logo
Wrong email address or username
Wrong email address or username
Incorrect verification code
The Wolf and the Watchman - Niklas Natt och Dag
The Wolf and the Watchman
by: (author)
4.10 25
In this breathtakingly bold, intricately constructed novel set in 18th century Stockholm, a dying man searches among the city’s teeming streets, dark corners, and intriguing inhabitants to unmask a ruthless murderer—perfect for fans of Perfume and The Alienist. It is 1793. Four years after the... show more
In this breathtakingly bold, intricately constructed novel set in 18th century Stockholm, a dying man searches among the city’s teeming streets, dark corners, and intriguing inhabitants to unmask a ruthless murderer—perfect for fans of Perfume and The Alienist.

It is 1793. Four years after the storming of the Bastille in France and more than a year after the death of King Gustav III of Sweden, paranoia and whispered conspiracies are Stockholm’s daily bread. A promise of violence crackles in the air as ordinary citizens feel increasingly vulnerable to the whims of those in power.

When Mickel Cardell, a crippled ex-solider and former night watchman, finds a mutilated body floating in the city’s malodorous lake, he feels compelled to give the unidentifiable man a proper burial. For Cecil Winge, a brilliant lawyer turned consulting detective to the Stockholm police, a body with no arms, legs, or eyes is a formidable puzzle and one last chance to set things right before he loses his battle to consumption. Together, Winge and Cardell scour Stockholm to discover the body’s identity, encountering the sordid underbelly of the city’s elite. Meanwhile, Kristofer Blix—the handsome son of a farmer—leaves rural life for the alluring charms of the capital and ambitions of becoming a doctor. His letters to his sister chronicle his wild good times and terrible misfortunes, which lead him down a treacherous path.

In another corner of the city, a young woman—Anna-Stina—is consigned to the workhouse after she upsets her parish priest. Her unlikely escape plan takes on new urgency when a sadistic guard marks her as his next victim.

Over the course of the novel, these extraordinary characters cross paths and collide in shocking and unforgettable ways. Niklas Natt och Dag paints a deliciously dark portrait of late 18th century Stockholm, and the frightful yet fascinating reality lurking behind the powdered and painted veneer of the era.
show less
Format: hardcover
ISBN: 9781501196775
Publisher: Atria
Pages no: 384
Edition language: English
Bookstores:
Community Reviews
Char's Horror Corner
Char's Horror Corner rated it
4.5 THE WOLF AND THE WATCHMAN by Niklas Natt och Dag
A gruesomely mutilated body is fished out of a local lake by a night watchman. So begins this dark mystery set in Stockholm in the late 1700's. The main characters, the aforementioned night watchman, (Cardell), and a lawyer dying from consumption, (Winge), were fascinating and multi-layered. Winge...
Chris' Fish Place
Chris' Fish Place rated it
3.5 Out the 5th
Disclaimer: ARC via Netgalley and the publisher in exchange for a fair and honest review. The older I get, the more frustrated I get with “events”, at least in terms of movies. Don’t really care which Avengers are going to make out whatever Avengers movie is coming out soon. It...
Escape from the ER
Escape from the ER rated it
4.5
In chaos theory, there is something called the butterfly effect. The idea is that one small action can greatly affect the outcome of a later, seemingly unrelated event. This novel is full of little moments that show how one person’s decision can permanently alter the lives of others. The year is 1...
Other editions (1)
Books by Niklas Natt och Dag
On shelves
Share this Book
Need help?