logo
Wrong email address or username
Wrong email address or username
Incorrect verification code
back to top
Search tags: Days-of-the-Dead
Load new posts () and activity
Like Reblog Comment
show activity (+)
review 2017-04-16 13:45
The Damned, Vol. 1: Three Days Dead - Cullen Bunn,Brian Hurtt

It just doesn't stand out against the glut of Noir tinged UF released in the last 10 years or so.  YMMV.

Like Reblog Comment
show activity (+)
review 2016-10-04 18:53
Days of the Dead - Barbara Hambly Days of the Dead - Barbara Hambly

I'm working my way through the entire Benjamin January series. So far, I've enjoyed them all. This one is a little bit different, though. It takes place in Mexico, instead of in New Orleans, and deals with the politics of General Santa Anna's government and the events leading up to the Texas wars. January's friend Hannibal Sefton has been living in Mexico with a woman he met ... and writes a letter talking about how circumstances have changed. To make a long story short, he's being held captive by the woman's family after having been accused of murdering the eldest son. He asks January and his new wife, Rose, to come to Mexico to prove his innocence. This, of course, is easier said than done. There are rival family factions, a head of household who may or may not be insane ... and religious prejudice all over the place. There were a lot of plot twists, including additional murders ... and events that are staged solely to try to frighten the January couple off the track. The book is well-researched; there are notes at the end about the culture and facts described in the tale. I'm just looking forward to Rose and Benjamin being back in New Orleans.

Like Reblog Comment
review 2016-01-09 02:08
Comics Clearance #3
The Dharma Punks - Anthony Sang,Dylan Horrocks
Get Jiro: Blood and Sushi - Anthony Bourdain,Joel Rose,Ale Garza
Trick 'r Treat: Days of the Dead - Michael Dougherty
Oyster War - Ben Towle,Ben Towle
Bandette Volume 2 Stealers Keepers! - Paul Tobin,Coleen Coover

Working on it!

 

The Dharma Punks - When the heart of a group of friends splits the rest are left to pick up the pieces.  For Chopstick this means getting deep into a nihilistic brand of Buddhism, refusing to care about the material world (or anyone in it).  Funny to read this after I recently finished, 10% Happier...a book looking at how meditation changed Dan Harris' life for the better.  This is a punk coming-of-age story, exploring religion, identity and morality.

 

Get Jiro; Blood & Sushi - Before Jiro came stateside he had a few bones to settle with his Yakuza family.  Jiro's dad is the head of a large Yakuza family, but, unlike his father or his older brother, he has no taste for bullying and senseless violence.  He keeps his true passion a secret, crafting sushi.  However, soon his apprenticeship to a master sushi chef is found out and a bloody family feud ensues.  Over-the-top, entertaining, a fast-paced action story, though I have to say I enjoyed the zanier first volume a bit more.

 

Trick 'R Treat; Days of the Dead - In the fashion of Bradbury's Halloween Tree story, this comic book explores the history behind the best holiday of the year, a holiday where friends come together, neighbors take part in true generosity and people are encouraged to participate in creative activities, costume play and exploration.  Anyway.  I love Halloween and though I didn't love all of these Halloween history vignettes, the end was worth the wait.

 

Oyster War - A very strange tale, based somewhat on true events, but with plenty of just weird bits to keep me entertained.  I loved the main character and his determination to put an end to the damaging activities of the oyster pirates.  Hilarious and definitely something different.  For fans of Far Arden or A Crab Story.

 

Bandette; Stealers Keepers -  Bandette is back!  I missed her!  I wanted a candy bar so much after reading this lovely comic book.  I'd highly recommend it for fans of the movie Amelie or classic heist films.  Bandette has a lot of the quirkiness of Amelie in her and in the back of the book the authors explain some of their influences (including the movie).  There is also an illustrated novella at the end that adds even more depth to this fun world.

Like Reblog Comment
review 2015-11-23 00:00
The Walking Dead, Vol. 1: Days Gone Bye
The Walking Dead, Vol. 1: Days Gone Bye - Tony Moore,Robert Kirkman Review coming soon.
Like Reblog Comment
show activity (+)
review 2015-11-04 01:06
Team Omega is back
Dark Days (Dead City) - James Ponti

 

Molly Bigelow and her Omega team have been banned from investigating Marek Blackwell and his plans for New York City. But when they discover that Blackwell is raising money for an undead army, they have to act. But will they be in time?

 

--from the publisher

 

I loved the entire Dead City series. James Ponti did a fantastic job creating a believable world filled with relatable characters to love and villains to hate. The characters have flaws and self-doubt but manage to overcome them. I love the unusual explanation for the existence of zombies.

 

There are some twists in this book that  surprised me a bit and that was fun. I did feel like the ending was too sudden. I expected more action and suspense. The overall story seems to wrap up nicely though and I think this might be the last book in the series.

 

This book is great for kids with an interest in zombies. It is fun and not too scary, but it is suspenseful. In our school, it is popular among the 4th and 5th graders. It appeals to both boys and girls. 

 

Recommended to:

Boys and girls in grades 4-8, especially those who like their zombie stories a little less scary and not so gross. Scary rating: 2/5, Gross rating 3/5.

More posts
Your Dashboard view:
Need help?