logo
Wrong email address or username
Wrong email address or username
Incorrect verification code
back to top
Search tags: train
Load new posts () and activity
Like Reblog Comment
show activity (+)
review 2020-01-05 18:44
The burden of guilt
Strangers on a Train - Patricia Highsmith

In the tradition of Crime and Punishment, this book concentrates more on the psychological impact of guilt on an otherwise healthy mind than on the murders. Charles is a disturbing yet believable villain, while Guy makes an interesting anti-hero. Few of the other characters are developed beyond two dimensions but somehow that doesn't impact negatively on the story.

Like Reblog Comment
show activity (+)
review 2019-12-12 00:07
Freight Train
Freight Train - Donald Crews,Donald Crews

When I started reading Freight Train I could not figure out why it was on so many best of lists. Then I hit the middle and I definitely got it.  Yes, yes, yes. So give the book a chance if you haven't read it. It's surprisingly creative and fun and solid in the concepts. 

Like Reblog Comment
show activity (+)
review 2019-12-09 23:00
GHOST TRAIN by Stephen Laws, narrated by Hannibal Hills
Ghost Train - Hannibal Hills,Valancourt Books,Stephen Laws

GHOST TRAIN was a blast from the past!

 

Originally written in the 80's, when I first read the synopsis of this book I knew I had to have it. It appeared on offer from the folks at AUDIOBOOK BOOM in exchange for my honest feedback and here it is:

 

I loved the story-it had all the excitement, that awesome over the top 80's cheese, gory deaths, and excellent characters. (That last one is something that a lot of horror from that time period lacked.) I loved almost everything about it, except for that weird, kind of out of place exorcism, but that was easily overlooked amidst all the action.

 

I must admit that this narrator didn't quite do it for me. The book was fast paced and fun, but at those exciting moments, a few of the character voices grated on my nerves. Other than that though, this novel was a heck of a lot of 80's horror fun and I recommend it!

 

Recommended-especially to fans of bloody, fast-paced 80's horror!

 

 

Get your copy here: GHOST TRAIN

 

*Thanks to Audiobook Boom and the narrator for the Audible code, in exchange for my honest feedback. This is it!*

Like Reblog Comment
show activity (+)
review 2019-11-23 19:23
Something Wicked This Way Comes - Ray Bradbury
Something Wicked This Way Comes - Ray Bradbury

The prologue begins with an opening line reminiscent of A Christmas Carol: "First of all, it was October, a rare time for boys."

Forty or so years ago I read this and identified with the boys, of course I did. This time I couldn't. So it was just a bunch of wordplay and monologuing and there was no horror to it anywhere, just an ad for an imaginary place I wouldn't be welcome. He did say some nice things about libraries, though, so I'm giving it a couple of stars.

Library copy

Like Reblog Comment
show activity (+)
text 2019-10-23 18:56
Halloween Bingo 2019: Twenty Fourth Extra Square
Strangers on a Train - Patricia Highsmith,Bronson Pinchot

 

More posts
Your Dashboard view:
Need help?