logo
Wrong email address or username
Wrong email address or username
Incorrect verification code
back to top
Search tags: k-j-howe
Load new posts () and activity
Like Reblog Comment
show activity (+)
review 2017-12-12 15:27
Monday Mini – Die Dog or Eat the Hatchet by Adam Howe @Adam_G_Howe
Die Dog or Eat the Hatchet - Adam Howe

Oh man, I don’t know what to say about Die Dog or Eat the Hatchet by Adam Howe.

From Adam Howe, winner of Stephen King’s On Writing contest, come three original novellas of hardboiled crime, graphic horror and pitch-black gallows humor.

 

Die Dog or Eat the Hatchet

 

Goodreads  /  Amazon US  /  Amazon UK  /  Amazon CA

 

My Review for Damn Dirty Apes

 

Adam Howe’s writing kept me laughing through the horrific twists and turns that is so ‘sick’. A weird and wacky horror story had me laughing in disgust. The mix of humor, horror and horniness shared some despicable characters and I loved to hate them. They hunt and fight their way through blackmail, kidnap and violence.

 

 

My Review for Die Dog or Eat The Hatchet

 

A psychopath reveling in the memories of the brutal and grotesque murders he committed. When is the death penalty appropriate. When you meet Hingle and delve into his perverted and twisted mind. The horror and savagery is impossible for me to imagine on my own, so Adam Howe brings it to life for me. Wickedly good ending.

 

My Review for Gator Bait

 

Gator Bait is available by itself and I have already reviewed it. I will share a bite and you can check it out for yourself HERE.

 

OMG! The ending blew me away and I couldn’t help but laugh. I never could have seen ALL that coming and I love it. The best laid plans often go awry and boy, oh boy, do they.

 

I voluntarily reviewed a free copy of Die Dog or Eat the Hatchet by Adam Howe.

 

Animated Animals. Pictures, Images and Photos  5 Stars all the way for each and every novella.

 

Read more here.

 

  • You can see my Giveaways HERE.
  • You can see my Reviews HERE.
  • animated smilies photo: animated animated.gifIf you like what you see, why don’t you follow me?
  • Leave your link in the comments and I will drop by to see what’s shakin’.
  • Thanks for visiting!
Source: www.fundinmental.com/monday-mini-die-dog-or-eat-the-hatchet-by-adam-howe-adam_g_howe
Like Reblog Comment
show activity (+)
review 2017-11-21 02:02
Perfect for fans of Zoe Sharp and/or Taylor Stevens and/or Kick Ass women in Thrillers.
The Freedom Broker (A Thea Paris Novel) - K.J. Howe

Thea Paris is such a cool character -- she's like a combination of Charlie Fox and Vanessa Michael Munroe -- but with a very different load of emotional baggage. When she was a child, her brother was sleeping in her room to help her make it through a hard night when he was kidnapped. She's spent the following decades convinced that the only reason he was kidnapped is that the abductors thought he was Thea. Yes, he eventually made it back safely, but he was (obviously) never the same, and Thea used that to fuel her mission in life. Her father is the tycooniest of American Oil Tycoons, and she could've easily rested on his laurels, or followed in the family business.

 

But no, Thea is in private security, with an emphasis on K&R (Kidnapping and Ransom). She's the one negotiating with kidnappers/their representatives to get a ransom paid and the victim returned to his home/family/nation/company. When that doesn't work, Thea will lead the extraction team doing what they can to bring te victim home. She's one of the best around. She is not perfect, and we see that right off, but she gets the job done well.

 

Which is good, because on the verge of one of the biggest deals of his life, Thea's father, Christos, is kidnapped. It's up to her, some allies and friends to bring him home. There are several candidates for the kidnapper's identity -- there's the Chinese oil corporations competing with her father, there are representatives of the African nation that kidnapped her brother all those years ago, there's an arms dealer that has rumors flying, too. In the midst of this hunt, secrets will be revealed (many Thea will regret learning), and virtually everyone in her life will end up divulging something dark and hidden.

 

One more thing about Thea -- she's diabetic. Which is an interesting character trait -- I can't think of another action hero with something like that: a real physical condition that requires maintenance, but is manageable and will not ordinarily cause anything more than inconvenience. Sure, it does give us what I'm calling Chekhov's glucose monitor (not a spoiler, that's what I put in my notes when it was first mentioned).

 

I liked the other characters, too -- but it's hard to talk about most of them without getting too heavily into the plot. So let's just say there are a few people I'm really looking forward to seeing again, and a few that I enjoyed enough this time out, but am very glad they're in no position to show up again. Just about everyone has a believable motivation -- no matter what side of the law and/or morality they fall on -- which is just great.

 

Howe's prose is tight and the pacing is great. There's a few times that Thea has the same thought over and over -- which is probably realistic, but it seems repetitive (and possibly not trusting the reader enough) to read her conclude "X may have done Y" in a chapter, and then "Y may have been done by X" in the next. But it's nothing to get too worked up over, I didn't think. Howe does seem to have a "everything including the kitchen sink" approach to story telling -- the number of things that go wrong during Thea's search for her father, and the number of opponents and obstacles in her way is seemingly endless. I love it, every time you think she's on a roll and things are going to start going her way, a problem that the reader should've seen coming (but almost never does) shows up to derail things again. Sure, eventually, that comes to an end -- the book doesn't go on forever -- but not until Howe's good and ready for it to end. She's probably getting a new kitchen constructed to hurl at Thea in the next book.

