logo
Wrong email address or username
Wrong email address or username
Incorrect verification code
The Happiness Project - Gretchen Rubin
The Happiness Project
by: (author)
1.00 10
“This book made me happy in the first five pages.” —AJ Jacobs, author of The Year of Living Biblically: One Man's Humble Quest to Follow the Bible as Literally as Possible Award-winning author Gretchen Rubin is back with a bang, with The Happiness Project. The author of the bestselling 40 Ways to... show more
“This book made me happy in the first five pages.” —AJ Jacobs, author of The Year of Living Biblically: One Man's Humble Quest to Follow the Bible as Literally as Possible Award-winning author Gretchen Rubin is back with a bang, with The Happiness Project. The author of the bestselling 40 Ways to Look at Winston Churchill has produced a work that is “a cross between the Dalai Lama’s The Art of Happiness and Elizabeth Gilbert’s Eat, Pray, Love.” (Sonya Lyubomirsky, author of The How of Happiness: A Scientific Approach to Getting the Life You Want) In the vein of Julie and Julia, The Happiness Project describes one person’s year-long attempt to discover what leads to true contentment. Drawing at once on cutting-edge science, classical philosophy, and real-world applicability, Rubin has written an engaging, eminently relatable chronicle of transformation.
show less
Format: kindle
ASIN: B002VJ9HRK
Publisher: HarperCollins
Pages no: 289
Edition language: English
Bookstores:
Community Reviews
Freda's Voice
Freda's Voice rated it
3.5 The Happiness Project by Gretchin Rubin
Well then...I wanted more from this book. I don't know, maybe I thought it was more self-help than memoir. I still enjoyed it though, just differently than I thought I would.I read through Gretchin's personal journey to happiness. She researched and put things to use that she learned, all in the nam...
Moonlight Reader
Moonlight Reader rated it
3.5 What makes Gretchen happy
This book was everywhere a few years ago. This wasn't a scribd book - I actually own it. I bought it a while back when my wonderful husband was having a bit of a life crisis and I thought that maybe it would provide me with some insight so I could help him through. His life crisis has passed, and I ...
An Un-Calibrated Centrifuge
An Un-Calibrated Centrifuge rated it
2.5 The Happiness Project
I'm most of the way through this book and will probably finish it. I've enjoyed parts but there's a lot of fluff in between the enjoyable bits. Also Rubin has used the word q***r twice already. This book was written in 2009. Use a different word (strange works nicely). There's so much overlap be...
Josiehime
Josiehime rated it
Did not finish this one, and I feel kinda bad about that. I really gave it the best chance I could. I was excited when I started reading it, but I had serious trouble relating to or liking the author. So I let it expire on my library download without really pushing myself to make it to the end. Mayb...
Lit Lovers Lane
Lit Lovers Lane rated it
5.0 The Happiness Project: Or, Why I Spent a Year Trying to Sing in the Morning, Clean My Closets, Fight Right, Read Aristotle, and Generally Have More Fun
The non-fiction stunt genre. Before I read this book, I’d never heard this term, which refers to the wave of new authors who undertake an activity for a period of time and then chronicle the process. The name lends a somewhat unsavory whiff to this literature...indeed many would die rather than call...
Other editions (21)
Books by Gretchen Rubin
On shelves
Share this Book
Need help?