logo
Wrong email address or username
Wrong email address or username
Incorrect verification code
back to top
Search tags: Foundling
Load new posts () and activity
Like Reblog Comment
show activity (+)
review 2018-06-06 10:00
Release Week Review! Bone Driven (Founding # 2) Hailey Edwards!
Bone Driven - Hailey Edwards

 

 

The bayou is burning, the battle is just beginning - and Luce Boudreau is smack in the middle of no-man's land . . .


Life as a cop in Canton Town, Mississippi, is never dull - particularly when hiding deep within you is a demon bent on the apocalypse. Luce is doing her best to pretend her two worlds aren't crashing into each other, but what should be a routine arson investigation takes a shocking turn when Luce discovers a link between the suspects and her own dark secrets. There's no turning back, even though her search for the truth threatens to burn her old life down around her.
Lines are being drawn in a war Luce barely understands, and she just might be on the wrong side of them. Now she must embrace her powerful destiny, or the ones she loves most will pay the ultimate price.


Book Two in the powerfully addictive fantasy series The Foundling, perfect for fans of Ilona Andrews, Jenn Stark and Helen Harper

 


The second book in the Foundling series, Bone Driven is a fascinating read that draws you in and refuses to let you go.

 

The characters in this urban fantasy are strong, compelling and endlessly intriguing, about the time you think you have them figured out, they add something new to the mix and you have more facets of their characters that hooks into your curiosity gene and ensures that you are gonna come back for more. Luce Boudreau, the heroine of the series certainly pulls readers into the story as she some mysterious depths that appeal to readers… well I really have to be honest and say all the characters seem to be that way. There’s not a lot of romance in the book, just hints and some sizzling chemistry between Luce and of her guys but there are lots of bonds and connections that are intriguing and capture reader’s attention.

 

The story is fast paced as there is never a dull moment to be found and there is lots of intrigue and surprises throughout the story to keep the readers on the edge of their seats and quite a few characters also add to the suspense as you try to determine if they are friend, foe or maybe they are sheep in wolf’s clothing and going to do a total about face one day in the future. The author made it easy to imagine each and every scene as they played out and brought them along with each of the characters to vivid life, so it was easy to become caught up in all the happenings and there was no way for me to put the book down, once I began.

 

On a side note, I haven’t read the first book in the Foundling series yet (which I will be remedying soon) and while I had no trouble figuring things out, I feel that they should be read in sequence to have a complete understanding of this unique and fascinating world and the events that led up to this book.

 


Bone Driven
Goodreads - https://www.goodreads.com/book/show/38315584-bone-driven



The 2nd book in the Foundling series which includes:


http://haileyedwards.net/foundling/

 

Bayou Born #1

 

& #3 Death Knell (coming 12-4-18)


Bone Driven is available in print or ebook at:


Amazon - https://amzn.to/2HHHEOM

 

B&N - https://www.barnesandnoble.com/w/bone-driven-hailey-edwards/1127872088?ean=9780349417080



iBooks - https://itunes.apple.com/us/book/bone-driven/id1338665127?mt=11



GPlay - https://play.google.com/store/books/details/Hailey_Edwards_Bone_Driven?id=CzhIDwAAQBAJ



Kobo - https://www.kobo.com/us/en/ebook/bone-driven-1

 

eBooks - https://www.ebooks.com/95940562/bone-driven/edwards-hailey/

 

Little Brown - https://www.littlebrown.co.uk/books/detail.page?isbn=9780349417073

 

 

 

can be found at:

 

Website - http://www.haileyedwards.net/

 

Goodreads - https://www.goodreads.com/author/show/3345773.Hailey_Edwards



Facebook - https://www.facebook.com/authorhaileyedwards



Twitter - https://twitter.com/HaileyEdwards

 

InstaGram - https://instagram.com/hailey_writes/

 

BookBub - https://www.bookbub.com/authors/hailey-edwards

 

 

 

Like Reblog Comment
show activity (+)
review 2017-08-21 03:58
The Foundling
The Foundling - Georgette Heyer

I don't really know what to say about this book.  The writing is superb; really just near perfect.  The dialog is crafted so well it just trips off the tongue, even though it's a speech pattern that's hardly common today.

 

And I genuinely liked Lord Sale and his cousin Gideon (him best of all, I think); I even didn't mind the pompous uncle and Tom was moderately amusing.  I should give Heyer a fourth star just for that story about the two donkeys, a horse and a cow.  But as for the rest... 

 

Lord Sale's staff were insufferable.  Heyer meant them to be, of course; that's a big point of the plot from the beginning, but she did her job so well it was tedious to endure the reading of it.

 

Liversedge was probably brilliant and towards the end even I thought the situation was hilarious, but the first half of the book his character was just smarmy.

 

But the character I save most of my ire for is Belinda.  It was coincidence that I was reading this book the same time I was reading Grey Mask by Patricia Wentworth, but it was also perhaps karma having a go at me:  I claimed nobody could be as stupid as Margot in Grey Mask and so the fates brought Belinda into my reading life.  Belinda makes Margot look like a genius; Belinda makes air look literate.  Belinda, in short, should have been institutionalised.  Nobody – nobody – could be that vacuous and still show signs of life.

