logo
Wrong email address or username
Wrong email address or username
Incorrect verification code
back to top
Search tags: The-Bracelet
Load new posts () and activity
Like Reblog Comment
show activity (+)
review 2016-03-31 13:16
Good Story and Characters
The Charm Bracelet: A Novel - Viola Shipman

Arden worked for Paparazzi magazine which was the most searched celebrity website in the world. Arden edited and rewrote items for the magazine. But in her heart she had wanted to write a book but her ex husband shot that down and she never finished it. He harassed her so much the divorce settlement was a joke. Van was Arden’s boss and liked to take credit for Arden’ work. Lauren was Arden’s daughter was Lauren and she was just finishing up a year of college. She wanted to be an artist and she was really good originally how she got in college but was trying to be practical for her mom’s sake and was going for a business degree as she had found out how her father had left her mom in a financial mess and this way she could help her mom crawl out of debt. Maybe then when that was accomplished she could paint. Lauren loved her grandmother dearly even though her Mom had a strained relationship with her mom Lolly.  Lauren talks her mom into going up to see her grandma for Memorial day weekend. While there Arden learns her mom has MCI  which centers on memory loss and possibly dementia in the end. Arden just doesn’t know what to do.

I loved this story it was really good. A story of three generations of women and their struggles with the realities of life. I loved the characters and all the ins and outs they go through. I recommend.

I received an ARC of this story for an honest review.

Like Reblog Comment
show activity (+)
review 2016-02-26 04:49
The Charm Bracelet
The Charm Bracelet: A Novel - Viola Shipman
ISBN: 9781250071323
Publisher:  St. Martin's Press
Publication Date:  3/22/2016
Format: Hardcover 
My Rating:  4 Stars

 

A special thank you to St. Martin's Press and NetGalley for an ARC in exchange for an honest review.

Wade Rouse delivers THE CHARM BRACELET a heartwarming story in tribute to his special grandmother, Viola Shipman--Beautifully written, rich in character, history, memories and infused with lots of love. Where each charm holds a story, fond memories, and a key unlocking a secret part of her life.

A magical tale of things, people, and places, important and dear to our lives, we often take for granted. The simpler times, of our previous generations and their powerful voices of wisdom.

Three women discover the importance of family and forgiveness--- as charms take a part in changing their lives.

Misunderstandings, unsaid words, guilt, and resentment get in the way of life. When sometimes the smallest things are the greatest gifts. Finding your way back. A story that celebrates family and love in their many forms.

From July, 1953 we meet Lolly. Her mom had a story for every charm. Lolly’s birthday fell on the Fourth of July—a child of summer. Every year she received a charm from her mother on special occasions; from Christmas, trips, school accomplishments, and every birthday. This year it was half a heart. She had the other half, they would always be a part of one another.

 

With a poem:
“That every step along the way,
I have loved you so.
So each time you open up,
A little box from me
Remember that I really all
Began with You and Me.”

 


She promised she would always tell the story to the next generation. Then her mom was gone.

We flash forward to July 4, 2013, and even though her mother took half her heart, Lolly kept all her charms. Her mother was right-- the charm bracelet is always a constant reminder of her love. She had vowed she would share the stories with daughter.

However, her daughter, Arden had left and moved to Chicago. She never visited. Her life was busy and time was slipping by. She has to remind her of history and traditions but she seemed to shrug off the gesture. Every year on her birthday, she can feel her mom speaking through the charms. Through time and space, they are connected by lucky charms, representing love.

Flashbacks to 1901 (my favorite part); we learn about the sewing machine charm--Mary worked alongside her mother Marian O’Connell in Ireland, as a seamstress making specialty dresses for the wealthier families. Then she is on her way to America, alone for a better life—where she received the worn silver charm.. She misses her family, left behind.

The charm was given to her by a special lady, to represent a life bound by family. No matter how far away they may be. She was promised as long as she wore it, they would always be near. She was making her way once again from New York, to Michigan to her aunt and uncle’s home. It is here she meets a fellow Irishman. Her life begins. Sometimes not always an easy journey--loss, love, and life.

