logo
Wrong email address or username
Wrong email address or username
Incorrect verification code
The Orphanmaster - Jean Zimmerman
The Orphanmaster
by: (author)
4.00 35
From a debut novelist, a gripping historical thriller and rousing love story set in seventeenth-century ManhattanIt’s 1663 in the tiny, hardscrabble Dutch colony of New Amsterdam, now present-day southern Manhattan. Orphan children are going missing, and among those looking into the mysterious... show more
From a debut novelist, a gripping historical thriller and rousing love story set in seventeenth-century ManhattanIt’s 1663 in the tiny, hardscrabble Dutch colony of New Amsterdam, now present-day southern Manhattan. Orphan children are going missing, and among those looking into the mysterious state of affairs are a quick-witted twenty-two-year-old trader, Blandine von Couvering, herself an orphan, and a dashing British spy named Edward Drummond.Suspects abound, including the governor’s wealthy nephew, a green-eyed aristocrat with decadent tastes; an Algonquin trapper who may be possessed by a demon that turns people into cannibals; and the colony’s own corrupt and conflicted orphanmaster. Both the search for the killer and Edward and Blandine’s newfound romance are endangered, however, when Blandine is accused of being a witch and Edward is sentenced to hang for espionage. Meanwhile, war looms as the English king plans to wrest control of the colony.Jean Zimmerman brings New Amsterdam and its surrounding wilderness alive for modern-day readers with exacting period detail. Lively, fast paced, and full of colorful characters, The Orphanmaster is a dramatic page-turner that will appeal to fans of Hilary Mantel and Geraldine Brooks.
show less
Format: hardcover
ISBN: 9780670023646 (0670023647)
Publisher: Viking Adult
Pages no: 432
Edition language: English
Bookstores:
Community Reviews
msleighm books
msleighm books rated it
4.0
3.5 stars rounded up. I almost didn't make it through the first 10-50 pages, more than once. This portion of the book could have used a little more spit and polish. I got the feeling that during editing someone said, the books done, this section is good enough. I'm glad I kept going, but a lot of ...
Cushla
Cushla rated it
“A feisty young Dutch woman, an English spy, and a local demon all cross paths in 1663 New Amsterdam, in this Ludlumesque historical thriller…a successful mix of historical fiction, spy thriller, and horror.”As Ruth, said “Every now and then I read a book that just takes my breath away. It feels lik...
That's What She Read
That's What She Read rated it
0.0 The Orphanmaster
“The more things change, the more things stay the same” seems to be the main theme behind Jean Zimmerman’s The Orphanmaster with its focus on political intrigue, ambition, and human depravity. Set in New Amsterdam, the story follows Blandine van Couvering, a female merchant who is way ahead of her t...
Other editions (6)
Books by Jean Zimmerman
On shelves
Share this Book
Need help?