logo
Wrong email address or username
Wrong email address or username
Incorrect verification code
back to top
Search tags: michael-pierce
Load new posts () and activity
Like Reblog Comment
show activity (+)
review 2017-08-01 00:25
Review: Royal Replicas by Michael Pierce

***Disclosure: I received a free copy in exchange for a review.***

 

 

8fc24-royalreplicas2b-2bebookcover_hi-res

 

Synopsis: "Princess Amelia is dead... and one of you will replace her."

 

Seventeen-year-old Victoria Sandalwood has served the Duke and Duchess all her life. Over the years, she’s learned to make due with what she has and endure her surrogate father’s awful punishments. She dreams of escape, but never expected it to come in the form of a message from the Queen of Westeria. Victoria learns that she’s the Queen’s daughter, the younger sister to Princess Amelia, and it’s time to come home and claim her birthright.

 

When she arrives, she discovers she’s not the only one who received the royal message. Victoria must compete with six other girls to earn the affection of both the Queen and a princely suitor… and to replace the secretly deceased Princess Amelia. If she fails to win the crown, Victoria may just have to fight for her life…

 

Royal Replicas is the first book in a YA dystopian series. If you enjoy courtly intrigue, heart-pounding adventure, and sweet romance, then you’ll love this captivating story. Perfect for fans of Kiera Cass, Bella Forrest, and Veronica Roth.

 

Read more
Like Reblog Comment
review 2013-01-17 00:00
Provex City (Lorne Family Vault, Book 1) - Michael Pierce

I'm going to admit straight out that when I first started Provex City I was utterly confused. This book somehow manages to have a fantasy/sci fi feel while still walking in the contemporary genre. It's odd at first. Still, the more I read, the deeper I was pulled in. It was amazing.

 

As a very character driven reader, I really appreciated Pierce's writing style. Oliver is the main character and he is so beautifully built, so wholly fleshed out, that it's hard not to like him. His life is what you'd expect a normal teenage boy's to be. Family, friends, and of course girl problems. That is, until he finds out just how extraordinary he really is.

 

Which brings me to the one area I had a bit if issue with. Although I totally understand the need to suspend disbelief in a story like this, I still had so many unanswered questions after finishing. I would love to know more about Oliver's ability and definitely about the other world! Here's hoping for another book so I can sate my curiosity.

 

Despite any small issues I may have had though, Provex City ultimately ended as an enjoyable read for me. A bit of magic and a touch of romance, this kept me immersed. I definitely recommend you give it a shot.

Like Reblog Comment
review 2013-01-09 00:00
Provex City (The Lorne Family Vault, #1)
Provex City (The Lorne Family Vault, #1)... Provex City (The Lorne Family Vault, #1) - Michael Pierce Family problems, love triangle, school drama, sibling rivalry. These are just themes that I find cliches and sometimes redundant in a Young Adult novel or better yet, in a teenager’s life; but in Provex City, I found them amusing, alive, and true.

What really drew me into this book were the characters. I truly could relate to them—especially that the point of view of this book was coming from a male. The story didn’t feel like fiction. As I’ve said, it felt real and true. Oliver was real. His friends—and girlfriends and enemies and frenemies—were real. His actions, decisions, and dilemmas were real. Sometimes, it felt like my story instead of Oliver’s.

However, there is more in Provex City than meets the eye.

Pierce also brought in magic into this book, literally. He brought in a magical world into the story. He brought in the magical properties of mystery and suspense which definitely helped with the growth of the story and the characters. Let’s not forget the magic of romance—a proven and tested formula that could hook a reader at once, which Provex City did to me.

Pierce was also clever to uncommonly combine the contemporary genre with fantasy, paranormal and science fiction genres—the best I’ve read so far.

I was never bored of this book. There is a lot happening in this book all at once. Sometimes, the unexpected ones come and you’ll just be amaze by them. Incredibly, I still couldn’t ponder how captivated I am with this book especially that the last three chapters gave me a blast—and yet again, literally.

Like me, readers will be guessing, guessing and guessing until they finish Provex City looking forward for more. Provex City is a very wonderful start for a new fantasy series which I guess there’ll be more moments of surprises, more indelible moments of love, and more of the City of Provex.

--
Visit http://mrbookwonder.tumblr.com for book reviews, interviews, and giveaways.
More posts
Your Dashboard view:
Need help?