logo
Wrong email address or username
Wrong email address or username
Incorrect verification code
back to top
Search tags: spinning-out
Load new posts () and activity
Like Reblog Comment
show activity (+)
review 2017-11-11 23:48
Over a month behind...yikes!
Spinning - Tillie Walden,Tillie Walden

Tillie Walden's Spinning is a graphic novel/memoir in the vein of Blankets or Stitches, err, with less child abuse. It chronicles the author's competitive experience with figure skating as a child, falling in love, learning how to communicate, and the changes she was undergoing and why she ultimately felt like she had to leave the sport behind.

 

Despite also being an introvert and being on the queer spectrum, the only pieces of Walden's experience that I could personally relate to were parental indifference to sports involvement. I, of course, used that as an excuse to never play any sports past 3rd grade. This is also one of the first books I can immediately tell has been created by someone younger than my generation. There's a quality to the book, not to mention the ubiquity of handheld smart electronics, that I can't pinpoint that made me feel ancient. It was a great experience.

 

This was a great find, highly recommended for any teen reader (or older) looking for a good coming of age story. Walden's storytelling transcends any pigeon-holes a bookseller may be tempted to use to categorize her book.

Like Reblog Comment
show activity (+)
review 2017-08-26 14:09
Grief
Spinning Out (The Blackhawk Boys) - Lexi Ryan

Arrow is reeling from all the changes going on in his life.  He is on house arrest.  He is in love with someone he has to see everyday.  He cannot tell her how he feels.  And it is killing him.

 

Mia has a lot go on as well.  She took a job from her father's enemy.  She is trying to get through school.  She is also dealing with the man who makes her hot sleeping next door.

 

These characters are really hot!  This story makes me want to cry and scream all at the same time.  I was pleased with the banter, heat and pace.  I cannot wait to read more in The Blackhawk Boys series.  I give this book 3/5 Kitty's Paws UP!

Like Reblog Comment
show activity (+)
review 2016-05-03 18:11
Spinning Out (The Blackhawk Boys #1) by Lexi Ryan
Spinning Out (The Blackhawk Boys) - Lexi Ryan

 Lexi Ryan’s Spinning Out is a touching and amazing beginning to The Blackhawk Boys Series.  Arrow Woodison had the perfect life until a tragedy caused his life to spin out of control.  He is confined to his father’s house under house arrest trying to get his life back in order.  His only light is unattainable, Mia Mendez, his best friend, Brogan Barrett’s, girlfriend and little sister Katie’s live-in nanny.  I LOVED Spinning Out.  This story had me crying on multiple pages.  Some of the things that happen in this novel are heartbreaking and tragic.  This contemporary sport romance is suitable for new adult and adult audiences.  It takes place in Blackhawk Valley.

 

Lexi Ryan’s character development is detailed and multilayered.  I love Arrow.  He was a rising football star, expected to go high in the draft until an accident causes him to spiral doing drugs and throwing his life away.  He is grief-stricken and tormented.  He is in the spotlight, and everyone has their opinions of him.  Mia is sweet and caring.  She met Arrow before Brogan and always had a spot in her heart for him.  She is loyal.  She wants to clear her brother Nic’s name.  Every character has his or her purpose.  There is so much going on with lots of substance.  All the characters have their strengths and weaknesses.  Everyone is very human.

 

The plot was amazing and perfectly executed.  I love how the chapters went back and forth in the time line to unravel the story.  Spinning Out is extremely believable.  I like how the different characters all interrelated.  The story had humor, drama, and mystery.  I love the texts.  Arrow’s elegy had me in tears. Spinning Out shows how people can influence one another, especially people we think care about us or are in a position of power.  Spinning Out is a thought-provoking and stirring start The Blackhawk Boys Series.  This is the first book I read by Lexi Ryan.  It will not be the last.  I cannot wait for Christopher's story in book two, Rushing In and Sebastian's story in book three, Going Under.

 

Complimentary copy provided by NetGalley in exchange for an honest review.

Like Reblog Comment
review 2016-04-29 00:00
Spinning Gold
Spinning Gold - Elpie (Horribibble) Spinning Gold - Elpie (Horribibble) An engaging little fic with Peter cast in the Rumpelstiltskin role and Stiles as omega shut in a tower with a heap of straw to spin into gold. Gerard Argent is perfectly cast as the the evil greedy king.
Like Reblog Comment
show activity (+)
text 2016-04-05 09:00
Cover Reveal! Perfect Paige (The Spinning Sisters #1) Inés Saint

 

Are you ready? Are you ready for this?

Are you hanging on to the edge of you seat?

THE COVER!

 

 

Perfect Paige-Goodreads    

Available for Pre-order:

Amazon     B&N     Kobo     BAM     !ndigo

 

Website     Goodreads     Twitter

 

Tour Schedule:

 

The Recipe Fairy

Stormy Vixen’s Book Reviews

Bound 2 Escape

Mythical Books

Live Love Books Blog

Around the World in Books

The Review From Here

Bent Over Bookwords

Literal Exposure

I’m Shelf-ish

A Title Wave

A Taste of My Mind

Voodoo Princess

My Bookish Pleasures

Harmonious Publicity

Write and Take Flight

From Paperback to Leatherbound

The Literary Nook

The Dark Phantom

 

   

Literary Addicts     Goodreads      Facebook      Facebook Stormy Vixen 

Twitter     Tumblr     Google+     Pintrest   

 BookLikes Stormy Vixen     Amazon  

Night Owl Reviews     The Romance Reviews

 

 

More posts
Your Dashboard view:
Need help?