logo
Wrong email address or username
Wrong email address or username
Incorrect verification code
back to top
Search tags: paranormal
Load new posts () and activity
Like Reblog Comment
review SPOILER ALERT! 2017-06-29 07:38
Book Review : the runway queen Cassandra clare
The Runaway Queen - Cassandra Clare,Maureen Johnson

June 28-28

Magnus Bane has a royal role in the French Revolution—if the angry mobs don’t spoil his spells. One of ten adventures in The Bane Chronicles.

While in France, immortal warlock Magnus Bane finds himself attempting to rescue the royal family from the horrors of the French Revolution—after being roped into this mess by a most attractive count. Naturally, the daring escape calls for invisible air balloons…

Review : This one was an interesting story a bit slow but I enjoyed it . Magnus is hired by a guy named Axel to protect the queen until some vampires want her so Mangnus gets her onto a balloon and somehow Magnus gets a pet monkey .



“Hello," Magnus said to the monkey. The monkey did not reply. "I shall call you Ragnor.”


I'll need you to get a leash for my monkey, Claude, and also a hat."
"Of course, monsieur"
"Do you think he needs a little coat as well?"
"Perhaps not in this weather, monsieur."
"You are right," Magnus said with a sight. "Make it a simple dressing gown, just like mine."
"Which one, monsieur?"
"The one in rose and silver."
"Excellent choice, monsieur.”

“There was no way possible [the queen] could have done all of the things the pamphleteers claimed. The crimes were too gross, too immoral and far too physically challenging. Magnus himself had never attempted half of them.

 

If one could look this fabulous, one had an obligation to.

 

 

 

Like Reblog Comment
show activity (+)
review SPOILER ALERT! 2017-06-28 20:49
Book review :what really happened in Peru cassandra Clare
What Really Happened in Peru - Cassandra Clare,Sarah Rees Brennan

 June 27-28

Fans of The Mortal Instruments and The Infernal Devices know that Magnus Bane is banned from Peru—and now they can find out why.

One of ten adventures in The Bane Chronicles.

There are good reasons Peru is off-limits to Magnus Bane. Follow Magnus’s Peruvian escapades as he drags his fellow warlocks Ragnor Fell and Catarina Loss into trouble, learns several instruments (which he plays shockingly), dances (which he does shockingly), and disgraces his host nation by doing something unspeakable to the Nazca Lines.

Review : I loved this short story about Magnus it was a very funny story about how Magnus gets banned from Peru. Magnus meets a man and learns to play an instrument which he's very bad at playing so bad people throw things at him but then he gets dumped and gets really drunk and meets a woman who steals from the rich it was a fun story.
Quotes :
“Magnus, you were trying to flirt with your own plate."

"I'm a very open-minded sort of fellow!"

You told us to leave you in the desert, because you planned to start a new life as cactus," Catarina said, her voice flat. "Then you conjured up tiny needles and threw them at us. With pinpoint accuracy.”

Picture this," said Magnus. "Me with a little monkey friend. I could teach him tricks. I could dress him in a cunning jacket. He could look just like me! But more monkey-shaped.”

Magnus had a list of favored traits in a partner-black hair, blue eyes, honest...”

Magnus was sure that the llama stampede he witnessed was a coincidence. The llamas could not be judging him

 

Like Reblog Comment
show activity (+)
review 2017-06-28 15:37
A Hunger Like No Other / Kresley Cole
A Hunger Like No Other - Kresley Cole

A mythic warrior who'll stop at nothing to possess her...

After enduring years of torture from the vampire horde, Lachlain MacRieve, leader of the Lykae Clan, is enraged to find the predestined mate he's waited millennia for is a vampire. Or partly one. This Emmaline is a small, ethereal half Valkyrie/half vampire, who somehow begins to soothe the fury burning within him.

A vampire captured by her wildest fantasy...

Sheltered Emmaline Troy finally sets out to uncover the truth about her deceased parents—until a powerful Lykae claims her as his mate and forces her back to his ancestral Scottish castle. There, her fear of the Lykae—and their notorious dark desires—ebbs as he begins a slow, wicked seduction to sate her own dark cravings.

An all-consuming desire...

