logo
Wrong email address or username
Wrong email address or username
Incorrect verification code
back to top
Search tags: Monster-horror
Load new posts () and activity
Like Reblog Comment
show activity (+)
review 2017-03-21 15:00
Sawfish Review (audio book)
Sawfish - Rick Chesler

I knew there was a chance that I would be disappointed when I decided to purchase Sawfish, given what I've read from the author in the past. However, I really like his ideas, and this sounded like the perfect sort of relaxing monster novel to listen to. It's been a while since I had one of those, so I decided to give Mr. Chesler another chance.

I wish I hadn't.

Sawfish has a great concept. It sets up perfectly to be this rip-roaring, monster-of-the-deep sort of novel. It had the potential to be so-bad-it's-good. Instead it was just bad. The sawfish was cool, don't get me wrong. The problem is that the author spends way too much time on the two main characters. Normally that wouldn't be a problem, except in this case both of the main characters are unlikable idiots!

For fans of The Walking Dead, Raymond is an evil Eugene. At least that's how I pictured him in my head. It didn't help that the narrator had that sort of nasal tone which built the ticked-off nerd image in your head. (The narrator was a perfect choice for this book, actually. I think it made it feel a bit more believable being told in that particular tone.) He wants revenge and then he wants to get back the attention he feels he rightly deserves. He's a toe rag.

But I will give Rick Chesler this: Even though Raymond is a douche, I still found myself rooting for him. When he's going up against the sawfish, I was hoping he'd win. He's not a likable character by any means, but you do find yourself cheering for him occasionally.


Elise is worse than Raymond is, and that's saying something. It's been a while since I disliked a female character as intensely as I disliked her. At least he had intelligence going for him, even if his personality and ego often overruled it. I spent too much of the book actively hoping something gruesome happened to her.

My favorite chapters were the sawfish attacks. The characters in them were often throwaways, but I didn't care. Those were the sections of the novel that I wanted to read more of. Anything so that I wouldn't have to listen to Raymond whine, boast, and plan.

Most of the ending was pretty good. The location and how things got rigged up was unique. The author did a great job of painting the scene in my mind. But the last few pages ruined it for me. My opinion already wasn't high on the book, and then we have something completely unbelievable happen from one of the characters. The twist wasn't believable. Not even a little bit.

Overall, it was a great concept and was voiced by a good narrator. I just didn't care for the actual execution or the characters. Can't recommend it.

Source: www.scifiandscary.com/sawfish-review
Like Reblog Comment
show activity (+)
review 2015-03-29 17:53
Very bleak.
Monster: A Novel of Extreme Horror and Gore - Matt Shaw,Michael Bray

All I am going to say about this novel is that it is one of the most depressing, bleakest and saddest stories I have ever read with a most truly disgusting individual in the way he abuses his family. It wasn't a true story, but knowing it does happen makes it a tough one to read, but it was well written.

 

                          

Like Reblog Comment
review 2014-04-07 00:14
One of those couldn't put it down books..
Dweller - Jeff Strand

This got picked out for the monthly Horror Aficionados Group reads and I have to say I was delighted with it!

 

 

Jeff strand does an Fantastic Job with this book. While I was reading it I really felt like I was reading it from Tobys perspective like he was sitting there and telling me his tale I even had his voice in my head that of a child. To a man. Toby isn't a normal child you can tell right away he is very troubled. But it doesn't mean you don't feel a care for him or for Owen “The monster he befriends” They have some awful stuff happen. Toby screws up BIG TIME on more than one occasion and Owen screws up too But they’re always there for each other despite it all.

 

An intense story with a heart that captured me from page 1. all in all I really enjoyed this book and found I just couldn't put it down.

Like Reblog Comment
review 2014-03-09 16:49
Monster Erotica... yes please!
Wicked Siren 1: Monster Female Horror Erotica - J.M. Keep
"If you require content warnings: this particular story contains upsetting scenes, monster sex, vagina dentata, breeding, reluctance and charm magic."

Ok, I'll admit that Im a little bit of a freak and I'm really digging Monster Erotica. There are a few things that I love in my strange and unusual category; monsters, weird and hot sex, maybe a little taboo and ridiculousness. But what will really make me read something is a warning label about content and/or banned due to content. This is a recipe for a freaky fun read. 


This short story is about a siren who's on the hunt for her next meal. She lures a fisherman into her clutches only to discover he's somehow different. He's got magic coursing through his body and she decides to breed with him. He catches glimpses of what she really looks like but doesn't turn away. 

Overall this was a good read. The one sex scene we got was good(it's only 30 pages, what do you expect). The story was interesting but I needed a little bit more dirty from the story. Some of the things I didn't like was that it kept changing POV's without warning and the sex was good but not terribly hot. I will be reading more from J.M. Keep and I've already recommended this to a friend who I know likes monster erotica. 

siren mermaid


Vagina dentata (Latin for toothed vagina) describes a folk tale in which a woman's vagina is said to contain teeth, with the associated implication that sexual intercourse might result in injury or castration for the man involved. Thank you Wikipedia

Amazon Freebie

Like Reblog Comment
show activity (+)
text 2013-10-24 11:09
30 Day Book Challenge: Day 24 & 25
The Monster Show: A Cultural History of Horror; Revised Edition with a New Afterword - David J. Skal
To Kill a Mockingbird - Harper Lee
Lord of the Flies - Edmund L. Epstein,William Golding
The Scarlet Letter - Nathaniel Hawthorne
Wicked: The Life and Times of the Wicked Witch of the West - Gregory Maguire

 

30 Day Book Challenge Header

 

 

Day 24: A Book You Wish More People Would've Read

 

I try not to tell people what the read cause different people like different books but here are a few. 

 

The Monster Show by David J. Skal 

This is a really interesting examination of monsters in entertainment and how it relates to society. Read this cause of a college class I took. (Ghosts, Myths, and Legends) 

 

ANY BOOK ASSIGNED IN HIGH SCHOOL 

Because really these books are assigned for a reason and most of the time we just skim the books without really appreciating them. Then we reread them as adults and feel like "Why didn't I just read it then?". 

 

Wicked by Gregory Maguire

Because the Wicked Witch of the West is misunderstood and she was born green, imagine the effect that can have on your social life. 

 

Day 25: A Character You Can Relate to the Most

 

 

Luna Lovegood - cause I am strange and live in my own little world most of the time. And I talk about imaginary creatures...a lot. 

 

I can't think of anymore off the top of my head. Well Hermione Granger but really that's just cause I try to correct people a lot and my hair is unruly. That's more of a how everyone else perceives me relation. 

 

 

30 Day Book Challenge

 

 

More posts
Your Dashboard view:
Need help?