logo
Wrong email address or username
Wrong email address or username
Incorrect verification code
back to top
Search tags: romcom
Load new posts () and activity
Like Reblog Comment
show activity (+)
review 2016-12-28 04:40
Review: Miss Wrong and Mr Right by Robert Bryndza
Miss Wrong and Mr Right - Robert Bryndza

Published by: Bookouture (15 December 2016) 

 

ISBN: 978-1786811080

 

Source: NetGalley

 

Rating: 4.5*

 

Synopsis:

Natalie Love has worked hard to have it all. She runs a successful London theatre that's about to host one of Hollywood's leading stars, Ryan Harrison. She’s pretty sure she’s found her man in yoga boyfriend Benjamin, despite his annoying habit of saying Namaste! every time he speaks. And her eccentric, glamorous Gran is always on hand to offer sage advice and steaming bowls of goulash. Life in the bright lights of London has always been Natalie's escape from her chaotic country family in rural Devon and Jamie, the childhood sweetheart she left at the altar fifteen years ago. Until he turns up at her theatre door... Jamie is in town producing a West End show and with rivalry suddenly clouding old feelings, this isn’t quite the reunion Natalie was expecting. Will Benjamin prove to be Natalie’s perfect match? With Ryan turning her head, Natalie is more confused than ever. And what about Jamie – could he be her second chance at first love?

 

Review:

I'm a big fan of the author's crime series but have only just discovered his romcoms through finding this available on NetGalley. I don't generally read much chick-lit but do enjoy the odd bit of light relief from my regular crime/horror/psychological thriller type books every once in a while! 

The author has a great way of building characters that seem so real, and Natalie is no exception. I adore her Gran, she's an absolute delight! I like both Jamie and Ryan, can't choose between them. No wonder Natalie's so confused! 

There are some real laugh out loud moments here as well as some that will make you chuckle to yourself or even just smile. I know I'll be checking out Rob's other offerings in this genre to see what I've been missing out on! Thanks to Bookouture, NetGalley and the author for the ARC in return for my honest review.

 

 

Like Reblog Comment
video 2016-03-05 21:26

Sex, Love & Dating Disasters The Flood by Steven Scaffardi | Official Book Trailer

 

One bet, four girls, eight weeks, multiple dates. What could possibly go wrong?

Following his traumatic eight month dry spell, Dan Hilles is back in the driving seat and ready to put his dating disasters behind him.
 
But if only it were that simple.
 
After a drunken afternoon in the pub, fuelled by the confidence of alcohol, Dan makes a bet with his three best pals that will complicate his love-life more than ever when he brazenly declares that he could juggle multiple women all at the same time.
 
With just eight weeks to prove his point, Dan is about to find out how hard it is to date a flood of women without them all finding out about each other, especially when they come in the shape of an ex-girlfriend, a stalker, the office ice queen and the one that got away.
 
The Flood is the hilarious follow-up to The Drought by lad lit author Steven Scaffardi, chronicling the adventures of unlucky-in-love Dan Hilles. Available at Amazon and all good book retailers from January 2016.

Source: stevenscaffardi.blogspot.co.uk
Like Reblog Comment
video 2016-03-05 21:19

Sex, Love & Dating Disasters: The Drought by Steven Scaffardi | Official Book Trailer

 

Steven Scaffardi's The Drought is the laugh-out-loud tale of one man's quest to overcome the throes of a sexual drought. After the stormy break-up with his girlfriend of three years, Dan Hilles is faced with the daunting task of throwing himself back into the life of a single man. With the help of his three best pals, Dan is desperate and determined to get his leg-over with hilarious consequences!

Source: stevenscaffardi.blogspot.co.uk
Like Reblog Comment
show activity (+)
review 2016-02-21 16:07
The New Guy (and Other Senior Year Distractions)/Amy Spalding
The New Guy (and Other Senior Year Distr... The New Guy (and Other Senior Year Distractions) - Amy Spalding

A ridiculously cute, formerly-famous new guy dropping into your life? It's practically every girl's dream.

But not Jules McCallister-Morgan's.