 

There's a great mix of action and intrigue, putting clues together and smacking heads, emotional growth and uncovering the past. Like it's protagonist, The Freedom Broker isn't perfect, but it gets the job done well. Sign me up for the upcoming sequel, too.



2017 Library Love Challenge

 

Source: irresponsiblereader.com/2017/11/15/the-freedom-broker-by-k-j-howe
Like Reblog Comment
show activity (+)
review 2017-11-01 20:41
Fun Thriller With Some Issues... But Still Fun
The Physick Book of Deliverance Dane - Katherine Howe
The main character, Connie Goodwin, is working to get her doctorate at Harvard.  As she looks for a topic on for her dissertation her mother asks her to clean out her grandmother’s old home. She finds strange jars full of things,  an old bible with a key and the name Deliverance Dane.  Her curiosity to find out more about Deliverance Dane leads her to a recipe book and Deliverance’s connection to the Salem witch trials.

 

It took me a little bit to fall into this book because of the times it switched back to characters that spoke with boston accents or flashing back to puritan times accents.  I could not make out what they were exactly saying sometimes. Once I did connect with the book I begin to love the characters and eventually the magic that joined them all together.

 

My main dislike is it was to easy to see where the story was going, and who the bad guy was.  There was also some dumb plots points where I felt smarter than Connie.  For one she is in search of Deliverance’s book and does not realize that the different names the book may have as she searches for it. I was practically screaming at Connie, “She is calling the book an almanac now!  Look for almanac now!”  There were so many chapters until she realized just that..

 

I really did like the characters in the book and way magic is described.  I read recently that the author Katherine Howe is writing a sequel.  I am excited for it because even with the downfalls of the book I still enjoyed it very much.  
Like Reblog Comment
url 2017-10-04 23:50
Why I included romance in my new thriller, GUN KISS

 

GUN KISS will be released by Canada’s Imajin Books in Fall this year.

Source: www.khaledtalibthriller.com
Like Reblog Comment
show activity (+)
review 2017-07-31 15:22
Review – The Freedom Broker by K J Howe @KJHoweAuthor @SDSXXTours
The Freedom Broker (A Thea Paris Novel) - K.J. Howe
Everything about The Freedom Broker by K J Howe speaks to me.
Soooo….let’s check it out, shall we?
.
The Freedom Broker
by KJ Howe
Genre: Thriller
.
MY REVIEW
.
Everything about The Freedom Broker by K J Howe, spoke to me. I am always on the lookout for strong female characters that are different, that walk to the beat of their own drum and Thea does that in spades. The thrills and chill begin early and never let up.
 
I don’t feel I did this book justice in my review. For some reason, the words won’t come for the level of feelings I had for some of the characters…not the rich and famous…but the ones caught up in the maelstrom, for the sense of truth I felt throughout the story, even though I know it’s fiction. The level of brutality someone can callously inflict on another is indescribable.
 
All hell breaks loose in Africa.
.
We have action from the beginning…a hostage to be rescued in Nigeria.
 
Kidnapping is big business. Thea is one of the top negotiators in the world and the only female. Her team is the best of the best. When her father is taken, she will pull out all the stops to save him. There is no way she will step aside and let others run the investigation.
 
Thea is not so much flawed or disabled, she just has to stay in tune with her body. She has diabetes, but it doesn’t stop her from trudging through jungles, fully geared up, fighting alongside men twice her size.
 
Bullets are fired, throats are slit, bombs are exploding, bodies are literally falling off the cliffs, a plane crashing, and as the body count rises, so does the mystery for those investigating Christo Paris’ kidnapping.
  
The brutal torture, starvation and filth the kidnapped endure is only compounded by the mental isolation and helplessness. Professional kidnappers, terrorists, political agendas.
 
I was stunned at Ares’ true identity. He is wanted worldwide for gun trafficking, kidnapping and murder. This is really bad. Every time HE comes near Thea, I fear for her. When she does figure it out, I wonder what will happen.
 
Every time I begin to relax, trying to put the pieces together, some danger rears its ugly head and more people die.
 
An aura of danger permeates every page. We have many convoluted machinations within multiple factions, each with their own agenda. Betrayal…that word does not begin to describe what happens. I keep waiting…waiting…waiting…for her to learn the truth.
 
The Freedom Broker by K J Howe is one of those books that reads like a true story filled with death and danger. The research K J Howe has done shines through.
 
I voluntarily reviewed a copy of The Freedom Broker by K J Howe.

Animated Animals. Pictures, Images and Photos  5 Stars

 

Read more here.

 

  • You can see my Giveaways HERE.
  • You can see my Reviews HERE.
  • animated smilies photo: animated animated.gifIf you like what you see, why don’t you follow me?
  • Leave your link in the comments and I will drop by to see what’s shakin’.
  • Thanks for visiting!
Source: www.fundinmental.com/giveaway-freedom-broker-k-j-howe-kjhoweauthor-sdsxxtours
More posts
Your Dashboard view:
Need help?