logo
Wrong email address or username
Wrong email address or username
Incorrect verification code
back to top
Search tags: court-room
Load new posts () and activity
Like Reblog Comment
show activity (+)
review 2018-12-29 02:02
The Lincoln Lawyer
The Lincoln Lawyer - Michael Connelly

This is a book that I think was actually my husband's.  I think it got mixed into my books by accident and now he doesn't even remember if he read it or now.  So that means it's mine.  I've been meaning to read it for a long time and I'm glad I finally did.  I really liked it a lot.  

 

Mickie Hallar is a Defense attorney who thought he had finally found the perfect client.  Every lawyer dreams of finding the type of client that has the money, pays, and keeps coming back.  That kind of client keeps the bills paid.  It isn't until he gets too far into the case that he realizes it wasn't the sweet deal he thought it was.  When he realizes he is working for pure evil itself and that an innocent man was in jail because of him he knows he has to do something.  The problem was that would be impossible without ruining his career. 

Like Reblog Comment
show activity (+)
review 2015-11-12 23:12
Where the Bodies Were Buried: Whitey Bulger and the World that Made Him by T.J. English
Where the Bodies Were Buried: Whitey Bulger and the World That Made Him - T.J. English
Where the Bodies Were Buried: Whitey Bulger and the World that Made Hime
T.J. English
Hardcover, 448 pages
Published September 15th 2015 by William Morrow
ISBN 0062290983 (ISBN13: 9780062290984) 
 

"Where the Bodies Were Buried" is a well researched court room drama. I did enjoy reading the book, and seeing some of the author's interviews. Because a lot has been said already on this topic may find this a little repetitive, but I didn't find it that way as I knew the name but not the story. An interesting read if you like courtroom drama.


****This Arc was received from the publisher, William Morrow, in a goodreads giveaway.****

Like Reblog Comment
review 2014-11-05 16:27
Presumption of Guilt
Presumption of Guilt (Help Innocent Prisoners Project) - Marti Green,Tanya Eby

By: Marti Green

Series: Help Innocent Prisoners Project #2
ISBN: 1491548401
Publisher: Brillance Audio
Publication Date: 11/04/2014
Format: Audio
My Rating: 4 Stars

 

PRESUMPTION OF GUILT (Help Innocent Prisoners Project #2) by Marti Green, a compelling novel of injustice and murder. A legal suspense thriller, of a flawed criminal justice system, greed, and a young innocent girl caught in the cross fire.

 

Attorney Dani Trumball, is an Ivy League trained lawyer devoted both to seeking justice for the wrongly convicted and to her husband and son. She returns from Book One, Unintended Consequences, a driven attorney defending the wrongfully imprisoned at the non-profit Help Innocent Prisoners Project. Dani is one tough cookie, fighting to help those who cannot help themselves, with tenacity and determination, overcoming insurmountable obstacles in a world of corruption, greed, and politics.

 

Molly Singer was convicted for the murder of her parents over twelve years ago, being separated from her newborn daughter, a scared young woman with a bright future, forced to question the events of the night of the tragedy which would forever change her life.

 

As she is facing two life sentences in prison, new evidence is brought to light which may prove her innocence; however, there are those who need to keep the conspiracy and the real killer a secret and will stop at nothing to keep the blame on an innocent young woman.

 

My first book by Green was Unintended Consequences—highly impressed with her well-written and masterfully developed characters. A huge fan of courtroom drama, legal, and crime thrillers as well as injustice and fighting for those less fortunate; Green hooks you from page one until the end for a riveting fast paced drama of false convictions, deceit, and a flawed criminal justice system which will leave your head spinning, with a tenacious, highly respected and lovable strong protagonist.

 

Green sets the stage with details and an account so realistic, you find yourself thinking this could happen to anyone –wrong place, wrong time, offering new meaning to innocent until proven guilty. I listened to the audiobook narrated by Tanya Eby for a suspenseful and intense performance, hard to put down.

 

Recommend both books in the series, and especially to readers enjoying crime and legal thrillers, social issues, with strong human dynamics and courtroom drama. Fans of Michael Connelly and John Grisham (I am), will enjoy. Green is an author to follow and would encourage you to visit her website to learn more about her passion for law and inspiration. Green's detail-rich fiction is filled with authority stemming from her professional background in law and psychology.  Looking forward to the next in the series! (yeah, another Floridian)! 

