logo
Wrong email address or username
Wrong email address or username
Incorrect verification code
back to top
Search tags: christina-kovac
Load new posts () and activity
Like Reblog Comment
review 2017-04-06 22:03
The Cutaway
The Cutaway: A Novel - Christina Kovac

Cameras, cameras, cameras....you never know when you may be on one or in a recorded news clip.

 

Virginia Knightly was the only female news person in her office…an office that seemed to be falling apart. They needed a big story, and the new boss wasn't helping hold it together. Virginia got demoted, and then a new face appears. This new face takes the position of another of Virginia's friends on the news staff.

 

All this is happening while a huge news story about the murder of a high profile lawyer is taking place.

 

Everyone is fighting for news, and a lot of people including the police force, politicians, and even the press were not being up front and honest about everything. Meanwhile Virginia took on things she really shouldn't be doing alone.

 

THE CUTAWAY takes us into the world of TV news bringing out all the hard work and investigation reporters and newscasters do. The characters are marvelous and so well developed that you can actually visualize them and consider them "real" people that you may even know.

 

The story line held my interest and slowly but cleverly led you to the end along with many guesses as to who had "done it" without my actually guessing correctly.

 

An excellent debut that slowly drew the reader into the meat of the story line, gave hints to something bigger, and kept me reading. 4/5

 

This book was given to me free of charge and without compensation by the publisher in return for an honest review.

Source: silversolara.blogspot.com
Like Reblog Comment
review 2017-03-21 01:22
The Cutaway by Christina Kovac
The Cutaway: A Novel - Christina Kovac

This review can also be found at Carole's Random Life in Books.

I liked this story well enough even if I didn't love it. I think that the newsroom setting was one of the strengths of this book and it did add a rather unique quality to the story. Unfortunately, I was never completely hooked by the story. The mystery was interesting but I just never found myself truly invested in the story.

This story is told from the point of view of TV new producer, Virginia. When Virginia sees a missing poster for Evelyn, she knows that she has seen her face before. She remembers Evelyn being in another piece on the news station as a cutaway shot and she is drawn to her story. As Viriginia works to find out what happened to Evelyn, she soon realizes that the case may be much bigger than she originally thought.

This book actually had a whole lot going on. Probably too much if I am being honest. While Viriginia was working on this case, it seemed that her whole world was falling down around her. There is a big shake-up at the news station that makes everything tense. Virginia's personal life is also a major focus with past relationships, new relationships, and family making an appearance. These topics were interesting but it seemed to change the focus from the mystery so often that I had a hard time keeping track of everything and I don't think that it always added a lot to the overall story.

The overall mystery was rather complex. This book did take a lot of twists and turns that I didn't see coming but there was nothing that was truly unexpected. I thought that the mystery did make sense in the end. As the mystery really started to unfold, the excitement levels increased. I did enjoy the newsroom perspective and thought this felt rather authentic.

This is a book that I am glad that I read and I think that mystery readers will enjoy the newsroom point of view. I thought that this was a solid debut novel from Christina Kovac and I look forward to reading more from her in the future.

I received an advance reader edition of this book from Atria Books - 37 Ink via NetGalley.

Initial Thoughts
I liked this one even if I didn't love it. It was interesting to see a case solved by someone in a newsroom. This one took a few twists but there was really nothing that was completely unexpected.

Like Reblog Comment
show activity (+)
review 2017-03-20 21:35
The Cutaway
The Cutaway: A Novel - Christina Kovac

By:  Christina Kovac

ISBN: 9781501141690

Publisher: Atria / 37 INK

Publication Date: 3/21/2017

Format:  Hardcover

My Rating:  4 Stars 

 

Christina Kovac delivers an intriguing suspense; highly-entertaining action debut, THE CUTAWAY —a brilliant and tenacious TV news and producer uncovers a video and sets out to discover the whereabouts of a missing female attorney while discovering something even more sinister.

From power, greed, dirty politics and corruption in Washington, this heroine will not stop until she has uncovered this dangerous web of deceit.

The author brings a wealth of her own experience managing Washington, DC newsrooms and producing crime and political stories as well as a TV journalist from the top networks to the pages as her story comes alive.

A beautiful woman, Evelyn Marie Carney an attorney; has gone missing in Georgetown. The Metropolitan Police Department is looking for this woman, last seen on Sunday.

TV news producer Virginia Knightly thinks she may have seen this young attorney somewhere. Most likely not in person; perhaps a cutaway shot, one of those quick flashes of video used to show a reaction. She was uncertain.

