Wrong email address or username
Wrong email address or username
Incorrect verification code
back to top
Search tags: susan-cooper
Load new posts () and activity
Like Reblog Comment
review 2017-07-25 00:00
The Dark is Rising: The Complete Sequence (The Dark is Rising, #1-5)
The Dark is Rising: The Complete Sequence (The Dark is Rising, #1-5) - Susan Cooper Some of these volumes, the ones involving Will, the Old One, are more like 4 stars. Epic struggle of the Light against the Dark with Arthurian touches. The depth of imagination and description is very well done in the Will parts, especially the second and fourth books.
Like Reblog Comment
text 2017-03-01 15:50
22 New Series Releases Today (March 1, 2017)
Very Important Corpses - Simon R. Green
Sizzling Summer Nights - Debbi Rawlins
Best Served Cold: A small town Police Procedural set in Oklahoma - Susan Rogers Cooper
The Bastards and the Knives (Gentleman Bastard, #0) - Scott Lynch
Future Threat - Elizabeth Briggs

Taken from https://www.fictfact.com/BookReleaseCalendar , new series releases today are:


A Finely Crafted Murder - Stacey Alabaster, #3 in Craft Circle Cozy


A Perfect View (CICI: A Fairy's Tale) - Cori Doerrfeld,Cori Doerrfeld,Tyler Page Agent-in-Training (Classified K-9 Unit) - Terri Reed An Unjust Judge: A Mystery set in 16th century Ireland (A Burren Mystery) - Cora Harrison  

A Perfect View - Cori Doerrfeld,Cori Doerrfeld, #3 in Cici: A Fairy's Tale

Agent-in-Training - Terri Reed, #1 in Classified K-9 Unit

An Unjust Judge - Cora Harrison, #14 in Burren Mysteries


Before He Takes (A Mackenzie White Mystery-Book 4) - Blake Pierce Best Served Cold: A small town Police Procedural set in Oklahoma (A Milt Kovak Mystery) - Susan Rogers Cooper Bodhi's Synful Mate, Iron Wolves MC Book 6 - Elle Boon  

Before He Takes - Blake Pierce , #4 in Mackenzie White

Best Served Cold - Susan Rogers Cooper, #14 in Milt Kovak

Bodhi's Synful Mate - Elle Boon, #6 in Iron Wolves MC


Time Jumpers (Five Kingdoms) - Brandon Mull Burning Springs (Firefly Hollow Series Book 13) - T. L. Haddix  Enigma of Fire (Berdie Elliott Mysteries) - Marilyn Leach  

Time Jumpers (Five Kingdoms) - Brandon Mull, #5 in Five Kingdoms

Burning Springs - T. L. Haddix, #13 in Firefly Hollow

Enigma of Fire - Marilyn Leach, #4 in Berdie Elliott Mystery


R.R. Haywood
#1 in Extracted


Future Shock
Elizabeth Briggs
#1 in Future Shock


Future Threat
Elizabeth Briggs
#2 in Future Shock


Alexis Noelle
#5 in Deathstalkers MC


Never Say Die
Michele Bardsley
#3 in Wizards of Nevermore


Sizzling Summer Nights
Debbi Rawlins
#20 in Made in Montana


Take It Back
Tonya Burrows
#1 in Outlaw Recovery


The Bastards and the Knives
Scott Lynch
#0.5 in Gentleman Bastard


The Bone Witch
Rin Chupeco
#1 in The Bone Witch


The Innocent's Secret Baby
Carol Marinelli
#1 in Billionaires & One-Night Heirs


To End All Wars
P. S. Power
#7 in Gwen Farris


Very Important Corpses
Simon R Green
#3 in Ishmael Jones Mystery




Source: www.fictfact.com/BookReleaseCalendar
Like Reblog Comment
review 2017-01-15 00:00
Silver on the Tree (The Dark Is Rising Sequence, Book Five)
Silver on the Tree (The Dark Is Rising Sequence, Book Five) - Susan Cooper I’ve read this entire series by audiobook, and while I enjoyed it, I really think I need to go back and read them as books. Sometimes I would have gaps of days in between my listening within a book, and gaps of weeks or even months between the books themselves, so I got a little confused. The whole series seems a bit un-explained, to me, and I’m really kind of perplexed that I couldn’t get as into it as so many other people. I didn’t like the way the point of view jumped back and forth between the Drew kids and Will, I didn’t like the way the “magic” was never fully explained (at least not to my satisfaction), and I didn’t like the characters themselves much! I was especially affronted by how the female characters are either air headed (Jane) or magical. Why is this series considered to be so brilliant? I really feel like I’m missing something.

Despite that, I stuck it out for the entire series and was fascinated by the setting of Wales and England. I think that, given how short the books are, I will go back and re-read them at some point. I think maybe all my gaps in reading effected my comprehension of the plot. I really don’t think anything can rescue the characters though.
Wait WHAT. That was NOT an acceptable ending, AT ALL!! *sniff*
Like Reblog Comment
show activity (+)
review 2016-05-30 17:04
The Grey King ★★★☆☆
The Grey King - Susan Cooper

"The boys stood frozen, gazing at him in horror; he was not for that moment a human being, but a frenzied creature possessed by rage, turned into an animal. All that could be seen in him was the urge to hurt, and it was, as it always will be, the most dreadful sight in the world."


My parents sent me to visit for a week with my grandparents, every summer, when I was a girl. I think they wanted to give us the opportunity to get to know one another, but my grandfather was mostly absent and my stepgrandmother treated me very politely as a stranger who was a guest in her home. I spent most of my time alone, reading and rereading my dad's old juvenile books, wandering around the house, and playing pretend in their marvelous back yard. One summer, she bought me this book, possibly in hopes that it would keep me busy and out of her hair for the week. She probably selected this one because it had a picture of a dog and the Newberry medal on the cover. It was certainly a challenge; it was my first exposure to contemporary high fantasy, the Welsh language, and it was the 4th of a 5 book series. It was fascinating and maddening - the story made little sense without the context of the previous 3 books - and that sense of frustration has stayed with me all these years. Now the mystery is solved, but it's a little anticlimactic to experience the full story as an adult, reading books meant for children. 


The Grey King is the best of the series so far. The prose is evocative, within the limitations of the simple language used for a child's story. The overarching theme of this book is reflected in the quote above - the gods can be terrible in using humans as pawns in their wars, but humans still have free will, and sometimes use it in ways even more terrible than the gods. I was surprised that the concept of rape is alluded to in this children's book, but it is referred to so obliquely that, in my first reading, my childish mind didn't realize what was actually being referred to, only that a man had hurt a woman by trying to possess her against her will. But like the rest of the series, the story suffers from poorly developed world-building that allows the protagonists to access and use their powers and knowledge by just suddenly remembering or acting on instinct. 


The first three books: 

Over Sea, Under Stone (not reviewed)

The Dark is Rising



Like Reblog Comment
show activity (+)
review 2016-05-20 11:35
Greenwitch ★★★★☆
Greenwitch - Susan Cooper

This third book in the Dark is Rising series is more interesting than the previous, probably because there's much less exposition and the addition of Wild Magic to the plain old Light vs Dark spiced up the storytelling. And the connection between the little girl and the Greenwitch is far more engaging than the main conflict. 

More posts
Your Dashboard view:
Need help?