logo
Wrong email address or username
Wrong email address or username
Incorrect verification code
back to top
Search tags: up-all-night
Load new posts () and activity
Like Reblog Comment
show activity (+)
review 2017-07-06 01:43
Kings of the Castle - Victoria TurnbullĀ 
Kings of the Castle - Victoria Turnbull

An homage to Where The Wild Things Are with less rumpus. A good choice for a quiet book about staying up all night. Very attractive, especially the centerfold.

 

Library copy

Like Reblog Comment
show activity (+)
review 2017-01-18 20:42
Another Day - David Levithan
Another Day - David Levithan

Many stories move too quickly for characters to stop and think, but I always love seeing thought on the page or on the film. There’s a lot of thinking here. Faced with an extremely weird situation, a highschool student stops, repeatedly, to consider fresh information and fresh experiences, to see how they fit in: is she comfortable with this? How does that work? Would you really? And also, friends are terribly important to the story, which could easily be ignored in favor of a love triangle.

It's a very grounded and realistic book for one with such a high-concept basis.

Library copy

Like Reblog Comment
review 2016-03-31 00:00
Up All Night (Love You Like A Love Song, Book 3)
Up All Night (Love You Like A Love Song,... Up All Night (Love You Like A Love Song, Book 3) - Michele Callahan A deeply moving story. Mitchell had made some choices in his life that he regrets and feels guilty for. At the time he did not realize the impact that one wrong move would have on his future and that of his family. Vowing never to end up in a similar situation, he safeguards himself emotionally by not letting anyone get to close. That is until he finally meets the one woman who can break through his barriers and see the man inside. Up All Night is a story that reiterates the theme of forgiveness. Mitchell made mistakes but in order to move on from them, he had to stop running and face them head on. That was part of his healing process. Falling in love is not easy. No one is perfect, but the challenge is accepting the good with the bad. Food for thought.
Like Reblog Comment
show activity (+)
review 2016-03-06 17:33
The Girl Who Could Not Dream - Sarah Beth Durst
The Girl Who Could Not Dream - Sarah Beth Durst

Dreams are weird, but how much weirder would it be not to dream? Ever? Something bad has happened, and now Sophie has to try to rescue her parents and make everything right again with the help of a snarky little monster and the first friends she's ever made.

 

Fun, a little creepy without being too creepy, a strong adventure story. With an absolutely fabulous monster. An excellent choice for fans of Monsters, Inc.

 

Library copy

Like Reblog Comment
show activity (+)
review 2015-05-31 17:43
Horrorstor - Grady Hendrix
Horrorstor - Grady Hendrix

This is a book for anyone who revels in a well-designed book. It is a spot-on parody of Ikea Style: the naming conventions, the item descriptions, the focus on lifestyle. I particularly enjoyed the contrast between the front and rear covers. Seriously, the book earns five stars on art direction and layout alone.

But that's not all. You also get a scathing satire on big box stores, corporate business culture, and consumerism nicely balanced by a kind and nuanced view of the employees who keep the machine running. So, five stars for punching up with your jokes, Hendrix.

And, of course, five stars for the horror, which manages to be both very traditional, shades of Hill house, and modern, with a team out trying to shoot footage that will become a Ghost Hunters kind of reality show.

It's funny, it's creepy as hell, and it is spot-on. Enjoy.

Library copy

 

 

More posts
Your Dashboard view:
Need help?