logo
Wrong email address or username
Wrong email address or username
Incorrect verification code
back to top
Search tags: mike-omer
Load new posts () and activity
Like Reblog Comment
show activity (+)
review 2018-09-29 12:56
This is a perfect fit for Murder Most Foul...
A Killer's Mind - Mike Omer

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

~BOOK BLURB~

A Killer's Mind

Mike Omer

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

 

Three Chicago women have been found strangled, embalmed, and posed as if still alive. Doubting the findings of the local PD’s profiler, The FBI calls on forensic psychologist Zoe Bentley to investigate.

 

Zoe quickly gets off on the wrong foot with her new partner, Special Agent Tatum Gray. Zoe’s a hunter, intense and focused; Tatum’s a smug maverick with little respect for the rules. Together, they must descend into a serial killer’s psyche and untangle his twisted fantasies, or more women will die. But when the contents of three inconspicuous envelopes reveal a chilling connection to gruesome murders from Zoe’s childhood, suddenly the hunter becomes the hunted.

 

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

~MY QUICKIE REVIEW~

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

 

A Killer's Mind is morbidly fascinating and generally creepy.  Compulsively readable, or listenable, I couldn't put it down.  I had some issues with the way some elements played out and some minor believability issues, but nothing too major.  I got this book as a Kindle First and bought the narration and it was totally worth it.  I really like stories about Profilers, I find the whole process quite intriguing.  Narration by Brittany Pressley was very well done…I liked the way she did Zoe's accent, making it more pronounced when she was agitated.

 

๏๏๏๏๏๏๏๏๏๏๏๏๏๏๏๏๏๏๏๏๏๏๏๏๏๏๏๏๏๏๏๏๏

~MY RATING~

4.3STARS - GRADE=A-

๏๏๏๏๏๏๏๏๏๏๏๏๏๏๏๏๏๏๏๏๏๏๏๏๏๏๏๏๏๏๏๏๏

 

 

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

~BREAKDOWN OF RATINGS~

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Plot~ 4.3/5

Main Characters~ 4.3/5

Secondary Characters~ 4/5

The Feels~ 5/5

Pacing~ 5/5

Addictiveness~ 5/5

Theme or Tone~ 4.5/5

Flow (Writing Style)~4.5/5

Backdrop (World Building)~4/5

Originality~ 4/5

Ending~ 4.3/5 Cliffhanger~ Sort of…

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Book Cover~ It's eye-catching…

Narration~ 4.5 for Brittany Pressley. 4 for overall because I believe this would have been top notch if they had a male voice for the male pov's.

Series~ Zoe Bentley Mystery

Setting~ Chicago, IL, Dale City, VA, & Maynard MA

Source~ Audible Audiobook

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

 

 

I used this for Murder Most Foul Square in Halloween Bingo 2018

 

 

 

Like Reblog Comment
show activity (+)
text 2018-02-11 04:55
Currently FREE for Kindle: Spider's Web
Spider's Web - Mike Omer

I've read this one, and I thought it was a very good police procedural, murder mystery.

 

Currently free for the Kindle version.

Like Reblog Comment
show activity (+)
review 2016-05-29 20:34
Found A Winner!
Spider's Web - Mike Omer

‘When Kendele selected the songs for her jogging playlist, she didn’t pause to think “What if I die hearing this?” it wasn’t a question that normally occurred to her, though perhaps on that day it should have.’

 

If you enjoy police procedurals and murder mysteries, Spider’s Web is a solid effort in the genre.  It compares well to other, better known, books of this type.

“But death can trickle in during quiet, thoughtful moments. It doesn’t ask for permission, often sneaking into people’s minds before they notice it is there.”

We’ve got an intriguing serial killer mystery, a variety of police personnel who are well drawn and feel like real people, excellent writing, well-paced storytelling, and even the occasional bit of humor.

‘”Why are you taking your hat?” “It’s my hat”, Jacob said. He looked offended. “It’s part of my uniform. Do you go down to Traffic without your pants?” “Sometimes,” Mitchell said. “When I want them to take me seriously.”’

If the blurb sounds interesting to you I believe it’s highly likely you’ll enjoy this story.  

Reader to reader let’s be honest - finding a self-published book that can hold its own with those coming out of the big publishing houses is like finding a gem buried in a mountain of sludge.

If you’re a reader who’s taken a gamble on the self-publishing phenomenon you probably know what I’m talking about.

And when I do discover a book, like this one, that measures up in professional quality, one where I enjoy the story and the characters, one I can recommend to others with no qualifications or hesitation, my reader heart does a little happy dance.

It feels like a reward for being willing to try, taking a chance.  A chance that too often ends in disappointment.

But not this time.  This time I found myself a winner.

”He had seen something that snagged in his brain. It itched in his mind, like a mosquito bite in the subconscious.”

I received a free copy of this book via Netgalley in exchange for my honest review.

Like Reblog Comment
show activity (+)
text 2016-05-29 14:23
Spider's Web by Mike (Michael) Omer
Spider's Web - Mike Omer

I'm about 2/3 of the way through Spider's Web, by Mike Omer, and think it is a solid effort in the police procedural/murder mystery genre.

 

This book is currently available as Read Now on Netgalley, and for $.99 for the Kindle version on Amazon.

 

If you like this type of story I can recommend it, unless it all goes south in the 1/3 I haven't read yet.  The writing, plot, characters stand up well against other books of this type.

 

Here's the blurb:

 

Sometimes, Death Comes With a Warning


There’s a killer prowling the streets. He stalks and murders young women seemingly at random, and he always warns them first…


Twenty year old Kendele Byers is savagely killed and buried in a shallow grave. She had a violent past, a bizarre kinky line of work, and the suspect list grows longer every day.

But when another woman is murdered, Detective Mitchell Lonnie realizes that there’s something much more sinister afoot, a connection between the two murders. Both victims had received a clue hinting their oncoming demise several minutes before they were attacked. There’s a serial killer in Glenmore Park. Even worse, he seems to be accelerating his murder pace.

Now Mitchell and his partner need to locate the killer before more innocent women die. But when his sister gets involved, Mitchell’s focus begins to unravel. Soon his pursuit becomes personal, and the stakes rise very high…

Fans of Angela Marsons, Michael Connelly and Peter James will be hooked by this new police mystery novel

 

The archive date on Netgalley is tomorrow, so grab it fast if you want it from there.  Here's a link to the Kindle version:

 

Spider's Web, Kindle edition

More posts
Your Dashboard view:
Need help?