We meet Arden, 2014, Lolly’s daughter, now grown, living in Chicago five hours away with granddaughter, Lauren, in college. She grew up visiting their grandmother every summer in Michigan at her cabin on Lost Land Lake where Lolly still lives. Every day was an adventure with her grandmother. She had taught her so much, to believe anything was possible. Her grandmother always encouraged them to dream; whereas her mom, was always throwing out caution, be sensible, and plan. There was a chill between Arden and Lolly.

As Lolly grows older, her mom and dad are long gone--she has celebrated her birthday alone for years. She knows it is time for reconnecting with her daughter and granddaughter. Their family history has to live on. Now seventy and starting to forget things, Lolly knows time is running out. 

A story behind every keepsake —a charm, unlocking hearts with beauty, peace, faith, happiness, friends, and fond memories. The strong and powerful bonds between mothers and daughters. As the author mentions, we may not be aware of the stories of our grandmothers and mothers. It may be time to listen to the stories from the past.

An inspiring story, intertwined with nostalgia and heirlooms, reminding us life is short—we need to unhook and spend time, and get to know those special people in our lives, before it is too late. Treasure our friends, family, and passions in life.

Fans of Debbie Macomber, Sherryl Woods, Mariah Stewart, and Susan Wiggs will appreciate the idyllic setting, nostalgia and the warmhearted gem-- of family and love. Would make an ideal gift for Mother’s Day. Looking forward to more from the author!

Charms have been a part the human experience for thousands of years. Early man would pick up an interestingly shaped or colored stone and carry it with him as a talisman of protection or good luck.

As the story expresses, today charms are worn to express ourselves or commemorate special occasions and can still evoke strong feelings. They represent our passions, interests and hobbies, making wonderful personal and cherished gifts, lasting for generations; reminding us of special people, places or events.

When I read stories such as this, wish we all could rewind and go back to earlier simpler times, with real conversations--No devices. The lazy glorious summer days at the lake with picnics, and fun-filled days, with nowhere else to be.

Source: www.judithdcollinsconsulting.com/#!The-Charm-Bracelet/cmoa/5627c3470cf20da412a411ed
Like Reblog Comment
show activity (+)
review 2016-02-05 22:45
The Charm Bracelet: A Novel - Viola Shipman

#THECHARMBRACELET  AVAILABLE 3/29/16  5 STARS! @viola_shipman  @St.MartinsPress  

I remember requesting this book a few months ago after reading the blurb and crossing my fingers. I was just hoping that I got it. I have a charm bracelet and when I can, I add to it, different charms as memories. I have always loved that idea. When I received notice that I was approved, I literally jumped up in the air. I was so excited. Yesterday when I moved my March publications over to my reading list, I saw this book. This was the first one I read even though it wasn't due until the end of the month. I just couldn't wait. And, the book did not fail one bit.

I LOVED this book!!! It was everything I hoped and more. Oh the emotions, you will definitely need tissues for this one. And, Lolly she is quite the character. I want to just go up and give her a great big hug and let her know just how good she made me feel. Crazy or not, I just love her.

I don't want to leave this book. I went to sleep thinking about them and woke up and couldn't wait to get back to them. Now, what will I do? Such a great story with great characters. I highly recommend this book to everyone!

A great big HUGE thanks to St. Martin's Press for approving my request and to Net Galley for providing me with a free e-galley in exchange for an honest review. I can't say enough good things about this fantabulous read!!!
 
 
 

 

Like Reblog Comment
show activity (+)
review 2016-02-01 02:56
The Charm Bracelet
The Charm Bracelet: A Novel - Viola Shipman

Each charm has its own meaning and special place in Lolly's heart. For her birthday, her mother gave her a charm along with the simple advice that there's nothing more important than family and keeping memories alive. Now, at 70, Lolly's memory isn't what it used to be. She reaches out to her workaholic daughter and her teenage granddaughter to come for a visit. Every charm has a story, and through Lolly's stories the three women are able to find peace, happiness, faith, passion and love.

 

I love charm bracelets, always have. I loved the three generations of women and their closeness. I loved going back to the past, whether it was learning about Lolly's grandmother, or her own childhood, and even into her adulthood. I loved the setting.. the log cabin on Lost Lake that has been in the family for generations. This was a heartwarming, cozy, well-written book with a great ending!

More posts
Your Dashboard view:
Need help?