logo
Wrong email address or username
Wrong email address or username
Incorrect verification code
The Sword and the Dragon - M.R. Mathias
The Sword and the Dragon
by: (author)
2.20 25
Read the reviews on this one, Jordan, Martin, and Hobbs, be wary. A new Fantasy Master has finally released his long written wares....Deemed one of the top 10 indie Fantasy releases of 2010 by Fantasy Book Critic, and listed in the first ever Publishers Weekly Indie Select issue, this 235k word... show more
Read the reviews on this one, Jordan, Martin, and Hobbs, be wary. A new Fantasy Master has finally released his long written wares....Deemed one of the top 10 indie Fantasy releases of 2010 by Fantasy Book Critic, and listed in the first ever Publishers Weekly Indie Select issue, this 235k word epic title was originally written in longhand in a Texas prison cell by M. R. Mathias.*Note: This title was fully revised in 2012.The Sword and the DragonWhen the Royal Wizard of Westland poisons the king so that his puppet prince can take the throne and start a continental war, a young squire is forced to run for his life carrying the powerful sword that his dying monarch burdened him with from the death bed.Two brothers find a magic ring and start on paths to becoming the most powerful sort of enemies, while an evil young sorceress unwillingly falls in love with one of them when he agrees to help her steal a dragon's egg for her father. Her father just happens to be the Royal Wizard, and despite his daughter's feelings, he would love nothing more than to sacrifice the boy! All of these characters, along with the Wolf King of Wildermont, the Lion Lord of Westland, and a magical hawk named Talon, are on a collision course toward Willa the Witch Queen's palace in the distant kingdom of Highwander. There the very bedrock is formed of the powerful magical substance called Wardstone. Who are the heroes? And will they get there before the Royal Wizard and his evil hordes do? Whatever happens, the journey will be spectacular, and the confrontation will be cataclysmic.*Enjoy the first 6 Chapters FREE of this 235k word (900 page) epic fantasy on your PC or Kindle device.  *A larger version of the Mainland Kingdoms Map can be found at  mrmathias.com  Thanks, M. R. Mathias
show less
Format: ebook
ISBN: 9781452444963
ASIN: B003X9775Q
Pages no: 522
Edition language: English
Series: The Wardstone Trilogy (#1)
Bookstores:
Community Reviews
Musefall
Musefall rated it
5.0 The Sword and the Dragon (Book One of The Wardstone Trilogy)
'The Sword and the Dragon' is an adventurous epic fantasy that does not disappoint. M. R. Mathias has created a fantasy world filled with complex and intriguing characters, and a plot that never slows down. There is much to enjoy with plenty of fantastic creatures, including dragons, and world build...
Red Dead Reademption
Red Dead Reademption rated it
1.0
Amazon suggested this based on a Dalglish book I downloaded. Gave it a try, got a few chapters in, and got bored. Just really kind of meh. Nothing grabbed my attention, nothing really stood out. Despite the stellar reviews, I'd file this one with Eragon. Same treatment of standard fantasy trop...
brianrathbone
brianrathbone rated it
5.0 The Sword and the Dragon (Revised) (The Wardstone Trilogy Book One)
In The Sword and the Dragon, M.R. Mathias paints a richly imagined world with bold, ambitious strokes. This is a complex fantasy adventure filled with a rich cast of characters and multiple distinct story lines. Fans of George R. R. Martin and Raymond Fiest will enjoy The Wardstone Trilogy.
Written Among The Stars
Written Among The Stars rated it
0.0
Normally this kind of book would be precisely up my alley since fantasy and epic fantasy are some of my favorite genres. However, I refuse to give an author business when they treat readers like children and value their own ego above anything else. Until I read the description on here I didn't eve...
Kerri
Kerri rated it
Still staying on my 'will-not-read' shelf. See comments.
Other editions (5)
Books by M.R. Mathias
On shelves
Share this Book
Need help?