logo
Wrong email address or username
Wrong email address or username
Incorrect verification code
back to top
Search tags: ferry
Load new posts () and activity
Like Reblog Comment
show activity (+)
text 2018-06-21 14:34
Reading progress update: I've read 180 out of 352 pages.
The Night Ferry - Lotte Hammer

Me straying up late last night because this book 
Related image

Like Reblog Comment
show activity (+)
text 2018-05-25 13:17
REVIEW BY DEBBIE - Alaska (Sawyer's Ferry #1) by Cate Ashwood
Alaska (Sawyer's Ferry #1) - Cate Ashwood

Nobody says no to a Prescott.

Not even one of their own.

 

Holden:
Living up to expectations had never been easy, but when I went after something, I got it. Success. Money. Victory. I was standing on the doorstep to having it all. There was only one thing standing in my way.

 

Gage:
Power and prosperity are overrated. Especially when they come at a price. When enough became enough, I walked away. Nothing had ever tempted me to look back, until one day the past showed up in my backyard.

 

I’m not so sure I can walk away a second time.

 

@cateashwood, @DebbieReadsBook, #Contemporary, #M_M, #Romance, 4 out of 5 (very good)

Source: archaeolibrarian.wixsite.com/website/single-post/2018/04/17/Alaska-Sawyers-Ferry-1-by-Cate-Ashwood
Like Reblog Comment
show activity (+)
review 2017-11-28 05:42
The Sisters of Glass Ferry
The Sisters of Glass Ferry - Kim Michele Richardson

By:  Kim Michele Richardson

ISBN: 1496709551

Publisher: Kensington

Publication Date:  11/28/2017

Format: Hardcover

My Rating: 5 Stars +  (ARC)

 

From Kentucky’s finest Southern storyteller, Kim Michele Richardson returns following (2016) GodPretty in the Tobacco Field and (2015) Liar's Bench with her latest gripping mystery (her best yet), crime thriller: THE SISTERS OF GLASS FERRY –Rich in character, strong family bonds, suspense, and dark deeply-buried family secrets with a Southern Gothic twist. 

Set in the southern riverside town of Glass Ferry, in the heart of Kentucky bourbon—a gripping complex multi-generational tale of three families and four generations. Told from two points of view (Flannery and Patsy), and dual timelines.

From 1952 to 1972 and beyond, meet the Butler family. 

Mother Jean, father Honey Bee, and twin daughters: Flannery Bee and Patsy Jean. Their rival, The Henrys. 

Even though wise Beauregard “Honey Bee” (dad) has passed on, his legacy lives on through his daughters. A bourbon distiller, he made sure his family was taken care of and taught his daughters to be strong. 

Teaching them about guns, bullets, driving, and other things a man would teach his sons, and in particular, Flannery – the bourbon business, the river, chores in the barn, and his secrets (including his recipes) as he unburdens his soul to his thirteen- year- old daughter. 

His rules still called from the grave. 

Honey Bee had said, “Kentucky without its whiskey men, its stills, would be like New York City without business suits and buildings.” 

Flannery loved everything about whiskey. Loved that Honey Bee had taught her the secrets of its doings. " She loved the dark earth and the mystery of its scent that tucked itself into a strange sweet growing time." Her sister was more like their mom. 

Patsy had other friends besides her twin Flannery and Flannery felt betrayed and jealous. The mom referred to her husband's business as “the devil’s water.” However, Honey Bee thought his River Witch was respectable. After all, he was licensed and offered a true gentlemen’s whiskey. 

However, there was a payback. They had to keep the sheriff's pockets full of fees (taxes). Sinful bribery by the Henry brood, in more ways than one. Carried down to the next generation. 

However, Honey Bee always reminded his family the business had saved them throughout history, through the Depression and Prohibition. Only four licenses were handed out over the years in Kentucky and he was one. 

Later, in the story, we discover there were also twin sons (Paxton and Preston) which died as babies. A big mystery is unveiled near the conclusion regarding a third family and the connection to the Butlers from decades earlier. 

 



The story revolves around 1952 — the night of the prom. Patsy had a special date with her boyfriend Danny Henry. Danny the younger son. There was also the oldest, Hollis (bad news-troublemaker), and the father Jack which is the Sherriff.

The Henry’s looked down on the Butlers. Some thought being a twin was bad luck. A small town of half-truths, sadness, domestic abuse, rape, cover-ups, corruption, mental illness, and rumors. Spirits of the past. Unfinished business. 

Patsy was the beautiful and curvy sister; whereas, Flannery was the smart one and not so beautiful. Patsy was closer to her mom and Flannery her dad. They were eight minutes apart. Patsy was protective of her younger sister. The girls did not always get along. Sibling rivalry. 

However, prom night. The night it all went wrong – will haunt Flannery the rest of her life. The argument. The night Danny and Patsy went missing. From her mom’s sadness to the guilt of her sister. 

The 1950 Mercury, pearls, prom night, a gun, bullet, two different brothers, twin sisters, Hospital Curve, Ebenezer Road and the Kentucky River. 

The same river that had given Flannery so much would take yet another from her. The night Danny and Patsy went missing. They never made it to the prom. There was also the haunting day Patsy accepted a ride with Hollis three months earlier when Danny was flirting with Violet. 