Evelyn was a recent law school graduated and worked at a prestigious firm. On the night she disappeared, she had dinner at a restaurant in Georgetown. She left alone. Police recovered her car abandoned not fifty yards from the restaurant.

Knightly has a memory, which is not exactly photographic; however, things, places, details, and events burn a permanent place in her memory, which is a gift at deadline. She can recall the angle of every frame, where it was shot, and what time of year, and the specifics. Armed with this kind of information can also be dangerous.

She loves telling stories, on or off camera. However, she may get more than she bargained for. Dark money.

Soon Knightly suspects foul play and begins her own investigation. Investigators seemed more interested in Evelyn’s martial problems. A martial separation was requested by Evelyn the night of the disappearance. What about her war-hero husband, Peter? Who was romantically involved with Evelyn?

What did Ian Chase’s official portrait from the Department of Justice have to do with the missing woman? Who was Evelyn looking at in the video? Was someone expected to turn a blind eye to illegal activities?

Virginia becomes enthralled and caught up in a high-stakes case, murder, greed deceit, dark money, power, and corruption. Hot on the trail, she soon realizes for every great story, there is a risk. Some far greater than others.

She discovers road blocks every way she turns, even in her own backyard, plus Michael Ledger, the detective which she had a relationship. Also PACs, political fundraising with anonymous donors (so-called dark money) to nonprofit groups, made in secret.

Money missing from the fund. Was Evelyn being set up? By whom?

Compelling! An edgy mystery with "behind the scenes" intensity in a contemporary suspenseful cutthroat news business. An intense tightly wound debut suspense. Looking forward to more from this author, who definitely knows her way around a story.

For fans of authors, Neely Tucker, Hank Phillippi Ryan, Lis Wiehl, and Jennifer Vaughn (some of my top favorites).

A special thank you to Atria and NetGalley for an advanced reading copy.

JDCMustReadBooks

 

About the Author

 

Photograph by Tina Krohn 

 

Christina Kovac worked for seventeen years managing Washington, DC newsrooms and producing crime and political stories in the District. Her career as television journalist began with Fox Five’s Ten O’Clock News, and after that, the ABC affiliate in Washington. For the last nine years, she worked at NBC News, where she worked for Tim Russert and provided news coverage for Meet the Press, the Today show, Nightly News, and others. 

Christina Kovac lives with her family outside of Washington, DC. The Cutaway is her first novel. Read More

 

Source: www.judithdcollinsconsulting.com/single-post/2016/09/01/The-Cutaway
Like Reblog Comment
show activity (+)
review 2017-03-03 08:01
The Cutaway: A Novel - Christina Kovac

This was a pretty good book. But, this book does not compare to Paula Hawkins and Gillian Flynn. No way, no how. This was a mystery, a good one. However, it was not a thriller which is what was advertised and what I was expecting. As I said, it was a good book, but with that blurb, I was highly disappointed.

Thanks to Atria Books for approving my request and to Net Galley for providing me with a free e-galley in exchange for an honest review.

Like Reblog Comment
show activity (+)
review 2016-11-28 00:53
Cutaway
The Cutaway: A Novel - Christina Kovac

 

I received an ARC of this book from Netgalley.  This has not prevented me from writing an honest review.

A young, first-year law associate, Evelyn Carney, disappears after dinner with her husband in Georgetown.  When Washington, DC TV news producer Virginia Knightly sees the missing-person report, something doesn't sit right for her.  Her initial thought is that no one simply vanishes from Georgetown.  When she sees a photograph of Carney, Knightly's photographic memory  tweaks--that face appeared in a cutaway shot in a video segment that the station ran not too long before.  Remembering which segment it was might help unravel the case.

Chasing the story, Knightly finds herself pursuing a mystery that involves law enforcement and politics--and of course, things are not as they seem. 

This was a very quick read for me, and I stayed up too late a couple of nights reading it--always a good sign.  I confess I was drawn it by the promotional text suggesting it would appeal to fans of Paula Hawkins and Gillian Flynn.  I'd just recently finished reading The Girl on the Train, and had a Gillian Flynn binge earlier in the year; I was eager for "what's next."  I do agree this will appeal to readers who enjoy Hawkins and Flynn, though happily Christina Kovac has her own voice.  This is her first novel, and I look forward to reading more from her.

The book had some interesting twists, some of which I anticipated and some I didn't.  The heroine does do that thing I wish heroines of books wouldn't do--putting herself into dangerous situations--but then I felt she redeemed herself.  I would have liked slightly more closure at the end, but I found the ending satisfying,  otherwise.

More posts
Your Dashboard view:
Need help?