logo
Wrong email address or username
Wrong email address or username
Incorrect verification code
back to top
Search tags: arc
Load new posts () and activity
Like Reblog Comment
show activity (+)
photo 2016-04-09 23:31
This looks familiar
And this is a map of Pern
The Summer Dragon - Todd Lockwood

this... bothers me a little bit

Like Reblog Comment
show activity (+)
photo 2015-12-13 05:50
Beyond Redemption by Michael R Fletcher. Image by Book Frivolity. (dopplegangers from Lineage II)
Beyond Redemption - Michael R. Fletcher

Book Depository | Booktopia
Amazon | Amazon UK | Amazon Aus


Sunday Afternoon Reads: This week, a rather grim fantasy: Beyond Redemption by Michael R. Fletcher. As I was previously of the mind probers ilk, I am finding Beyond Redemption extremely interesting.. It explores some psychological phenomena, and concepts, in a throughly unique, and intriguing way. It has my previous self, all in a squee..

 

Back'o'book:

A darkly imaginative writer in the tradition of Joe Abercrombie, Peter V. Brett, and Neil Gaiman conjures a gritty mind-bending fantasy, set in a world where delusion becomes reality . . . and the fulfillment of humanity's desires may well prove to be its undoing.

 

Faith shapes the landscape, defines the laws of physics, and makes a mockery of truth. Common knowledge isn't an axiom, it's a force of nature. What the masses believe is. But insanity is a weapon, conviction a shield. Delusions give birth to foul new gods.

 

Violent and dark, the world is filled with the Geisteskranken—men and women whose delusions manifest, twisting reality. High Priest Konig seeks to create order from chaos. He defines the beliefs of his followers, leading their faith to one end: a young boy, Morgen, must Ascend to become a god. A god they can control.

But there are many who would see this would-be-god in their thrall, including the High Priest’s own Doppels, and a Slaver no one can resist. Three reprobates—The Greatest Swordsman in the World, a murderous Kleptic, and possibly the only sane man left—have their own nefarious plans for the young god.

 

As these forces converge on the boy, there’s one more obstacle: time is running out. When one's delusions become more powerful, they become harder to control. The fate of the Geisteskranken is to inevitably find oneself in the Afterdeath. The question, then, is:

 

Who will rule there?

Well, I'm certainly not putting my hand up for the job, thanks.. So far, it's 50 shades of fantastic Grimdark, I expect the world will turn to ash by the end! Gee! It would be fantastic if the publisher were to release the second instalment… I guess, we can always delude ourselves into thinking it happens, and therefore, it shall manifest.. * whistles innocent tune *

Like Reblog Comment
show activity (+)
photo 2015-10-08 07:18
Last Song Before Night - Ilana C. Myer

Quothursday! From my current read Last Song Before Night by Ilana C. Myer. Sometimes even the smallest, and seemingly insignificant lines can stand out and make you ponder! It's a truism I like though.. Even if you're travelling the shittiest dirt track, potholed, and lined with poisonous plants; it's still the road you're travelling on, to get to wherever you might end up. You just keep walking, and hope that you find an intersection leading you to the road, that doesn't twist your ankle as you walk it!

 

It's obviously a day for philosophising! These are usually the moments people starting attaching the qualifier 'very weird' to my name.. So I'll just wander on off now, before I start musing on the universe. I'll make my cats listen to me instead.. Funny how they've gotten so good at hiding.. ;)

Like Reblog Comment
show activity (+)
photo 2015-09-06 00:45
Sorcerer To The Crown - Zen Cho

Saturday Night @ Crazy Cat Lady Kristy's House:

 

 

I've got my hoard of cookies (though I'm not sure it's safe to unrest the dragon), and I'm reading Sorcerer To The Crown by Zen Cho, in which "English Magic Faces It's Darkest Hour"!

 

I've not read much of it as of yet, but so far, so very alternative/fantasy/magical regency era Britain! No punches pulled though, in the first 10% it's brought up issues of racism, classism, sexism, war, politics.. And magicism?

 

It's kind of reminiscent of Jonathan Strange & Mr Norrell, with a Wodehouse/Wilde tongue in cheek feel; everything is just a little bit exaggerated to really exacerbate the ridiculousness of nobility, class, politics etc. I'm really enjoying it! I think once the main plot kicks in, I will be riveted! 

 

If you're a collector of good looking books, the Macmillan/Tor hardback edition of Sorcerer (out on the 10th of September) looks gorgeous! Really beautiful! I'm happy to take a donation, if somebody wants to buy me one!

Like Reblog Comment
show activity (+)
photo 2015-03-24 22:20
Peaceful Neighbor: Discovering the Countercultural Mister Rogers - Michael G. Long

Netgalley loves me and wants me to be happy. Today, I was notified about this book, requested it, was granted permission, and started reading it. Yay, Netgalley and yay, Mr. Rogers!

More posts
Your Dashboard view:
Need help?