logo
Wrong email address or username
Wrong email address or username
Incorrect verification code
The Paradise Guest House - Ellen Sussman
The Paradise Guest House
by: (author)
3.55 50
A riveting and poignant novel of one woman’s journey to Bali in search of love, renewal, and a place to call home—perfect for readers of Elizabeth Gilbert’s Eat, Pray, Love and Alex Garland’s The Beach.   It starts as a trip to paradise. Sent on assignment to Bali, Jamie, an American adventure... show more
A riveting and poignant novel of one woman’s journey to Bali in search of love, renewal, and a place to call home—perfect for readers of Elizabeth Gilbert’s Eat, Pray, Love and Alex Garland’s The Beach.   It starts as a trip to paradise. Sent on assignment to Bali, Jamie, an American adventure guide, imagines spending weeks exploring the island’s lush jungles and pristine white sand beaches. Yet three days after her arrival, she is caught in Bali’s infamous nightclub bombings, which irreparably change her life and leave her with many unanswered questions.   One year later, haunted by memories, Jamie returns to Bali seeking a sense of closure. Most of all, she hopes to find Gabe, the man who saved her from the attacks. She hasn’t been able to forget his kindness—or the spark between them as he helped her heal. Checking into a cozy guest house for her stay, Jamie meets the kindly owner, who is coping with a painful past of his own, and a young boy who improbably becomes crucial to her search. Jamie has never shied away from a challenge, but a second chance with Gabe presents her with the biggest dilemma of all: whether she’s ready to open her heart.   Look for special features inside. Join the Random House Reader’s Circle for author chats and more.Praise for The Paradise Guest House  “Two survivors of Bali’s terrorist bombing find love and spiritual rebirth on an island whose inhabitants believe in reincarnation in Sussman’s touching panorama of paradise. . . . Throughout, Sussman celebrates lovers, quiet healing, and the sweetness of the island and its people.”—Publishers Weekly (starred review)“A story of healing and redemption, of finding love in the most unexpected places, and of the importance of moving forward . . . Sussman has drawn a vivid, well-balanced portrait of a woman and a country working to recover from an unimaginable event and a very personal look at a global tragedy.”—Booklist   “Echoing Bali’s difficult recovery from [the 2002 terrorist bombing], the characters tread the difficult terrain of post-traumatic attachment. . . . A respectful and earnest . . . treatment of devastation’s aftermath.”—Kirkus Reviews   “[A] moving story about making sense of life after a tragedy . . . This touching tale will cause contemplation about what closure truly means.”—RT Book Reviews
show less
Format: paperback
ISBN: 9780345522818 (0345522818)
ASIN: 345522818
Publisher: Ballantine Books
Pages no: 288
Edition language: English
Bookstores:
Community Reviews
Abandoned by Booklikes
Abandoned by Booklikes rated it
3.0 The Paradise Guest House
"The Paradise Guest House" by Ellen Sussman was an okay read.I have been to Bali before and I was interested on Sussman's take on an American woman who survived the Bali nightclub bombings in 2002.The story revolves around two people. Jamie, an American adventure guide, and Gabe, an American ex-pat ...
Unabridged Chick
Unabridged Chick rated it
I'm not sure how to describe this book exactly: it's a beach-y romance at heart (literally featuring Bali's gorgeous beaches) featuring a hero and heroine damaged by loss and pain, set during and immediately after the October 12, 2002 terrorist bombings in Bali. I described this to a friend like ch...
Great Imaginations
Great Imaginations rated it
3.0 The Paradise Guest House: A Novel
Review: When I first started reviewing books way back when (seriously, more than 2 years ago), I won a copy of another Ellen Sussman book: French Lessons. Well. That book made me fall in love with the author's writing style. I don't know what it was about that book that made me love it, but I did. O...
Other editions (11)
Books by Ellen Sussman
On shelves
Share this Book
Need help?