logo
Wrong email address or username
Wrong email address or username
Incorrect verification code
back to top
Search tags: Mann
Load new posts () and activity
Like Reblog Comment
show activity (+)
url 2019-11-13 05:16
Podcast #162 is up!
Becoming Ronald Reagan: The Rise of a Conservative Icon - Robert Mann

My latest podcast is up on the New Books Network website! In it, I interview Robert Mann about his book charting the political evolution of Ronald Reagan prior to his career in politics. Enjoy!

Like Reblog Comment
show activity (+)
review 2015-10-11 16:49
Stefanie Mann - Die Frau Müller hat mir schon wieder die Zähne geklaut! ~ Aus dem bewegten Leben einer Altenpflegerin
Die Frau Müller hat mir schon wieder die Zähne geklaut!: Aus dem bewegten Leben einer Altenpflegerin - aufgeschrieben von Carina Heer - Stefanie Mann
Beschreibung auf dem Buchrücken:
Ein Porträt des Altenheimlebens – Nahaufnahmen einer eigenen Welt
 
Altenpflegerin ist ihr Traumberuf. Schwester Stefanie liebt ihren Job, weil sie die Alten liebt – mit all ihren Schrullen und Macken. Ob bettlägerig und kaum noch in der Lage, sich zu rühren, oder so dement, dass sie weder sich selbst noch die Familie erkennen: Stefanie Mann kann mit den Bewohnern lachen und streiten, Scherze machen und traurig sein. Denn noch im bemitleidenswertesten Pflegefall steckt ein Fiesling oder auch ein Schatz, und das spiegelt sich in den Geschichten, die Stefanie erzählt. Die sind mal witzig, mal derb und auch mal krass, aber immer voller Zuneigung und Lebenslust – so komisch und berührend wie das Leben selbst.
 
Details:
Taschenbuch: 256 Seiten
Verlag: Heyne Verlag (14. April 2015)
Sprache: Deutsch
ISBN-10: 3453603362
ISBN-13: 978-3453603363
Größe: 12,1 x 2,4 x 18,8 cm
 

Eigene Meinung:
 Seniorenheime im Verruf, Pflegenotstand, Mangel am Nachwuchs in der Altenpflege, schlechte Versorgung, solche und ähnliche Dinge liest und hört man, wenn man sich über das Leben in einem Altenheim informieren möchte. Doch nicht überall wirkt sich der Stress und die Arbeitsbelastung negativ auf das Arbeitsklima aus, wie Stefanie Mann in ihrem Buch zeigt. 
 
Stefanie Mann ist Altenpflegerin aus Leidenschaft und das merke man auch in den 18 kleinen Geschichten, die sich aus ihrem Arbeitsalltag aufgeschrieben hat. Dabei kommt sie völlig ohne grosse Enthüllungen aus, sondern sie schreibt einfach das auf, was ihr in ihrem Arbetisalltag begegnet und wie lustig das Arbeiten mit älteren Menschen sein kann, gleichzeigt zieht sich aber immer das Positive aus der Situation, auch wenn manchmal hinter den Geschichten ein trauriges Schicksal steckt. 
 
Der Schreibstil von Stefanie Mann ist locker und leicht, sie verzichtet auf Fachchinesisch, schafft es aber trotzdem, dem Leser viel über ihren Beruf und ihren Berufsalltag zu berichten. Zu keiner Zeit gibt es übermäßige Längen, man liest das Buch locker weg, was sehr angenehm auffällt. 
 
Das Buch ist jedem zum empfehlen, der nicht selber im Schichtdienst ist, aber auch jedem, der im Schichtdienst ist, weil Stefanie Mann schreibst auch über Missstände bei der Arbeit, so zum Beispiel Rückrufe aus dem Urlaub oder aus dem Frei oder immer wieder die gleichen Kollegen, die dann eben krank sind oder im Dienst eben lieber im Dienstzimmer sind. Natürlich schreibst sie auch über die kleineren und größere Probleme mit dem Patienten, aber man hat an keiner Stelle im Buch den Eindruck, dass sie ihren Job nicht mit Leib und Seele macht.
Vielleicht ist das Buch auch etwas für Berufsanfänger oder Berufsinteressiert, weil den Einblick in den Ablauf in einem Seniorenheim bekommt man sonst selten und da er auch sehr authentisch ist, kann man das auch für die Gruppe von Menschen empfehlen. :)
 
Fazit:
Ein tolles Buch über das Leben und Arbeiten in einem Altenpflegeheim, was keine Enthüllungen braucht, sondern einfach nur Geschichten aus dem Leben erzählt und dabei so sympathisch wirkt und sich wunderbar lesen lässt. Das ist so ein Buch, bei dem man sagen kann, gerad die kleinen und kleinsten Geschichten macht das Leben zu etwas besonderen - wirklich lesenswert.
Like Reblog Comment
show activity (+)
review 2015-10-03 08:22
Professor Unrat
Professor Unrat - Heinrich Mann,Manfred Steffen

Mitreißend vorgetragene Hörbuchversion von Heinrich Manns gesellschaftskritischem, teils fast zynischem, Schulroman. 

