logo
Wrong email address or username
Wrong email address or username
Incorrect verification code
back to top
Search tags: pen-and-sword
Load new posts () and activity
Like Reblog Comment
review 2018-02-22 00:00
The Dragonslayer's Sword: The Dragonslayer Series: Book One of Four
The Dragonslayer's Sword: The Dragonslay... The Dragonslayer's Sword: The Dragonslayer Series: Book One of Four - Resa Nelson,Eric Wilder I really loved this book... the characters are fleshed out wonderfully, Astrid is especially memorable. DiStephan was without a doubt my favorite character, from the first moment he appeared on the page he was so vibrant and full of life! I loved how the author worked the dragons into the plot as well as the distinction used between them and the lizards. The one very tiny complaint that I have is that once glaringly and one other time minimally, the author made a jarring jump from one chapter to the next which threw me for a loop till I figured out what had happened. Over all this was a incredibly enjoyable read and I plan to continue on to book 2 the Iron Maiden in the series.

Like Reblog Comment
show activity (+)
review 2018-02-05 22:18
"Third Time Lucky and other stories of the most powerful wizard in the world" by Tanya Huff
Third Time Lucky: And Other Stories of the Most Powerful Wizard in the World - Tanya Huff

Tanya Huff is one of my favourite SF/Fantasy writers.  I loved her trope-twisting "Blood" series with Detective Vicki Nelson encountering everything from Werewolves to Mummies, her "Confederation / Peacekeeper" series where Gunnery Sergeant Torin Kerr delivers military SF that isn't just about winning and her "Gale Women" series where the world is saved on a regular basis by women who know how to unleash magic.

 

Two of the things I like most about her writing is the way she uses humour and the way she subverts patriarchal power models. Her women are powerful but they use their power in very different ways than their male counterparts and they love pricking pomposity.

 

I jumped at the opportunity to go back to a collection of stories written at the start of her career and see how far these two elements were already present. What I found were some light, fun stories that made me smile both because they are witty in a relaxed, slightly bawdy sort of way and because they disassemble traditional power models with a wink and a cocky smile.

 

Magdelene, the central character of the seven stories in "Third Time Lucky", is the most powerful wizard in the world. Fortunately for everyone concerned, she is also the laziest wizard in the world. She is more interested in living in a climate that requires little by way of clothing and is populated by well-muscled men who know how to sing than she is in world domination.

 

I read the stories in the order they're published in the book, which is the order that Tanya Huff wrote them in, rather than the chronological order of the stories. This, together with the notes from the author at the start of each tale, let me watch how Tanya Huff's idea of Magdelene developed between the first story in 1985 and the last in 2001.

 

They all made me smile and they all made me look again at power models - the one where Magdelene encounters a wizard bureaucracy I found to be particularly cutting.

If you're a Tany Huff fan, take the time to read this collection.

 

If you're not a Tanya Huff fan yet, read this collection for a gentle introduction to someone who sees the world differently and makes you glad to be in her company.

Like Reblog Comment
show activity (+)
text 2018-02-04 16:23
The Blue Sword by Robin McKinley $1.99
The Blue Sword - Robin McKinley

The Blue Sword introduces the desert kingdom of Damar, where magic weaves through the blood and weaves together destinies. New York Times–bestselling and award-winning author Robin McKinley sets the standard for epic fantasy and compelling, complex heroines. Fans of Sarah J. Maas, Leigh Bardugo, and Rae Carson will delight in discovering the rich world of Damar.

 

Harry Crewe is a Homelander orphan girl, come to live in Damar from over the seas. She is drawn to the bleak landscape, so unlike the green hills of her Homeland. She wishes she might cross the sands and climb the dark mountains where no Homelander has ever set foot, where the last of the old Damarians, the Free Hillfolk, live.

 

Corlath is the golden-eyed king of the Free Hillfolk, son of the sons of the legendary Lady Aerin. When he arrives in Harry’s town to ally with the Homelanders against a common enemy, he never expects to set Harry’s destiny in motion: She will ride into battle as a King’s Rider, bearing the Blue Sword, the great mythical treasure, which no one has wielded since Lady Aerin herself.

 

Legends and myths, no matter how epic, no matter how magical, all begin somewhere.

Like Reblog Comment
show activity (+)
text 2018-02-01 19:53
Latest re-listen finished
Ancillary Sword - Ann Leckie,Adjoa Andoh

Nothing much new that I can say about it. I still love Mercy of Kalr and the enormous mess that is Tisarwat. And Seivarden, although she's really not in this one much. I really like Adjoa Andoh as Breq, even though there are times when she puts more emotion into Breq's lines than the text itself says should be there. That's pretty much it.

 

Now, time to pick my next audiobook. I don't think I'm going to re-listen to Ancillary Mercy next, unless none of the other stuff in my collection appeals to me.

Like Reblog Comment
show activity (+)
text 2018-01-29 20:21
Relistening: 5 hours and 56 minutes in (a little over halfway)
Ancillary Sword - Ann Leckie,Adjoa Andoh

Time for the funeral/fasting, my least favorite part of the book. On the plus side, I generally like Adjoa Andoh's voice (in this book, pretty much everything but her voices for Raughd, Fosyf, and Dlique). That makes this especially slow part a little better. Still, I can't wait for Breq to get back to the station.

More posts
Your Dashboard view:
Need help?