logo
Wrong email address or username
Wrong email address or username
Incorrect verification code
back to top
Search tags: Verity
Load new posts () and activity
Like Reblog Comment
show activity (+)
review 2020-01-29 21:29
Verity by Colleen Hoover
Verity - Colleen Hoover

After a crappy month of not feeling the best, I'm finally going to get back to reviewing. Until I catch up (I've got quite a few to write) my reviews will be shortish.

 

I just finished this one and God, it really made me tense. The storyline was great and something very unique. The protagonist, Lowen, has been asked to ghost-write the remaining books in a series as the author, Verity, has suffered extensive injuries in a car crash. Lowen agrees to write the books and goes to Verity's home in order to go through her office and try to find notes that Verity may have written at some point pertaining to the unwritten books. Make sense? It's a little convoluted, but on the page it makes perfect sense.

 

While Lowen is at Verity's home she finds the latters autobiography and when she begins to read some horrid things come to light.

 

This book was quite a departure from the previous work of Ms Hoover. It's even been released as an indie project because of said deviation. The book, of course, was written in her truly immersive, claustrophobic, trademark style. I'd say that above anything else that's my favorite aspect of Hoover novels, how close you feel with the protagonist and how much they feel like a part of you.

 

I don't want to say anything else about the plot as this is a book you should go into knowing as little as you can to reap the full rewards. Suffice to say it was a romantic suspense that never let up. It was seriously creepy, so much so I had to set it down for a couple of weeks as I was getting so anxious!

 

A fantastic book with a small cast of characters that feels as immersive as it does claustrophobic. 

Like Reblog Comment
review 2020-01-25 17:04
......
A Slave For The Demon: M/F Demon Monster Paranormal BDSM (Paranormal Demon Lust Book 1) - Verity Vixxen

This was actually kind of comical to me. Though I doubt that was the intention of the author.. So for laughs, and the cover, it gets 3 stars..

This is a very brief short, that's apart of like a mini series of stories. Basically, the chapters are released as a series, when all of them could just be added to one book for a decent sized Novella. This book has a total of 6 quick chapters and ends on a cliffhanger for the next few chapters. Price gouging at its finest.

Like Reblog Comment
text 2020-01-06 14:56
Reading progress update: I've read 50%.
Verity - Colleen Hoover

I literally can't put this down.

Like Reblog
show activity (+)
review 2019-10-18 18:30
For Fans of Jane Eyre and Rebecca
Verity - Colleen Hoover

I don't know what to say. This book really surprised me. Hoover hits on a great mix of themes from works like Jane Eyre and Rebecca to draw you in. Then you get a surprise ending that had me going what in the world and I wanted to dive back into the book all over again. I think that the first part of the book may start off a bit slow for readers, but by the time the heroine (Lowen) finds Verity's autobiography you are going to be hooked. 

 

"Verity" follows Lowen Ashleigh a struggling writer living in New York. Lowen has just buried her mother who she had a tough relationship with and now realizes she's heavily in debt due to her mother's medical bills. Lowen meets with her literary agent and is given a surprising offer about finishing up the last 3 books in a best selling series. The author, Verity Crawford is in a vegetative state and can't finish her series. Lowen initially balks, but when she realizes that the man she ran into earlier is also the husband of Verity she agrees. From there Lowen travels to Vermont to finish the series and while there in the home that Verity and Jeremy share, Lowen starts to find out more about the Crawford's and their lives together. 

 

I thought Hoover did a great job with developing Lowen. Lowen is a middling author who writes thrillers. When she is told that Verity herself read her work and liked it and thought that they were similar enough to each other's writing styles it tips her over a bit more when she decides to finish off the series. We get some insight into how Lowen writes and how she sees herself. She never quite feels good enough for her mother, her place in the world, or even with her writing. When she ends up staying with Jeremy and his young son Crew she slowly starts to fall for Jeremy. After she finds Verity's hidden autobiography though I think that Lowen starts to obsess a bit about Jeremy as well as Verity and their life together. 

 

Even though readers find Verity to be incapacitated when Lowen meets her, we also get to see a side of her via her autobiography. I have to say that Rebecca had nothing on Verity and leave it at that. I also loved the question that it raises about Verity when you get to the ending too. 


The other characters in the book, Jeremy, Crew, the nurse, and even Lowen's agent/former boyfriend take on life in this one. As a reader I did wonder if Jeremy was as he seemed to Lowen, or was he the man that we get to see via Verity's writing.


The writing I thought was great. Going back and forth between Lowen and Verity was wonderfully done and each chapter's tension builds on each other. I found myself tense while reading and wondering what would happen next. 


The setting of the house is ominous and dark. Not built up like Manderley was in Rebecca, but definitely a house with a lot of secrets.

 

The ending was quite explosive. I don't know what to think based on the revelation we are given, but one wonders about Lowen and the secrets that people keep. 

 

Image result for rebecca movie gif

 

Like Reblog
show activity (+)
text 2019-10-17 22:12
Reading progress update: I've read 51%.
Verity - Colleen Hoover

This book reminds me a bit of Jane Eyre, but the heroine knows the wife is still alive. I love how Hoover has structured this with Lowen living now with Verity's husband and young son while she also snoops and finds an autobiography that Verity wrote before her accident. This book is definitely dark and twisty. I don't know about Jeremy who is painted as tall, dark, handsome, and super sexy. I don't know about Lowen whose personal and professional life is a mess. And I am super curious about the nurse that doesn't seem to like Lowen much. Maybe some shades of Rebecca? Hmmmm

 

Related image

 

 

More posts
Your Dashboard view:
Need help?