logo
Wrong email address or username
Wrong email address or username
Incorrect verification code
back to top
Search tags: m-pierce
Load new posts () and activity
Like Reblog Comment
show activity (+)
review 2017-10-11 16:32
#66 - Morning Star by Pierce Brown
Morning Star - Pierce Brown

This is the third (and final) installment in the Red Rising saga. But a new book is coming out in January (Iron Gold), taking place ten years after the events of Morning Star. 

I don’t know why I did not pick this up earlier. I’ve read Golden Son in January 2016 and absolutely loved it and was so excited about Morning Star. But I have no idea why I did not buy it straight away and it took me a whole year to decide to buy it (then almost another year to decide to read it…). Anyway, I finally picked it up and this book was a hell of a ride. 

 

I have to admit that I was a bit confused at the beginning and had to read recaps of Red Rising and Golden Son. I still had difficulty with character’s names; I often read the book with the Red Rising Wiki open on my phone. But as soon as I was a bit more comfortable with all the names, I could not stop. So many things happened here and it gave me all the chills. 

 

This book is full of amazing complex characters; you cannot hate all the "villains", nor like all the "good people". They all have so many qualities and as many flaws, I just can’t pick one favourite. I love them all.  

 

I love how war is depicted, it not the utopist thing I’m used to in most (YA) books. War is cruel and it takes many sacrifices when you want to rebuild a society. I loved how the author handled this whole concept in the book. 

 

So many things surprised me, I cannot count the times I thought “I did not see that coming!”. Especially towards the end of the book, there is this ginormous plot twist when I almost banged my head on the wall (true story, I had to stop reading for at least 10minutes). 

 

I definitely recommend this series to anybody who loves science fiction and YA. It is a bit more complex than most YA books I’m used to, but not as complex as “non-YA” sci-fi books. It’s really an amazing series where friendship finds all its meanings. It is full of brutality and raw emotions that will leave you speechless.  

 

(THE ENDING!!! :o ) 

Like Reblog Comment
show activity (+)
review 2017-09-21 22:38
The Afterlives by Thomas Pierce
The Afterlives: A Novel - Thomas Pierce

Another one that won't come out until January, sorry! but these are just the ones that are exciting me right now!

 

Jim Byrd died of heart failure. He was revived in time and being a young man suffered no lasting damage. After the installation of a new device to monitor his heart he makes a full recovery. What gnaws at him is the fact that he has no memories of his experience. He saw no light at the end of the tunnel and he realizes he needs to know what, if anything, happens after death.

A routine task at work leads him to a haunted house and leads him to reconnect with an old girlfriend. Following a whim he comes into contact with a haunted house and, coincidentally, an old girlfriend. Him, his father, and his girlfriend are all pulled into the mystery of this house and the larger question of life after death. Religion, technology, philosophy, love and fear intersect in The Afterlives as we follow Jim's quest for understanding. The stories of those who lived in and visited the haunted house periodically break up the story and deepen the mystery.

Thomas Pierce's writing was a pleasure to read. He tackles enormous issues with respect and genuine insight. His characters often deliver their lines and thoughts with a wry sense of humor. Once I picked the book up, I could hardly put it down. I haven't read anything like it in a long time.

Like Reblog Comment
show activity (+)
review 2017-09-12 01:16
Golden Son by Pierce Brown
Golden Son - Pierce Brown

Genre: Science Fiction


Year Published: 2015


Number of Pages: 691 pages


Date Read: 8/4/2017



Publisher:   Gale Cengage Learning (Large Print)

 

 

Series: Red Rising #2


Source:  Library

 

Golden

“Home isn't where you're from, it's where you find light when all grows dark.” 

It has been awhile since I had last read “Red Rising” by Pierce Brown and when I found out about the rest of the books in Pierce Brown’s “Red Rising” trilogy, I just has to pick up the next book “Golden Son” as soon as possible and man, was I in for one intense and shocking ride!

Darrow used to be a Red, but when his beloved wife Eo ends up dying in the last book due to defying the high and mighty Golds, Darrow then decides to disguise himself as a Gold in order to infiltrate the Gold Empire and fulfill Eo’s dying dream to live a life of freedom. While in the Gold Empire, Darrow starts making friends at the Gold Academy and after he wins the deadly competition in the last book, he becomes Augustus’ most cherished warrior. However, Darrow soon realizes that the Sons of Ares are starting a rebellion against the Gold Empire and Darrow realizes that the only way he can take down the Gold Empire is if he causes a war between the Golds themselves. As Darrow becomes Augustus’ champion and puts his plan to action, he will soon learn about the importance of true friendship while discovering several betrayals within his army that might eventually break him.

