logo
Wrong email address or username
Wrong email address or username
Incorrect verification code
back to top
Search tags: creature
Load new posts () and activity
Like Reblog Comment
show activity (+)
url 2019-12-25 21:16
"The Christmas Creature" by Erin Kubo

A short little Christmas story (5 tweets, 15 images). I'm not really a Christmas person and haven't been in years, so this bit of creepiness works perfectly for me. I particularly like the Christmas Warning and dog images.

Like Reblog Comment
show activity (+)
review 2016-09-03 18:11
What a terrific read!
Quiet Creature on the Corner - João Gilberto Noll,Adam Morris

My review of QUIET CREATURE ON THE CORNER by João Gilberto Noll is a disturbing & lovely tale of anomie published by Two Lines Press. It's the author's first English translation, done by the clearly very talented Adam Morris.

 

The book is on sale at the publisher's website for $6.95. It's so very worth that minimal price!

Like Reblog Comment
show activity (+)
review 2015-12-08 01:52
bysinginglight.wordpress.com/2015/12/01/november-2015-round-up
Half a Creature from the Sea: A Life in Stories - David Almond,Eleanor Taylor

Cybils book. Almond is a wonderful writer–great at magical descriptions and dreamy, eerie stories. I do wonder who this short story collection is FOR; the stories themselves are mg/YA, but the framing distances the narrator from that age and for me set up an unnecessary barrier between reader and story.

Source: bysinginglight.wordpress.com/2015/12/01/november-2015-round-up
Like Reblog Comment
review 2014-06-16 14:46
Airplane reading
My Life Next Door - Huntley Fitzpatrick
Pretender - C.J. Cherryh
Torn Away - Jennifer Brown
A Creature of Moonlight - Rebecca Hahn

I finally have internet at home! So I should be around here more often. Yay!

 

In the meantime, I went to Boston for my sister’s college graduation, and then to Oregon for my brother’s high school graduation. I’m so proud of them both.

And of course, with two long plane rides, I had a lot of reading opportunities. On the way to and from Oregon, I ended up reading four books, and I could have read a few more, if only I had had them with me (there are advantages to ereaders).  


My Life Next Door by Huntley Fitzpatrick: I had been aware of this one since it came out and impulse-bought a copy when I went to get my brother a graduation present. It was perfect airplane reading–fun, light, well done in a way that didn’t leave me any regrets. It’s a great summer romance story, and one I would recommend for fans of Jennifer Echols or Jennifer Smith.

 

Torn Away by Jennifer Brown: If you work with teens in the Midwest, I would definitely recommend getting this one for your collection. Brown really captures the Midwestern setting, especially the relationship with tornadoes. And there’s a drama to the whole story that I think teens will really enjoy. I liked the story without being 100% captivated by it, but I appreciated a lot about it.

 

Prentender by C.J. Cherryh: Eighth Bren Cameron book. I was nearly hyperventilating the whole way through–I have no idea what my seatmates thought of me. (Fortunately, my squeaks were probably disguised by the engine noise.) If there’s one thing Cherryh excels at, it’s creating a story that’s extremely intense and breath-taking without a lot actually *happening*. Okay, in this one things happen, and yet somehow I always feel that the can’t-stop-must-keep-reading response I have to this series is out of proportion to the plot. This is probably my favorite of the last few books; I really enjoy Tabini, for whatever reason, and like the books he’s featured in. Now on to Deliverer, which is already promising to be just as stressful.

 

Creature of Moonlight by Rebecca Hahn: This is a quietish book, with fewer dragons that the cover promises. But it’s a lovely exploration of what family and forgiveness are, and ultimately it’s the story of a girl finding a place for herself in the world. I liked the careful way Marni’s relationships with other women are depicted, and her voice had a kind of ring of truth to it that I really appreciated.

Source: bysinginglight.wordpress.com/2014/06/16/airplane-reading
More posts
Your Dashboard view:
Need help?