 

If this book failed at all it was with Heyer's decision to make Belinda too stupid to be believed.  I could not be sympathetic to her story at any point because she was not even believable as an automaton.  And because she played such a huge part in the middle of the book, the story dragged dangerously midway through and at one point, I just didn't want to finish it.  Fortunately, the POV shifted to Gideon, and the story picked up pace considerably.  The last half of the book was great, in fact: even though Belinda got to let her stupid shine to the very end, there was a lot less of her and the story focused on the characters that were interesting - the sentient ones.

 

The moral of this story:  stupid people can ruin even the best story.

Like Reblog Comment
review 2017-06-01 00:00
The Foundling: The True Story of a Kidnapping, a Family Secret, and My Search for the Real Me
The Foundling: The True Story of a Kidna... The Foundling: The True Story of a Kidnapping, a Family Secret, and My Search for the Real Me - Paul Fronczak,Alex Tresniowski An engaging and touching true story about a man trying to find the answers to to questions about his identity and his struggle to understand the past and to accept the answers he was given.

This is the story of Paul Fronczak who after 50 years learns through a DNA test that he is not who he thought he was and the road to discovery is no longer available to him through regular means but through the amazing advances in DNA testing. In 1964 a woman pretending to be a nurse kidnapped and infant boy named Paul Fronczak from a Chicago hospital, two years later police found a boy abandoned outside a a New Jersey store, the kidnapped infant's mother identifies him as her missing son and so Paul rejoins his family and only years later does he begin to suspect that all is not what it seems and his long search for the truth begins.

This is a very interesting story about families and belonging and what it is like for someone living on the outside of a family and knowing they don't belong and the struggle to find their identity. I also have an interest in Genealogy as I have done quite a lot of research into my own family history as there was a mystery going way back that needed unravelling but this was just a hobby for me and noting on the scare of Paul's case but I was amazed at the twist and turns and drawbacks that he had to endure.

While the book is well written there were times I got a little bogged down in the names and research and some of the story became a little bit repetitive and yet I understand that Paul needed to document his journey and all the names of people and places that became part of the research.
Having said that I was rooting for Paul all the way and wanted to see where is journey took him and would the answers change his life.

An interesting story That kept me turning the pages.
Like Reblog Comment
show activity (+)
text 2016-05-08 00:23
Library Book Sale
The Best of Saki - Saki,H.H. Munro
Touch Not the Cat - Mary Stewart
The Foundling - Georgette Heyer
Summer Lightning - P.G. Wodehouse

I almost forgot about the sale this weekend.  We have one Friends of the Library organisation in our area and they have two huge sales a year.  I did forget about the preview sale on Friday (members only), so I made sure to be there bright and early before the doors opened Saturday, along with about 70 others.

 

When the doors opened, I was disappointed to see that the sale was half as big this year; only one table of fiction, as opposed to a whole room of it in the last sale.  People were hoovering up the books almost faster than you could look at them and I almost left without buying anything.  Then I spied The Best of Saki, a Folio Society edition that looks to be never read so I snatched that up for 1.00.

 

Then I discovered they'd pushed some carts outside the doors with "clearance" books on them - all .50 a piece.  Going out there I found four more books including one fun surprise:

 

Touch Not the Cat by Mary Stewart was one of those books I remember seeing as a kid in my moms library.  Supposed to be quite gothic...

 

Summer Lightning by P.G. Wodehouse - I keep picking these up as I find them cheap.  

 

Jennifer by Janet Whitney is an Australian historical romance I have no intention of ever reading.  I just bought it for the title; at .50 I figured I could afford to be whimsical.

 

The Foundling by Georgette Heyer was the big surprise of the day.  It's missing its dust jacket, but is otherwise in really good condition.  When I got it home, I discovered it's a true UK first edition.  Woot!  Since I'm not a true collector, and have no intention of selling it, I'll keep an eye out; maybe someday I'll find a dust jacket for it.  

 

Even though I'd never part with my books, I always get a thrill when I find one that's actually worth a lot more than I paid for it - sort of like finding buried treasure.  The fact that I wouldn't know how to find valuable books if I wanted to makes actually stumbling over them even more of a rush.

 

So, 5 books, 3 bucks and as I paid, the volunteer told me the next sale in 6 months would be back to full sized: they just temporarily lost the use of two of the rooms they normally use.  Happy days!  :)

Like Reblog Comment
show activity (+)
review 2015-09-14 03:55
The Foundling - Georgette Heyer

One star off because little Harriet never really changes. She's shy and embarrassed the whole way through. But Gilly is wonderful and I suppose with all his growth and discovery during the book it would have been hard to have an advanced love plot as well as all the character growth. It's not about Harriet, nor is the love story the point of this book (oddly enough for a Heyer).

 

Gideon struck me as delightful as always, and Liversedge is just as wonderfully villainous as I remember him being. Perhaps even slightly better than I remembered. Apart from Gideon he's my favourite character.

 

It's been a LONG time since I read this one, and apart from a quibble with Harriet and feeling we don't see enough of her, it was even better than I remembered.

More posts
Your Dashboard view:
Need help?