logo
Wrong email address or username
Wrong email address or username
Incorrect verification code
What We Are - Peter Nathaniel Malae
What We Are
by: (author)
3.00 10
A New York Times Editors’ Choice and a blazing and authentic new literary voice, Peter Nathaniel Malae’s raw and powerful, bullet-fast debut novel looks at contemporary America through the eyes of one disillusioned son.What We Are follows twenty-eight-year-old Samoan-American Paul Tusifale as he... show more
A New York Times Editors’ Choice and a blazing and authentic new literary voice, Peter Nathaniel Malae’s raw and powerful, bullet-fast debut novel looks at contemporary America through the eyes of one disillusioned son.What We Are follows twenty-eight-year-old Samoan-American Paul Tusifale as he strives to find his place in a culture that barely acknowledges his existence. Within San Jose’s landscape of sprawling freeways and dotcom headquarters, where the plight of migrant workers is ever-present, Paul lives outside society, a drifter who takes a personal interest in defiantly—even violently—defending those in need. As he moves through the lives of sinister old friends, suburban cranksters, and septuagenarian swingers, Paul battles to find the wisdom he desperately needs, whether through adhering to tradition or casting it aside.A dynamic addition to America’s diverse literature of the outsider, What We Are establishes Peter Nathaniel Malae as an authentic, gifted new writer, whose muscular prose brings to life the pull of a departed father’s homeland, the anger of class divisions, the noise of the evening news, and in the end beautifully renders the pathos of the disengaged.
show less
Format: hardcover
ISBN: 9780802119070 (0802119077)
Publisher: Grove Press
Pages no: 416
Edition language: English
Category:
Fiction
Bookstores:
Community Reviews
miscellaneous debris
miscellaneous debris rated it
3.0 What We Are
While at times the prose felt a bit clunky, I identified with the narrator, looking in on the world from the outside, trying to find his story and his path, something to stand for. Fans of Chuck Palahniuk & Sherman Alexie might enjoy this one.
Other editions (5)
Books by Peter Nathaniel Malae
On shelves
Share this Book
Need help?