logo
Wrong email address or username
Wrong email address or username
Incorrect verification code
The Big Brush-off: A Jake & Laura Mystery - Michael Murphy
The Big Brush-off: A Jake & Laura Mystery
by: (author)
3.75 20
The irresistible Jake & Laura return in Michael Murphy's witty, fast-paced mystery series—perfect for readers of Dorothy Cannell and Christopher Fowler. In The Big Brush-off, the charming and indomitable duo heads to the Midwest to solve a chilling cold case of a young girl's murder. Blackie... show more
The irresistible Jake & Laura return in Michael Murphy's witty, fast-paced mystery series—perfect for readers of Dorothy Cannell and Christopher Fowler. In The Big Brush-off, the charming and indomitable duo heads to the Midwest to solve a chilling cold case of a young girl's murder.

Blackie Doyle is dying. That's what Jake Donovan's literary agent tells him. Sales are falling, and the rough draft of Jake's latest Blackie novel doesn't look promising. Maybe Jake has been distracted by a recent barrage of real-life homicides, or by his marriage to the beautiful up-and-coming actress Laura Wilson, now slated for a part opposite Clark Gable himself. Whatever the reason, Jake decides to return to his roots. Which is why he and Laura hop the next train to the small town in Pennsylvania where Jake once worked as a Pinkerton detective.

Ten years ago, the murder of a teenage girl interrupted life in quiet, God-fearing Hanover. The unsolved case has always gnawed at Jake, and it seems no coincidence that as soon as he starts digging up old ghosts, he's once again writing like a dervish. Nor is it surprising that some townfolk would rather see the truth stay buried—and maybe even Jake and Laura with it. But the glamorous crime-solving pair refuse to leave before sorting through a bevy of suspects—and at long last nailing the one who almost got away with the not-so-perfect crime.
show less
Format: ebook
ISBN: 9780553393385 (0553393383)
ASIN: B00XG9BTC0
Publisher: Alibi
Pages no: 176
Edition language: English
Category:
Mystery, Crime
Bookstores:
Community Reviews
It's a Mad Mad World
It's a Mad Mad World rated it
3.5 The Big Brush-off by Michael Murphy
Jack & Laura are back in a new adventure! In this book, Jack and Laura travel to Hanover, Pennsylvania, because Jack needs somewhere where he can start a new Blackie Doyle book. His agent Mildred has strictly told him that he must write a really good book or less his contract won't be renewed. But...
debbiekrenzer
debbiekrenzer rated it
#TheBigBrush-Off Available 2/9/16 4 Stars @RandomHouse @mmurfy68 Yay, Jake and Laura are back. There's not a lot of name dropping this time as the scene is set in a small town. They are the ones who's names are being dropped. This time, Jake's novels are becoming lackluster and he's being asked ...
Books by Michael Murphy
On shelves
Share this Book
Need help?