logo
Wrong email address or username
Wrong email address or username
Incorrect verification code
back to top
Search tags: gory
Load new posts () and activity
Like Reblog Comment
show activity (+)
review 2018-07-29 13:23
Pomiędzy nami góry
Pomiędzy nami góry - Charles Martin

"Pomiędzy nami góry" to historia dwójki dorosłych ludzi, którzy spotkali się na lotnisku w ogromną śnieżycę oczekując na powrót do domu. W końcu zniecierpliwieni wynajmują awionetkę. Zrządzanie losu sprawia, że awionetka rozbija się w górach, gdzie od tej pory, kompletnie odcięci od świata Ben i Ashley muszą stawić czoła wszelkim przeciwnościom i niebezpieczeństwom, jakie czyhają na nich w tej mocno śnieżnej, mroźnej głuszy.

 

Lekkości tej książce nadaje postać Ashley, której ironiczne, sarkastyczne dialogi z Benem sprawiały, że nie zasnęłam przy [często] monotonnym, bardzo techniczne brzmiącym języku Bena. Ogólnie to właśnie dialogi między tą dwójką są według mnie najlepszym elementem tej książki. Ten humor był bardzo przydatny, choć po połowie książki zaczął być przewidywalny.

 

Cała historia jest ciekawa, ale chwilami "zabijają ją" fragmenty, w których Ben zmaga się z naturą. A są to niekiedy dość długie fragmenty, bo obejmujące połowę rozdziału bądź cały rozdział. To samo tyczy się wstawek z życia Bena i jego żony Rachel, o których Ben opowiada mówiąc do dyktafonu. Nie byłoby w tym wszystkim nic dziwnego, gdyby nie to, że około połowy zaczęło mnie to już męczyć. Książka stała się przez to mocno nużąca. Najprawdopodobniej niektórym czytelnikom mogłoby się to spodobać i zdaję sobie sprawę z tego, że te opisy pewnie nie stanowiłyby większego problemu, aczkolwiek ja liczyłam w tej historii na więcej emocji, więcej akcji (choćby takiej jak to  niebezpieczeństwo/zagrożenie, jakie czułam przy opisach ataku pumy...) Chyba moje oczekiwania były zgoła inne niż to, co autor zaserwował.

 

Daję ocenę "przeciętną", ale gwiazdki u mnie oznaczają ostatecznie książkę niezłą, dzięki paru pozytywnym aspektom, które tu zauważam. Krytykuję bo lekko się zawiodłam, i choć samo zakończenie, które było dla mnie zaskakujące (gdzie otrzymałam w końcu emocje, których wcześniej gdzieś po drodze zabrakło) jest według mnie dobre, to jest to dla mnie trochę za mało, aby wystawić wyższą ocenę. To jednak tylko moje subiektywne zdanie o tej pozycji. Każdy powinien ocenić ją według siebie.

Like Reblog Comment
show activity (+)
review 2017-11-03 15:48
Chłopiec na szczycie góry
Chłopiec na szczycie góry - John Boyne

John Boyne ukazuję nam trudne karty historii XX wieku widziane oczami małego dziecka. 

Pierrot to siedmioletni chłopiec, pół Francuz, pół Niemiec, mieszkający w Paryżu. Przyjaźni się z żydowskim głuchoniemym chłopcem - Anszelem, który wychowuje się bez ojca. Ma szczęśliwe choć biedne życie. Wszystko uległo zmianie po śmierci rodziców. Zostaje przygarnięty przez ciotkę i znalazł się w Niemczech. Razem z nią zamieszkał w posiadłości...Adolfa Hitlera.

Dla Pierrota Hitler to miły pan, który go lubi i robi mu prezenty. Pod wpływem obcowania z Adolfem mały Peter zmienia się. I jest to przemiana raczej tragiczna w skutkach. Przymusowy dom staję się dla chłopca więzieniem. Dzieciństwo pełne niespodziewanych wydarzeń i braku miłości oraz szybki start w dorosłe życie w imię ideologii staje się dla niego zgubne. 

To poruszająca historia o moralności. Czasami w trakcie trudno mi było zachować dystans do zdarzeń. Jesteśmy świadkami przemiany uczynnego dziecka w samolubnego i egoistycznego potwora. 

Książka napisana jest prostym językiem, więc czyta ją się dosyć szybko. Powieść pouczająca i ma dla czytelnika ważny przekaz, który zostaje na długo w pamięci. Jest to historia od której trudno się oderwać. Naprawdę polecam!!!!

Like Reblog Comment
show activity (+)
review 2017-06-02 22:15
Ascent by Luke Walker
Ascent - Luke Walker

 

A handful of people are stuck in the hell that has become Greenham Place, after what they think is an explosion that may have ended the outside world. But that's not the worst of it. Something has been unleashed inside this tall office building, and it's after them. Will they survive? You'll have to read Ascent to find out!

 

Rod, Alex, Simon, Kelly and Dao were all strangers to each other before the explosion. Now, they may be all that's left of humanity. What I liked most about this story was how the characters were each introduced and how they got to know one another. Unfortunately, whatever was released into Greenham Place got to know them too, and it used that knowledge to torture them all.

