: Adventures in the Culinary Underbelly - Anthony Bourdain

I've been reading this way too long - so I switched to an audiobook! Oddly enough, I find I like it more listening to Bourdain read it than I did reading it myself.

More posts
Your Dashboard view:
Need help?