logo
Wrong email address or username
Wrong email address or username
Incorrect verification code
The dirty parts of the Bible - Sam Torode
The dirty parts of the Bible
by: (author)
4.33 15
Semifinalist for the Amazon Breakthrough Novel Award The Dirty Parts of the Bible is a humorous novel set during the Great Depression---a rollicking tale of love and liquor, preachers and prostitutes, trains and treasure, sure to appeal to fans of Water for Elephants, O Brother Where... show more
Semifinalist for the Amazon Breakthrough Novel Award The Dirty Parts of the Bible is a humorous novel set during the Great Depression---a rollicking tale of love and liquor, preachers and prostitutes, trains and treasure, sure to appeal to fans of Water for Elephants, O Brother Where Art Thou?, Mark Twain, and Johnny Cash.Watch the video trailer at DirtyPartsoftheBible.com"While the title suggests a raunchy read, this rich and soulful novel is actually a rather well-done bildungsroman [coming-of-age story] steeped in wanderlust and whimsy that at times recalls The Adventures of Huckleberry Finn, and at others a tamer On the Road. The story begins in 1936 as 19-year-old Tobias is thumbing his way from Remus, Mich., to his uncle's farm in Glen Rose, Tex., to find a hidden bag of money, after his father, a Baptist pastor, drunkenly slams his car into the church and is removed from the parsonage. The author does an excellent job in making well-charted territory (riding the rails; scavenged campfire meals under the stars) seem vibrant and new. Snippets of scripture, Southern spirituals, and folk ballads lend context and flavor to the text. Most impressive are the jangly dialogue and the characters' distinctive voices, which are authentic and earthy but not remotely hoary. When Tobias finally arrives at his uncle's, the surprises that await him are more than enough to keep his--and readers'--interests piqued."  --Publisher's Weekly"I absolutely loved The Dirty Parts of the Bible.... [It's] a grown-up Mark Twain-type adventure with lots of spirit and humor." --Reader Views"[It] has lots of laughs and a few tears, and characters that are pure joy." --Front Street Reviews"A fun read" --The Nashville Scene
show less
Format: ebook
ISBN: 9781450567633 (1450567630)
ASIN: 1450567630
Publisher: Sam Torode Book Arts
Pages no: 280
Edition language: English
Bookstores:
Community Reviews
Book Wilde
Book Wilde rated it
4.0 The Dirty Parts of the Bible: A Novel
We have a sister and she hath no breastsSong of SolomonThe Dirty Parts of The Bible by Sam Torode is an audacious and fairly faithful retelling of Tobias, the Angel and Sarah from the Book of Tobit. Tobias, the son of a Baptist minister in small town 1930s Michigan, wrestles with hormones, spiritual...
Books by Sam Torode
On shelves
Share this Book
Need help?