Now, Patsy is gone and Jean still makes a cake each year for Patsy and Flannery on their birthday. However, this year, a car was found in the muddy Kentucky River and the secrets of the past begin to unravel. They had all hoped the two runaway lovers had been living a secret life; however, a tragedy. 

Two different twin sisters cannot seem to escape their tragedy and loss. Regrets. Secrets. One after another, trapped with no seemingly way out. 

“Reckoning Day was why Flannery stayed precisely eight minutes ahead, looking over her shoulder for those lagging minutes when the devil might try to collect." 

Flannery had the pearls. Her mom wants desperately to find the family pearls. Flannery would have to tell everything – both her secrets and Patsy’s. Flannery could only think of getting miles away from Glass Ferry. From her mom’s sadness, the rumors, and her guilt which only pushed her into yet another nightmare relationship. 

Now twenty years later she returns. 

What would Hollis do? A pact with the devil. The Henrys and their hold on this family, throughout generations. Precious moments lost. Brokenness and drowning misery. Is history repeating itself?

 
Flannery has to do something to help clear her sister’s reputation and name. The strong urge to avenge her sister. Will she have the courage, to tell the truth, or seek revenge? Justice. 

In the background, there is also another intriguing mystery (icing on the cake). The long-dead midwife Joetta, alleged to have been a witch and a murderess. Does her spirit still haunt Ebenezer Road?

However, the parents kept one big secret which is yet to be unveiled. An old family matter. A secret box. A diary. Holding the key to the past. (A nice twist)!

Will the spirits of the past, continue to hover over the lives of this family? How far will a sister go to protect her secrets and seek justice for those she loves.

Riveting. Emotional. Compelling. Haunting. Beautifully written. A mix of psychological, domestic suspense, crime thriller, mystery, historical, and Southern Gothic. 

A tale of heartbreak, and the strong bonds of family, balanced between destruction, regret, and redemption. The dark consequences that reverberate through the lives of three families, who will never be the same again. Love and loss. 

Richardson’s best yet! Once you start reading, you will not be able to put this one down. These families will draw you into their web of secrets and lies across generations, keeping you turning into the night. 

For fans of David Joy, Wiley Cash, Joshilyn Jackson, and Ron Rash.If you enjoy authentic Southern Gothic family mysteries, this one is for you. Ideal for book clubs (discussion guide included). My mom was a twin and come from a long line of family twins- always find them intriguing. 

Highly Recommend! Have read all her books and a huge fan. Anxiously awaiting the next book. I enjoyed reading what’s next for the author: Add this one to your TBR list. 

“I am currently working on my next novel The Book Woman of Troublesome Creek, and have spent countless hours researching and exploring the Pack Horse Library Project of 1935. It is a fascinating tale of tribute about the fearsome librarians who traveled on horseback and mule to provide books to the poor and isolated communities in Kentucky.”

Read More 

A special thank you to the author, Kensington, and Netgalley for an advanced digital and print copy. I have also pre-ordered the audiobook narrated by Marguerite Gavin. 

JDCMustReadBooks

 

Buy the Book

 

Source: www.judithdcollinsconsulting.com/single-post/2017/09/01/The-Sisters-of-Glass-Ferry
Like Reblog Comment
show activity (+)
review 2017-10-29 15:20
The Fall (Havenwood Falls)
The Fall: (A Havenwood Falls High Novell... The Fall: (A Havenwood Falls High Novella) - Kristen Yard,Liz Ferry,Kristie Cook

I received this book to give an honest review.

 

This gives a whole new outlook on sirens. Serena is drawn to the water yet she doesn't know why, when she plans on leaving Havenwood Falls it seems that her aunt wants to keep her there for a reason. Though Serena doesn't understand why. With her best friend Nikki acting strange, her mother is not herself anymore something just screams there is a huge secret here but what is it exactly? Will Serena and one of her best friends ever get to leave and study aboard or is there a reason she is to stay here?

 For a novella I felt that everything flowed together nicely and nothing was left out. All it did was leave me wanting more of Havenwood Falls! What is going on in this town of supernaturals! 

I have to say I am really enjoying this series and it is hard to believe that it is all done by different authors. So it isn't just one author writing about different characters it is different authors which is just too cool. I do believe I will be reading these books because they are just good clean, well written, plot steady stories. 

Like Reblog Comment
show activity (+)
review 2017-10-28 23:30
Written in the Stars
Written in the Stars: (A Havenwood Falls... Written in the Stars: (A Havenwood Falls High Novella) - Liz Ferry,Kallie Ross,Kristie Cook

I received this book to give an honest review.

 

For a novella I really found myself enjoying the story and was a bit sad to see it end. I felt that the characters were well developed and the plot was steady.

I really liked how the alphas were women and so the pack had a female to lead them instead of the normal male alpha. That really was a selling point for me because I have never read that in a book before. Willa is a teenager and hasn't shifted yet, so she isn't fully like her other packmates though it seems that something else might be going on because ones we got towards the end something fishy sounds like it was going on. 

Now not only does Willa have to worry about shifting before she loses her position in the pack but she has to deal with her feelings for Tarron who is not a wolf. 

This book is more for the teens as it is a clean read. I do believe I will read more with this series because I want to know where it is all going go. 

More posts
Your Dashboard view:
Need help?