logo
Wrong email address or username
Wrong email address or username
Incorrect verification code
back to top
Search tags: rec-d-by-alex
Load new posts () and activity
Like Reblog Comment
url 2018-08-06 08:05
Best BlockChain Training Course | KVCH Noida – Placement Assistant
How to Program a Block Chain Explorer with Python and Bitcoin - Alex Gorale
Block chain: A Beginners Guide to Mastering the Hidden Economy - David Glant
BlockChain - Learn Block Chain Technolog... BlockChain - Learn Block Chain Technology Quickly: What you need to know in an hour - Daniel Reed

KVCH Company delivers best BlockChain training course with live project in Noida for Btech, BCA, MCA, BBA, MBA. The skilled development company has been recently entered in the list of top five BlockChain training institute in Noida. We provide free demo classes and Provide job placement.

Call us for free demo: 9510860860

visit our website -https://kvch.in/best-blockchain-training-in-noida.html

 

Like Reblog Comment
show activity (+)
url 2018-04-26 19:51
The Great American Read: America’s 100 most-loved books
Anne of Green Gables Novels #1 - L.M. Montgomery
I, Alex Cross - James Patterson
A Separate Peace - John Knowles
The Eye of the World - Robert Jordan
Charlotte's Web - E.B. White,Garth Williams,Rosemary Wells
Moby Dick - Herman Melville,Frank Muller
The Martian - Andy Weir
The Hobbit & The Lord of the Rings - J.R.R. Tolkien
The Hunger Games - Suzanne Collins
The Sun Also Rises - Ernest Hemingway

Voting starts May 22 and ends October 2018.  See link for more of the 100 nominees.

 

I'm about this but do wish they had done it by categories or even time periods (I.e., published before 1900, before 1950, before 2000, type of splits).  I agree that those are 100 of the most read, most popular and even most influential books.

 

I just mean it's weird seeing beloved childhood books like Charlotte's Web and Anne of Green Gables up against Carch 22, Then There Were None, and long running contemporary series like Alex Cross and Wheel of Time?

 

Then the hordes of fans for Twilight, Fifty Shades of Gray, Pride and Prejudice, Harry Potter  ...

 

(I am not at all disrespecting Harry Potter; frankly I think those books are responsible for an entire generation of readers.  It's just weird to see it up against the other nominees.)

 

How would you vote -- a childhood favorite that made you a reader or your favorite recent read?

Source: www.pbs.org/the-great-american-read/books/#
Like Reblog Comment
show activity (+)
url 2017-06-16 22:16
The right stories can fight Trump on climate change
The Myth Gap: What Happens When Evidence and Arguments Aren’t Enough - Alex Evans
Source: www.penguin.co.uk/articles/features/2017/jun/right-stories-fight-trump-climate-change
Like Reblog Comment
show activity (+)
url 2017-05-16 20:26
44 new books in series today
Testimony - Scott Turow
World Without End (!Hero Trilogy) - Ross Lawhead,Mark Gilroy,Stephen R. Lawhead
Vanguard - Jack Campbell
Hospitality and Homicide (A Tourist Trap Mystery) - Lynn Cahoon
The Ultimatum (The Guardian Book 1) - Karen Robards
Raised in Fire (Fire and Ice Trilogy) (Volume 2) - K.F. Breene
Thick As Thieves - Megan Whalen Turner
Under Pressure - Alex Morgan

Highlighted a few in this post ; see http://www.fictfact.com/BookReleaseCalendar for the rest and the series info.

Source: www.fictfact.com/BookReleaseCalendar
Like Reblog Comment
url 2016-06-25 22:14
After Anna Review!
After Anna - Alex Lake

http://angelerin.blogspot.com/2016/06/after-anna-by-alex-lake-arc-review.html

 

Thank you to Edelweiss and HarperCollins for providing an ebook copy of After Anna By: Alex Lake in exchange for an honest review! 

 

Well here I am with another book that fits my mystery/thriller mood.  I'm not sure why all of a sudden I've been really in the mood for this genre, especially since I usually prefer them when it's cold outside. Regardless, here goes another one and it was a good one!

#AndAnotherOne

 

I enjoyed After Anna quite a bit. It's another thriller with the missing child trope that I like. That trope is magnificently done in this book. The suspense is killer while Anna is missing and even after Anna is returned there is still plenty of suspense! 

#Killer?GetIt?LOL!

 

One thing that the author did really well in this book is make you feel for the main character,  Julia.  I really felt for her throughout the novel and not just a little bit either. Poor Julia. Her child went missing, she's the one who was supposed to pick Anna up from school on time, and she has to deal with a lot of jerks. I was just as LIVID as Julia (at two characters in particular) while reading the book. Really the writing in this book is just on point!

#IAmFrightenedByHowMadIGotAtFictionalCharacters

 

So here's the big question. Did I guess the twist? That's always the question when it comes to books like After Anna, right? Well guess what, I didn't guess the twist! I love when I'm taken completely by surprise, even if I feel like I SHOULD have known. The whole ending is delightfully disturbing and perfect. 

#ThatTwistWasTwisted

 

Overall After Anna is a mystery/thriller that is worth the read! The only negative thing I could possibly say about the book is I think the tagline, "The real nightmare starts when her daughter is returned..." is a bit misleading. I was thinking something would be WRONG with the daughter when she came back and that is not the case. Other than that, this was a perfect book to help satisfy my mystery/thriller mood. 

#Satisfying

 

I recommend After Anna for fans of Remember Mia, S is for Stranger, and (of course) Gone Girl. 

#IWantToStopComparingBooksToGoneGirlButICan't

More posts
Your Dashboard view:
Need help?