Like Reblog Comment
review 2014-06-29 00:18
Shelter Me
Shelter Me - Catherine Mann


Title: Shelter Me
Author: Catherine Mann
Publisher: Berkley
Reviewed By: Arlena Dean
Series: Second Chance Ranch #1
Genre: Romance
Rating: 5
Review:
"Shelter Me" by Catherine Mann...

From USA Today bestselling author Catherine Mann comes this beautiful, heartwarming novel about a returning military officer, the daughter of his fallen commander, and a very special dog with a mission. For fans of Jill Shalvis and Susan Mallery.

"Nestled in the sunny fields of Tennessee lies the McDaniel family’s Second Chance Ranch Animal Rescue. Two new arrivals are on their way, but only one is the four-legged kind.

Staff Sergeant Mike Kowalski wants only one thing after he gets home from Iraq: to sleep in a king-sized bed with clean sheets. But first, he has to hand off his fallen commander’s dog, Trooper, to his family without handing off his heart to Sierra…

Sierra McDaniel needs a break. Her family life is crazy, and when she’s not mucking out kennels, she’s slogging through grad school. Sierra certainly doesn’t want another dog, especially one that reminds her of her father. And she definitely doesn’t want to see Mike with that charming smile of his…

But Trooper has a mission of his own. Before too long Mike is moving to the ranch to lend a hand—and hoping for his own second chance with Sierra."

What I liked from "Shelter Me"....

I hesitated a bit before I picked up this read after reading what this novel was about but I am so glad that I did. I will say this author really knows how to write a script that puts the reader at ease with the subject line. Let's just say this was a story that involved the whole McDaniel family. From the father, [fallen commander], his father (the grandfather), wife, daughter, son, dog and a dear friend of the family. You will find from the read that this is a military family their has been a death [a dear son, husband and father...with the surviving family members have to endure quite a lots pain before this story will end. A dear friend [Mike]to the family has brought home a dog [Trooper] that had belonged to this fallen commander. Why, because Mike had promised to do so. It seems like this dog was a reminder of a dog that had once been owned by this fallen commander. Only when Mike had done his job with delivering Trooper to this family he they will see that this family needed his help. With Mike being on leave what could he do but help especially since this would possibly put him closer to Sierra since they had broken up with much earlier before his time over seas. I will let you in on a secret... I even teared up while reading some of this good read. This author really works her magic in showing how each one of these family members were desperately in the need of his help and yet didn't Mike also need help? Also this author even gave thoughts of that of the dog Trooper...yes of what Trooper was thinking from the read. Now, you know dogs can't talk or can they?

The primary and secondary characters were all richly developed as they seemed to come alive on the pages with each scene and conversation being so complete and special. Also those hot, steamy scenes from a certain couple was off the chart...well done. I don't want to give too much away but I will say this was a excellent and yes it's a military read. So be prepared for some real issues that can happen and you will find it interesting in how they are handled. Will they be fixable? You will just have to see for yourself. "Shelter Me" was somewhat long read but nothing was over done. When this author brings it to a close at the end of the read all will be wrapped up...well except one situation that will have you wondering.... but you will have to read the next series to find out what that was. Would I recommend "Shelter Me?" YES and Yes!

Like Reblog Comment
review 2013-11-14 02:06
Seductive Secrecy
Seductive Secrecy - Marni Mann

By: Marni Mann
Published By: Entice by Booktrope
Age Recommended:  Adult (Erotic)
Reviewed By:  Arlena Dean
Rating: 5
Series: Shadows #2
Review:

"Seductive Secrecy" by Marni Mann was the second in this authors series: Shadows and it would probably be a good thing to read it first before reading (Seductive Shadows)  for more of a understanding to what all this novel is about.  This novel has a great plot...to tell would ruin the story of it all so.....

all I will say is that you must pick up "Seductive Secrecy" after reading Seductive Shadows and you will see what I mean.  However, I will say its a unforgettable story about 'love in light and in darkness.'

For Charlie and Cameron will there be a 'happily ever after?"  Will things ever settle down before we see visitors entering the picture that could cause much trouble.  This novel offers a lots of emotions that are very complexed.   You will find that the characters are somewhat flawed and very insecure.  Yes, it is a romantic novel but so much angst in the middle of it all.  All in all I thought this novel was written very well once you got into it you will be able to see how it will suck you into all of the 'emotional vortex' of it all.   Once Charlie and Cameron are living together there will be obstacles that will lead to jealousy.  Why is this?  What happens when Cameron's brother Ryder comes into the picture?  What secrets does Ryder have that  will be brought out into the open?  How will these secrets have any bearing of  Charlie's and Cameron's relationship?  Then the story continues with Charlie's now reconnecting with her father.  What will come of that?  I don't want to say to much more not wanting to ruin it for the reader...so I will say you must pick up the amazing read to see for yourself.   Be ready for a 'emotional wreck' at the end but still it's a wonderful  brilliant read.    "Seductive Secrecy" is for anyone who likes dark romances and that being said ... pick up this novel... I don't think you will be unhappy with it.

More posts
Your Dashboard view:
Need help?