 

I thought this story was beautifully told-the author took the time to develop each character and then tailored the horror to each one. Everybody has secrets, whether they be something that happened to them, or something they did to someone else. Now imagine a creature that could use all that and twist it around-using it to insert wedges between people, to make people hallucinate, or even just to guilt them to death-how can you defeat that? Maybe you can't?

 

I LOVED the ending of this book, but I imagine it might be a problem for some. As an American, in light of our current political problems, and the problems that other...unstable countries present not only to us, but to the world, it was easy for me to fill in the blanks. I think that helped the story become more personal to me and I liked it that much more as a result.

 

My only complaint was that I thought the term "legging it" was a bit overused, but hey, if this stuff was going down anywhere near me, I would be legging it the hell out of there too.

 

More of a psychological horror story than anything else, (don't worry-there's plenty of bloody gore to go around too), Ascent was an impressive and imaginative story and I highly recommend it!

 

You can get your copy here: Ascent

*I was provided an e-ARC of this book in exchange for my honest review. This is it.*

Like Reblog Comment
show activity (+)
review 2017-05-03 18:30
Celebrity Chef Zombie Apocalypse by Jack Strange
Celebrity Chef Zombie Apocalypse - Amanda Horan,Graeme Parker,Jack Strange

 

Celebrity Chef Zombie Apocalypse has got to be one of the funniest books I've ever read!

 

Full of social and political commentary, it impressed me with keen observations regarding "celebrity chefs", government officials and the police. I thought it was funny as hell that the zombies herein were yellow, which made me picture them as Simpson-like in my head. Not only were they chef zombies, they were sex-crazed celebrity chef zombies-used to getting their own way in all things. (I'm pretty sure I recognized one or two of them from real life as well, which just made things even more funny-especially with the foul-mouthed one.)

 

 

The Prime Minister in this book very much reminded me of the man currently in power here in the U. S. I'm sure that wasn't the author's original intention, but I couldn't help myself from thinking that.

 

I'm not sure that Jardine, the female police investigator was supposed to be funny, but I found her to be so. She finally solves the case,

pretty much AFTER everything was already over! 

(spoiler show)

 

 

 Dave, who became the protagonist, 

after all the other protagonists were dead!,

(spoiler show)


  finally got fed up with trying to warn everyone about what was happening and decided to take off with his girlfriend to an isolated area to wait the whole thing out; as you might have guessed, that didn't work out well.

 

Oh, and did I mention Henderson, the ginger zombie cat? I can't even think about him without laughing.

 

This book was a hilarious piece of work; decently written with tongue firmly in cheek. I highly recommend it to those of you who like your main dish bloody with a hefty side of humor!

 

*I was provided a free e-copy of this book in exchange for my honest review. This is it!

Like Reblog Comment
show activity (+)
review 2017-03-21 15:00
Sawfish Review (audio book)
Sawfish - Rick Chesler

I knew there was a chance that I would be disappointed when I decided to purchase Sawfish, given what I've read from the author in the past. However, I really like his ideas, and this sounded like the perfect sort of relaxing monster novel to listen to. It's been a while since I had one of those, so I decided to give Mr. Chesler another chance.

I wish I hadn't.

Sawfish has a great concept. It sets up perfectly to be this rip-roaring, monster-of-the-deep sort of novel. It had the potential to be so-bad-it's-good. Instead it was just bad. The sawfish was cool, don't get me wrong. The problem is that the author spends way too much time on the two main characters. Normally that wouldn't be a problem, except in this case both of the main characters are unlikable idiots!

For fans of The Walking Dead, Raymond is an evil Eugene. At least that's how I pictured him in my head. It didn't help that the narrator had that sort of nasal tone which built the ticked-off nerd image in your head. (The narrator was a perfect choice for this book, actually. I think it made it feel a bit more believable being told in that particular tone.) He wants revenge and then he wants to get back the attention he feels he rightly deserves. He's a toe rag.

But I will give Rick Chesler this: Even though Raymond is a douche, I still found myself rooting for him. When he's going up against the sawfish, I was hoping he'd win. He's not a likable character by any means, but you do find yourself cheering for him occasionally.


Elise is worse than Raymond is, and that's saying something. It's been a while since I disliked a female character as intensely as I disliked her. At least he had intelligence going for him, even if his personality and ego often overruled it. I spent too much of the book actively hoping something gruesome happened to her.

My favorite chapters were the sawfish attacks. The characters in them were often throwaways, but I didn't care. Those were the sections of the novel that I wanted to read more of. Anything so that I wouldn't have to listen to Raymond whine, boast, and plan.

Most of the ending was pretty good. The location and how things got rigged up was unique. The author did a great job of painting the scene in my mind. But the last few pages ruined it for me. My opinion already wasn't high on the book, and then we have something completely unbelievable happen from one of the characters. The twist wasn't believable. Not even a little bit.

Overall, it was a great concept and was voiced by a good narrator. I just didn't care for the actual execution or the characters. Can't recommend it.

Source: www.scifiandscary.com/sawfish-review
More posts
Your Dashboard view:
Need help?