Wow! Just wow…. After I had read the first book in the “Red Rising” series, I never would have thought that the second book “Golden Son” can beat the brutal, intense and shocking nature of “Red Rising.” But lo and behold, “Golden Son” managed to beat out “Red Rising” in terms of having the most brutal and shocking twists to ever happen in this series! Pierce Brown has done a fantastic job at writing this story as it is much more intense and shocking than the first book and I was quite surprised by the number of betrayals that happens to Darrow throughout this book as the characters that I expected to betray Darrow were not the characters that I was expecting. But probably the best part about this book is the characters themselves and how much they had developed from the first book, whether it is a positive or negative progression for them. Pierce Brown has done a great job at developing all of these characters from the first book, especially Darrow himself as he went from being a weak protagonist who was not sure about his goals in life and whether or not he can succeed in infiltrating the Gold Empire to being a strong protagonist who eventually went up the ranks of the Gold Empire and even had the courage to lead an army to take down his enemies. I also loved the progression that both Sevro and Mustang take in this book as they go through the most amazing development among Darrow’s other allies and I like the fact that Darrow and Mustang’s relationship actually progresses further in this book and I cannot wait to see more of Darrow and Mustang in the next book! I also loved the friendship shared between Sevro and Darrow as they have one of the most unique friendships I have ever read in any science fiction novel!

Golden

Anyone who does not like strong language and gory violence should be warned that there is some strong language in this book, such as the usage of the “s” and “f” word and it would probably be best to skim over these words if you are offended easily. Also, the violence is pretty strong in this book as it features massive slaughter of many people and the gory fights between the characters are told in great detail.

Overall, “Golden Son” is a truly intense and shocking second book in the “Red Rising” series that fans of dystopian fiction should definitely check out and now, I am going to read the third and final book in the series, “Morning Star” because the ending of this book is seriously killing me and I got to know what is going to happen to Darrow in the third book!

Review is also on: Rabbit Ears Book Blog

Banner

Like Reblog Comment
show activity (+)
review 2017-08-28 17:52
Numair Chronicles, #1: Tempests and Slaughter
Tempests and Slaughter (The Numair Chronicles, Book One) - Tamora Pierce

I read Pierce's The Immortals back in middle school and remember only fragments today, so I came into Tempests and Slaughter with very little to go on. I didn't even remember who Numair was.

Bearing that in mind, the book works well as a standalone coming-of-age fantasy, if a very accelerated one. Years go by in very few chapters. We have three friends: Arram Draper, our hero the future Numair, Varice, clever and beautiful, and Ozorne, a member of the imperial family. The three of them have such strong talents that they are separated from the bulk of students and have mostly private classes with the masters. Arram's schedules are included periodically to signal time passing and to give a sense of what he is studying.

This isolation from the other students except for a convenient plot bully or three made it very difficult to get a sense of the setting. I realize there are twenty-odd Tortall books so Pierce may not feel the need for much exposition, but I felt a little left out and bewildered as we see our three protagonists march forward effortlessly through their studies.

By the end of the book, the first of a trilogy, we have a sense of Arram's priorities and we get clues of Ozorne's true character. Conflicts of later books such as divine interference, the immortals, and imperial aggression and slavery are also touched on.

For established fans, there is a lot to love here. I'm just not sure that this would be rewarding to a new reader.

Like Reblog Comment
show activity (+)
review 2017-08-01 00:25
Review: Royal Replicas by Michael Pierce

***Disclosure: I received a free copy in exchange for a review.***

 

 

8fc24-royalreplicas2b-2bebookcover_hi-res

 

Synopsis: "Princess Amelia is dead... and one of you will replace her."

 

Seventeen-year-old Victoria Sandalwood has served the Duke and Duchess all her life. Over the years, she’s learned to make due with what she has and endure her surrogate father’s awful punishments. She dreams of escape, but never expected it to come in the form of a message from the Queen of Westeria. Victoria learns that she’s the Queen’s daughter, the younger sister to Princess Amelia, and it’s time to come home and claim her birthright.

 

When she arrives, she discovers she’s not the only one who received the royal message. Victoria must compete with six other girls to earn the affection of both the Queen and a princely suitor… and to replace the secretly deceased Princess Amelia. If she fails to win the crown, Victoria may just have to fight for her life…

 

Royal Replicas is the first book in a YA dystopian series. If you enjoy courtly intrigue, heart-pounding adventure, and sweet romance, then you’ll love this captivating story. Perfect for fans of Kiera Cass, Bella Forrest, and Veronica Roth.

 

Read more
More posts
Your Dashboard view:
Need help?