I realize that on paper I look like your standard type-A, neurotic, overachiever. And maybe I am. But I didn't get to be the editor of my school's long-revered newspaper by just showing up*. I have one main goal for my senior year-early acceptance into my first choice Ivy League college-and I will not be deterred by best friends, moms who think I could stand to "live a little," or boys.

At least, that was the plan before I knew about Alex Powell**.

And before Alex Powell betrayed me***.

I know what you're thinking: Calm down, Jules. But you don't understand. This stuff matters. This is my life. And I'm not going down without a fight.

* Okay, I sort of did. But it's a sore subject.

** I mean, I guess everyone knows about Alex Powell? Two years ago, you couldn't go anywhere without hearing about viral video boy band sensation Chaos 4 All. Two years ago, Alex Powell was famous.

***Some people think I'm overreacting. But this. Means. War.

Filled with romance, rivalry, and passive-aggressive dog walking, Amy Spalding delivers a hilariously relatable high school story that's sure to have you falling for The New Guy.

 

This was a really cute book, but I felt like there were some aspects that felt a little juvenile or unreal.

 

The relationship between Alex and Jules progressed way too fast since Jules supposedly was completely against boys and not at all interested in Alex. It would have been a lot more fun to see them have a longer period of flirting and of Jules trying not to fall for him. She ended up seeming just a total pushover in his regard; one kiss from him, and she's forgotten all of the reasons she had decided not to kiss him.

 

I felt like there were a lot of conflicts that just were solved too easily, that in real life would have been blown up a lot bigger and required a lot more discussion and solving than actually happened. If one has a huge conflict with their best friend, simply having dinner doesn't make it all better. I was frustrated by the lack of realism.

 

The main plot was a conflict over a dying newspaper, but the ending was honestly what I had thought of at the beginning and thus the entire conflict felt much more middle school than high school. I was also surprised by how many characters got involved within the conflict.

 

This was cute and I think the author has potential, but I felt that there were aspects that could have made it into a stronger YA rom com.

 

I received a free copy of this book in exchange for an honest review.

Like Reblog Comment
show activity (+)
review 2016-02-21 13:50
Someone Else's Love Letter/Deborah Blumenthal
Someone Else's Love Letter - Deborah Blumenthal

Fixing your wardrobe is a dream job. Fixing your life is a work of art.

Sage Parker has the perfect occupation for a Manhattanite―she helps the rich and powerful keep their wardrobes current and suitable for every need. Her sense of fashion is impeccable, her connections are unsurpassed, and her eye misses not a single well-made stitch.

So when she discovers a love note left in the back of a cab, Sage admires the card stock and the ink, but also the heartfelt words. She sets out on a mission to find out who the love note was intended for―and who wrote it.

What Sage discovers will broaden her horizons and change her life, introducing her to an extraordinary woman who is revamping her entire world midway through life, a dashing Brit with a hive of secrets, and a free-spirited painter, whose brush captures the light in everything he paints, including Sage.

Fans of Isabel Wolff and Kathleen Tessaro will be hopelessly enchanted with Sage Parker and this mesmerizing, heartfelt novel of bold fashion and bolder choices.

Though the plot was a little more convoluted than I had expected, this was a fun and flirty rom com.

 

I'm not usually entertained by characters who have jobs like wardrobe designing; however, Sage really made this work and I almost felt inspired to go out and get a similar job. Sage made it so much about her clients' personalities and I loved seeing how they changed throughout the novel and how with her style advise she was able to shape their futures for the better.

 

The convoluted path following the letter brought forward mild hilarity with some unexpected results. Of course it was a challenge to track down the author of a love letter that just mysteriously happened to appear on the floor of a cab, but the book wasn't entirely about the chase.

 

The guy she's looking for is fantastically played, with a very stubborn personality that made me immediately like him. There were several scenes in which he won me over completely based on his total oblivion to what she was expecting, and I appreciated how he made his own decisions.

 

I definitely recommend this one for a quick and amusing read.

I received a free copy of this book in exchange for an honest review.

More posts
Your Dashboard view:
Need help?