logo
Wrong email address or username
Wrong email address or username
Incorrect verification code
back to top
Search tags: anna-clifton
Load new posts () and activity
Like Reblog Comment
review 2014-07-09 11:45
Adam's boys by Anna Clifton

Adam's Boys by Anna Clifton

"Wrong girl — wrong time? Adam’s fling with Abbie just weeks after the death of his wife may have been all wrong, but their time together gave him the strength to return home to his newborn son, Pete, and start their new life together.

Wrong guy — wrong time? Abbie's fling with Adam may have been all wrong, but their time together gave her Henry, the sunshine in her life, and although Adam is long gone, Abbie can never regret the time they spent together.

But two wrongs don't necessarily make a right. Adam Cooper is back, and when he learns the truth about his unknown son, he is hell-bent on creating a home and family for his boys, even if it means blackmailing Abbie into taking part.

Abbie has scars from her own tumultuous childhood, and losing Henry would destroy her. But with only mistrust and pain to bind them, can she and Adam ever find a way through regret to love and the family they could be"

divider-NEW

“Adam's Boys” is an emotionally charged roller coaster ride. What stood out for me, was that this book was so well written, I could empathize with all the characters situations without every having to be in that position myself. This was the first book in a long time that I can remember crying while reading.

There is a lot packed into this short novel and it is a powerhouse of feelings and drama. Besides that, this book is about is about family and redemption. It leaves you with a heart warming feeling of hope and that everything happens exactly how it should.

Do not be fooled by the books length- this is no lightweight novel. If you enjoy heartfelt stories in the vein of Debbie Macomber and Jan Karon, then this book should be at the top of your “to read” list.

“Adam's boys” delivers everything it promises and pulling on your heart strings is 100% guaranteed.

Source: elderparkbookreviews.wordpress.com
Like Reblog Comment
show activity (+)
review 2013-10-25 11:46
I may be TSTL seeing as I keep on making bad decisions... but then I do enjoy ranting
Adam’s Boys - Anna Clifton

I ruined a perfectly good reading streak by picking this book up. I suppose I should have known that I couldn’t get lucky for so long (since my luck is absolute shit) but I hoped that I would be wrong.

 

Let me start with the namesake of the book, Adam. HE IS SO SLOW. Forget everything else he did. He knows how Abbie got pregnant because their mutual friend Justin told him. Some dude came around for 3 weeks, got Abbie pregnant and went back to London. Which was exactly what he did. How many men does he think slept with her and went BACK to London like he did and around the same time he did! It was just baffling seeing that he was all nice to Henry never suspecting that the kid was his own. How stupid does someone have to be to not get that? And he didn’t find out using his own wit, oh no, Abbie had to tell him, even with the fact that they kind of hung out quite a bit before she told him. And when she told him, he lost it and got all high and mighty on her about keeping his son away from him.

Read more
Like Reblog Comment
review 2013-09-10 00:00
Adam's Boys
Adam’s Boys - Anna Clifton Dealing with the grief of losing his beloved wife, Ellen, Adam Cooper leaves his 3-month old son with his parents and flees the UK and heads to Australia to work out of the foreign office and try to heal. He finds his healing during a three week fling in the arms of Abbie McCarthy. It was the wrong girl, for the wrong guy, at the wrong time, and neither were ready for a relationship. When Adam returns to Australia on a business trip four years later, and finds Abbie with a 3-year old son, long-held secrets come tumbling out. Adam is determined to be involved in the life of his newly discovered son but can he overcome so many obstacles - the death of his former wife, a broken-hearted Abbie, two lovable little boys and the distance of many, many miles?

This is a clean and lovable romance novel. There is the innuendo of sexual activity but it is rare and very lightly implied. Any reader seeking explicit sexual descriptions will be disappointed however readers who prefer the romance and emotional connection between characters will enjoy the story. The relationship between Adam and Abbie was tumultuous as they are both deeply scarred by their past. Adam feels guilty over the death of his wife, Ellen. Abbie struggles with issues of trust and abandonment due to her family history. Then, there are those two little boys who so desperately want everyone together for a happy family life. Any parent, but especially a single parent, will easily identify with the two adorable little boys in the book. There are frustrating moments and behaviors on the part of both main characters and the book description is a bit misleading. There is never any “blackmail” attempt by Adam toward Abbie. He proposes two options to resolve the issue of him being able to see his son and she chooses the one she finds less disagreeable. I wouldn’t consider any action on the part of Adam to be even close to blackmail. There are incidents throughout the book that highlight flaws in both Adam and Abbie but that is why the romance between the two characters works.

The pacing of the novel is good but it can be a little fast during parts of the novel and there are a few points where the story skips ahead by a few weeks or months. The biggest issue with the pacing is that the conflict is never really given the time it needs to build tension and create drama. When a tense moment is developed it happens quickly and then is resolved within just a few pages. It happens repeatedly during nearly every tense situation. The reader isn’t really given the time to feel anguish for the characters because the conflict wraps up so quickly. There is plenty of conflict throughout the novel though so it’s never lacking, it’s just quickly resolved.

Overall, Adam’s Boys is an easy read and the two little boys, Pete and Henry, are the highlight of the novel. They are adorably written and will tug at the heartstrings of every reader. It’s a light (non-erotic) romance and a quick book to read. It is an emotional story, on behalf of all of the characters, and one I feel most readers will enjoy.

Review by Ashley LaMar
Closed the Cover
Like Reblog Comment
review 2013-03-13 00:00
Falling for the Lawyer - Anna Clifton This is a butterfly book, and beautifully done. Alex is the heroine who -- no spoilers! -- has an emotional journey ahead of her. JP is the hero and a catalyst for Alex's journey. I love how JP has a history that he too has to confront to move their relationship forward. There's a lot of wisdom in this book, a lot of life experience. This is a book that'll remind you what's important, and encourage you to go after it. Plus, JP is a fantastic Scottish hero :)
Like Reblog Comment
review 2013-03-12 00:00
Falling for the Lawyer - Anna Clifton 3.5 stars

It was a short read and I finished it in a few hours. I liked the promise of the story but I couldn't see why they were attracted to each other and it would have been better if the whole thing had happened in a longer period of time. For most of the book Alex was annoying and without any confidence and JP was insisting that she would make a good lawyer while she couldn't even express herself to her parents or fiancé .The characters behaviour was changing all the time and they were saying or doing things out of character all of sudden.
Other than these things (really they were small stuff)I really enjoyed this. It was one of better Harlequin romances I ever read.

I only wish it had a more relevant cover!
More posts
Your Dashboard view:
Need help?