Yet when an ancient evil from her past resurfaces, will their desire deepen into a love that can bring a proud warrior to his knees and turn a gentle beauty into the fighter she was born to be?

 

Imagine Beauty & the Beast crossed with Outlander. Why a werewolf would speak with a thick Scottish brogue is quite beyond me, but it’s not the only ridiculous part of this paranormal romance.

And it’s a romance only if controlling abusive kidnappers are sexy. Yet, I couldn’t quit reading. Morbid fascination? Unconscious rape fantasies? What the hell is wrong with me?

Like Reblog Comment
show activity (+)
review 2017-06-28 13:26
Through Her Eyes (Mind's Eye #4) by Deborah Camp
Through Her Eyes - Deborah Camp
I LOVE the Mind's Eye series, and Through Her Eyes is no different. The story is fast-paced, with plenty going on. There are not too many characters so that you lose track of who did what or said what and when, but enough that you get varieties of view points. Our two main characters, Levi and Trudy, both still have personal demons to battle, although I loved seeing the progress that both of them made. As a woman, and not having gone through what Levi did, it was easier to empathise with Trudy's demons, as I think most women will be able to. Still, Levi's character has changed as the books have progressed, and it was nice to see it commented on in this book by various people. He has made progress, still has a way to go, but definitely made some!
 
The story itself was once again a gruesome read - enough detail given that you felt the horror of it, without it being too much and putting you off your cornflakes! You also get a personal insight into just how much doing this 'job' can impact both Levi and Trudy. Trudy's strengths are coming on in leaps and bounds, and with Levi by her side, soon her self-confidence will follow.
 
This was exceptionally well written, with no editing or grammatical errors that disrupted my reading flow. A nice twist to the ending, before you get your HFN with Levi and Trudy, leaving you once again wanting more from this psychic duo. Absolutely recommended by me.
 
* A copy of this book was provided to me with no requirements for a review. I voluntarily read this book, and my comments here are my honest opinion. *
 
Merissa
Archaeolibrarian - I Dig Good Books!
Source: sites.google.com/site/archaeolibrarian/merissa-reviews/throughhereyesmindseye4bydeborahcamp
Like Reblog Comment
show activity (+)
review SPOILER ALERT! 2017-06-27 23:05
Great action, just as good as the first one.
Broken Souls - Stephen Blackmoore

FYI for those of you who haven‘t read the first one. It’s best to do so.

 

***Spoilers ahead. You’ve been warned***

 

It amazes me how much Eric Carter can take. It makes sense now, because of his new found powers and his recent unsteady alliance with Santa Muerte. But in the last book? He was thrown about like a rag doll and still managed to do the dirty deed with the lady friend. (I’d rather plop down and sleep for an eternity and lick my wounds but everyone’s different right?.)

 

Like the first one, there’s lots of action in the book. It’s one thing after another with moments of insanity in between. I really thought Eric was losing his mind there. You probably would after seeing all the stuff he’s seen in a lifetime. He’s still a jerk and isn’t apologetic about it and his character does not develop much - although physical aspects to his character changes quite a bit thanks to the manipulation of the Gods.

 

Which brings me to the main plot. Eric is caught in between two Gods who are pretty much using him to their advantage and manipulating him into getting the ball rolling. I enjoyed this part of the book. It until the last third of the book where one finds out to what extent the manipulation goes to. Then Eric is ready to go out for more blood. Oh yes. Bring me book number three!!! (A notable scene which sticks with me is when Eric is stuck with two demons in a room. Loved that fighting scene. Perfectly written, demons were grotesque, and one just happened to take the guise of a child.)

 

We also have the addition of la Bruja (Gabriela) who I really enjoyed reading. She’s tough, with a heart of gold, isn’t afraid of telling Eric he’s an a-hole, and has a following willing to fight with her. I loved reading about her. She’s a tough cookie and does help Eric out, even though there’s trust issues (understandably so). I think Eric found a great ally here with Gabriela.

 

This was just as enjoyable to read as the first one. I can’t wait to see what’s in store for Eric the next time. I hope this series continues! It’s got so much potential to keep as an ongoing series.

More posts
Your Dashboard view:
Need help?