logo
Wrong email address or username
Wrong email address or username
Incorrect verification code
back to top
Search tags: owned-by-me
Load new posts () and activity
Like Reblog Comment
review 2018-04-19 13:17
1st to Die James Patterson
1st to Die - James Patterson

Lindsay Boxer is a tough, but sympathetic homicide detective who along with three friends are trying to solve horrific murders. Someone is killing brides and grooms on their honeymoons, and Lindsay and her friends form the Women's Murder Club. They are trying to stop this killer before he strikes again.

Like Reblog Comment
show activity (+)
review 2018-04-15 03:26
Review: Starting from Scratch
Starting from Scratch (Lancaster Discoveries) - Kate Lloyd

Eva Lapp is a young girl or woman. She takes a job that her cousin Olivia recommends. Her brother and his family show up at her parents home two days early. Her sister-in-law decides to send her on her way. 

 

When she gets to Yodel’s Nursery she is in surprise for she thinks she goes to be working with plants. There a surprise when she finds out she is to manage the small cafe. 

 

She seems to be getting suitor left and right, though she does not feel them. She thinks they are either too young or she does not know for sure. 

 

Jake returns and Eva has a feeling for him. Are they true or is she just think she got feelings. Things get a little bumpy when someone breaks into the cafe or at least looks that way. Stephen seems to have a feeling for Eva but does Eva have a feeling for Stephen? 

 

There is an adventure at every turn once you start reading. Some folks keep blaming Jake for the burned down fire? Did Jake do it? Eva also is having trouble with whether to stay Amish or to go English? Kate Lloyd writes a completing story and shows how Eva Lapp is snuggling with her problems. Can she overcome them? Will Jake and Eva turn towards God for help?

Source: nrcbooks.blogspot.com/2018/04/review-starting-from-scratch.html
Like Reblog Comment
show activity (+)
review 2018-04-09 22:13
The Return of the Firebird: Evgeny Plushenko, an Image of the New Russia (Tuncay)
The Return of the Firebird: Evgeny Plushenko, an Image of the New Russia - Vildan Bahar Tuncay

In the eighteenth and nineteenth centuries, very young well-off university men who indulged in "poetical effusions" could get them published with subscriptions from indulgent and equally well-off friends. I have read some of this innocently awful rubbish.

 

Innocently awful rubbish is also how I would describe this self-published fan biography of Evgeny Plushenko. Mercifully slight, it is the product of someone for whom English is clearly not the first language, and whose style has been further corrupted by academia. There are a few minor insights, though they are likely born of reading rather than experience; I think Ms Tuncay is likely correct in linking Plushenko's arrogance and flamboyance to the rapid emergence of materialistic culture in post-glasnost Russia generally, for instance. Not ever having been a fan of Plushenko - I found him technically gifted, but without any sort of interpretive merit, and repulsively narcissistic - I am not inclined to forgive the faults of the writer (and the non-existent proofreader) for the sake of the subject.

 

Plushenko fans may want the book to complete their collections, particularly since there is so little written about him in English; I cannot otherwise recommend it at all.

Like Reblog Comment
show activity (+)
review 2018-04-04 23:32
Book Review: Who the Bishop Knows
Who the Bishop Knows - Vanetta Chapman

Were you wondering if Henry seen another murder? Well what if Henry did not and though the person does not know that. The murderer seem to think he knows more about Jermiamiah murder?

What of his talents, he does not see him or know that he there. Henry does embrace his talent. Will is solved the crime or not? Emma knows Henry did not see what happen and so does the police though they did ask him if his special talent would help.

Do they know that the murderer is living among them? Does Naomi know more than any of the youngsters. The young adults appear brought into this murder. Is it personal or not?

Two girls get kidnapped but why and for what reason? How is Henry and Emma involved? I seem that there a secret going on and that get reveal as well

Vannetta does a wonderful job of doing it and closing out the series. What up with having a bishop that knows and seem to find all the clues. See if he can help the English police to solve the crime.

Source: nrcbooks.blogspot.com/2018/04/book-review-who-bishop-knows-and.html
Like Reblog Comment
show activity (+)
review 2018-03-30 14:22
The Curious Charms of Arthur Pepper ★★★☆☆
The Curious Charms of Arthur Pepper - Phaedra Patrick

Once in a while, I fall for the “because you read ______” recommendations that shout at me from every book buying and review site. I’ve been trying, unsuccessfully, to think of a time when I wasn’t disappointed. I need to remember this, next time temptation strikes.

 

This book was supposed to please readers who enjoyed A Man Called Ove and The Unlikely Pilgrimage of Harold Fry, and I suppose it is similar in that its main character is an old man who goes on a journey of self discovery. But that’s about it. I found the story charming at first, but it quickly devolved into cutesiness, and neither the writing nor the lessons learned nor the character evolution lifted it above the threshold for suspension of disbelief required for its unlikely events or improbable characters as did the two books that the recommendation was based on. The forward momentum stopped several chapters before the end, and I had to force myself to finish. It was an okay story, I suppose, for people who like glurge.

 

Audiobook, purchased via Audible. The performance by James Langton was excellent, and elevated the book from two stars to three.

More posts
Your Dashboard view:
Need help?