 

Unintended Consequences  1/28/2014 

Book #1 Help Innocent Prisoners Project

 

Source: www.goodreads.com/review/show/1064775977
Like Reblog Comment
review 2014-10-27 14:51
Sycamore Row
Sycamore Row: A Novel (Jake Brigance) - John Grisham

By:  John Grisham

Series: Jake Brigance #2

ISBN: 0345543246

Narrated by: Michael Beck

Length: 20 hrs and 50 mins 

Publisher:  Random House Audio

Publication Date: 8/19/2014 

Format: Audio 

My Rating:  5 Stars

 

No one does riveting and intense courtroom drama, bringing characters to life better than master storyteller, John Grisham—a legal literary legend.

 

SYCAMORE ROW is worth the wait, as a follow-up to A TIME TO KILL, taking us back to where it all began, with an addictive, and suspenseful superb performance with (Jake Brigance #2) , John Grisham at his best. And who better to tell the story than southern voice, Michael Beck (audiobook) for an epic captivating dynamic duo delivery!

 

Back in 1988 with A Time to Kill, set in a small town of Clanton, Mississippi, Jake Brigance gave an award-winning performance defending a father who took the law into his own hands with a courthouse shooting of the men who raped his daughter.

 

Twenty-five years later, Grisham brings to life, a new trial, once again involving racial relations, when small-town attorney, Jake fights for justice in a high-profile case threatening to tear apart this southern town in Mississippi. We are once again reconnected with Jake Brigance, the struggling lawyer made famous by the Carl Lee Haley trial.

 

Seth Hubbard, is an older rich man who has done very well for himself. He is dying of lung cancer and hangs himself from a sycamore tree. This is only the beginning of what is to come, when his will reveals a shocking and unbelievable announcement. His black maid, Lettie who has taken care of him for years, now is without a job, upon his death. She has not had an easy life with an alcoholic husband and a son currently sitting in jail. (enjoyed this intriguing character).

 

However the family is shocked to learn they are cut out of the will, and Lettie is to inherit the bulk of his $20 Million estate. Of course, this does not set to well with the family members, nor the people of this town.

 

Seth Hubbard wrote a new will the day before committing suicide, cancelling out the other wills which left out the greedy children. In the new will, five percent of the estate is to go to Irish Road Christian Church, five percent to his brother, and ninety percent to Lettie Lang.

 

Of course, with the Carl Lee Hailey case still upfront in the town’s mind, everyone is questioning why this black maid should receive this kind of money. Surely she must be having an affair, or did she coerce him into changing his holographic will at the last minute, or was he out of his mind with this handwritten version?

 

Jake has never met Hubbard; however, he was requested by Hubbard to carry out his last wishes. Jake’s mentor, Lucien, a disbarred and alcoholic attorney is back to assist with this complex case of figuring out the motive for Hubbard’s changing of the will. Why the change and why Lettie? Is there a past between the two? Everyone knows Seth is a sharp cookie, or else how he could have made millions—he must have a good reason for his change of heart.

 

What sets this courtroom drama apart from the others is Grisham’s legal expertise, his precision; tightly woven, superb pacing, well drawn characters, and dynamic plotting, as he unravels layer by layer, meticulously.

 

Having read Grisham’s latest novel GRAY MOUNTAIN,  (highly recommend), I have re-discovered I missed a few of his books along the way and some I strongly want to re-read. An avid Grisham fan, over the years, back in the nineties, I never fully appreciated his talents and his voice, as I do today.

 

Over the course of the years, my reading style has changed, drawing me back to complex legal and crime southern thrillers, my favorite genre. If they involve attorneys, racial injustice, corruption, and intense courtroom scenes, with great storytelling, mixed with humor—I am in my element, totally mesmerized for hours on end, as time stands still.

 

Highly recommend the audiobook with a full 20 hrs and 50 minutes worth of fast-paced action with an incredible narrator as the perfect voice to convey the intensity of a well-written action packed novel, SYCAMORE ROW, one to add to your collection.

Source: www.goodreads.com/review/show/1087656106
More posts
Your Dashboard view:
Need help?