logo
Wrong email address or username
Wrong email address or username
Incorrect verification code
back to top
Search tags: comics-squad
Load new posts () and activity
Like Reblog Comment
show activity (+)
review 2018-08-24 16:01
Booster Pack: Book Edition
Comics Squad: Recess! - Jennifer Holm,Matthew Holm,Jarrett J. Krosoczka,Dan Santat

Last year around this same time I fell into a bit of a reading slump (yes, it happens to everyone) and I picked up a little comics selection called Comics Squad: Detention hoping that it would revive me. I'm happy to say that it did the trick. Thinking lightning might strike twice, I delved into Comics Squad: Recess! by Jennifer L. Holm, Jarrett J. Krosoczka, Dan Santat, & Raina Telgemeier which is another book from this collection. This book explores the theme of recess with the authors/illustrators charged with coming up with stories which somehow incorporated this theme. (Some accomplished this feat more successfully than others as a few barely mentioned recess at all.) I especially enjoyed the last 2 stories both visually and from a narrative standpoint. (If you're curious, the two stories are "300 Words" by Dan Santat which was a love story and "The Rainy Day Monitor" by Raina Telgemeier & Dave Roman which was about a RPG kickball game.) I like recommending this series to burgeoning graphic novel/comics fans since it contains a variety of storytelling and art styles to give them a better idea of what they might like. This is a great idea for anyone, regardless of age, who might be interested in sampling different writers and illustrators. 8/10 overall and certainly wouldn't say no to reading more from this series (or from the two artists mentioned).

 

From Dan Santat's "300 Words" [Source: Santat's Twitter]

 

From "The Rainy Day Monitor" [Source: Graphic Novel Resources]

 

 

What's Up Next: CatStronauts: Space Station Situation CatStronauts: Robot Rescue by Drew Brockington

 

What I'm Currently Reading: El Deafo by Cece Bell

Source: readingfortheheckofit.blogspot.com
Like Reblog Comment
show activity (+)
review 2017-10-27 16:00
A palate cleanser
Comics Squad #3: Detention! - Victoria Jamieson,Matthew Holm,Jarrett J. Krosoczka,Ben Hatke,Jennifer L. Holm

As I've mentioned before, I sometimes just pull random books off of the shelf if the cover tickles my fancy. That's precisely how I ended up reading Comics Squad #3: Detention by Jennifer L. Holm & Matthew Holm, Jarrett J. Krosoczka, Matt Phelan, Victoria Jamieson, Ben Hatke, Rafael Rosario & Jorge Aguirre, and George O'Connor. (Please excuse me while I take a nap after copying down all of those authors.) As you might have guessed, this is a collection of comics by different authors all centering on the theme of detention. I'm obviously not the right audience for this because 1. I'm too old to get detention and 2. Even when I was old enough for it I never got detention. So while I didn't feel as overwhelmingly into this collection as a typical middle grader I still enjoyed it overall. That being said, there were some that stood out more than others and when I looked back through them I realized they were all by the same artist: Matt Phelan. I immediately added his works to my TRL (look out for that post in the near future). If you're interested in trying out a wide variety of illustrative styles and author's voices then this is a really great way to do that. It's definitely a mixed bag so you'll come away with hopefully at least one author/illustrator that you'll want to check out further. It was a light, fast read that served as somewhat of a palate cleanser after some of the denser books that I read previously. It's a 6/10 for me but I wouldn't say no to more books in this series (which do indeed exist if you didn't guess by #3 in the title).

 

What's Up Next: The Imaginary by A.F. Harrold with illustrations by Emily Gravett

 

What I'm Currently Reading: The Little Virtues by Natalia Ginzburg

Source: readingfortheheckofit.blogspot.com
Like Reblog Comment
show activity (+)
review 2016-02-16 23:38
Babysitting and School Lunch
How Mirka Caught a Fish - Barry Deutsch,Hansen Literary Agency
Comics Squad #2: Lunch! - Peanuts Worldwide LLC,Matthew Holm,Cece Bell,Jarrett J. Krosoczka,Jennifer L. Holm

Hereville: How Mirka Caught a Fish; part of the Hereville series about young adventurer and member of an Orthodox Jewish family.  These two things don't always go hand in hand.  She doesn't want to stay at home and sometimes questions the lessons of Fruma, her step-mother.

 

In this volume Mirka is left to take care of her younger sister Layele, who's personality is always at odds with Mirkas.  While Layele wants to follow Fruma's every direction and stay inside and clean, Mirka wants to march off into the forest to have adventures.

 

The two get into trouble when Layele discovers a magical fish and makes some unfortunate wishes.  Mirka's rash decisions and Layele's naive wishes land the pair and Fruma in deep trouble.

 

Lessons abound here, but they don't stop the story from being fun and suspenseful.  The fact that I'm not Jewish (let alone Orthodox) doesn't stop me from both being entertained by and educated by the graphic novel.  I'd highly recommend this to any Middle-School aged kid.

 

Comics Squad Vol. 2 Lunch: This collection of many different comic artists follows the theme of school lunch and was highly entertaining and nostalgic for me.  I loved it.  This would be a great introduction to kids comic artists, such as Jeffrey Brown, Jennifer Holm Sara Varon and Cece Bell.

 

I would not be surprised at all that, if they'd not heard of these artists before, after reading this comic readers will run to the library to read El Deafo, Star Wars Academy, Baby Mouse and Bake Sale among others.

 

From the origins of the Lunch Ladies to archaeological dig sites, these comics are hilarious, diverse and absolutely unputdownable.  

Like Reblog Comment
show activity (+)
review 2015-03-11 21:30
Comic Squad! Recess! Book Review
By Jennifer Holm Comics Squad: Recess! (Comic Squad) - Jennifer Holm

What a wonderful collection of fun, colorful and popular children's graphic novels shorts. Fans of Lunch Lady and BabyMouse will be sure to have a blast with these! 

 

Several writers share a short story based on their characters, including many favorites in juvenile graphic novels. More fun happens with characters like Lunch Lady. Short and funny. 

 

My favorite one was the graphic novel discussing "The Giving Tree." What a strong, morale story! And in a short graphic novel. I have not read a BabyMouse yet so I do not think I enjoyed that one as much as I should. 

More posts
Your Dashboard view:
Need help?